1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Worm Gear and Motors

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by terry wells, Jul 1, 2020.

  1. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hello all, been a while since I have been on this forum but since the covid thing going on i am thinking about "up grading" my Flight Simulator Motion Platform from winch motors to worm gears and motors and going from "TWO" ( pitch and roll) to three. I am not sure what configuration I would need to do this. The platform I have now is 4 ft x 6 ft and it carries (5) monitors and (1) person I weigh about 225lbs. and the two winch system works well but is very noisy and somewhat jerk-able at cretin times. The downloads show what I have and what I would like to do is at this site.



    Thank You
    Terry IMG_20200701_112828.jpg

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,842Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I use 2 x motors from wheelchairs connected to one worm gear for each axis

    you may be able to use AC servo motors if you want a powerful solution
  4. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    is this a flight sim or a chair sim you have. what do you mean by AC servo motors
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,842Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    its a racing sim

    AC is the type of current
    Alternating Current
  6. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    This is not a reply. I was just wondering if anyone in this forum has ever used or considered using NMRV worm gear reducers for a simulator. Please,please let me know if you have. I have questions that I cannot answer about the ones I need to purchase. I don't plan on spending money untill I kinda know what will work. Thank in advance.

    Terry Wells
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  8. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Thanks for the quick reply, do you think 3 of those worm gears will work on my platform. (ie, lift and degrees of motion) I will be using 3 reducers and motors.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A 3dof is possible, but it is a question of design Vs physics, which determine the motors and ratio needed to drive a rig at a desired performance level.

    So it depends on how you choose to resolve the inherent challenges for a 3dof, and there are different approaches possible, for example with my compact 3dof upgrade I went with assisted heave, 200w motors and 60:1 gearboxes, the assisted heave takes some of the load out of the equation and allows less powerful motors to be used than would be the case with a fully supported traditional 3dof rig.
  10. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    good to know, do you have a picture of your rig? so when programing the 3dof, what is axis 3 setup for? Now I have axis 1 as roll and axis 2 as pitch. ( using 2 motors/gears)
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    looks GREAT! If I were to change over to 3DOF using the worm gear reducers which one would I need to make Roll,Pitch, and Heave looking at my quick drawing?

    Attached Files:

  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  14. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    These are all seat /racing platforms. I guess I will just have to work it out myself. Thank You
    Terry.
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  16. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Some good ideas here. I see that the front of the racing sims has 0ne (1) actuator and the rear has two (2). Would this be the same for a Flight Simulator?? (just opposite of which my drawing shows).
    Terry.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It can be either, my compact 3dof has 2 front and 1 rear motor.

    In many respects the motor layout has more to do with the frame design than anything else, as the forces it creates is 3dof irrespective of the motor layout.
  18. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    If I install my motors and actuators in a triangle configuration, will the smc3 utils and sim tools and p3d plug in code still work( ie, pitch/roll /heave) ?? using no center post

    Terry Wells
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools, SMC3 and plugins are not affected, it is really a question of design and having enough motor power to drive a unsupported 3DOF rig.
  20. terry wells

    terry wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    retired military
    Location:
    minnesota USA
    Balance:
    533Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Would the Interface-Output just need to have [C<Axis3>] added in to make 3 motor axis for this setup?

    Attached Files:

  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,835
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,680Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,243 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes, but it should be like this: [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis3a>]