1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2DOF on JRK12V12 [POLAND]

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Peter24, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Sorry for my bad English
    During last few weeks with corona time, I start to prepare 2DOF beginner project.
    My inspiration took from Erwan960 GREAT project: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/diy-2dof-simulator.4793/

    Specification:
    - Fanatec CSL seat
    [​IMG]

    - old Fanatec wheel CSR Elite
    [​IMG]

    -

    - 2DOF main frame make on industrial aluminium profiles (mainly on 80x40mm standard)

    - DC motors DOGA 269.4104.20.04 12V DC Motor 1800rpm 0.8Nm
    Nominal current 20A

    - worm gear 30:1 Motovario NMRV

    - Jrk 12v12 USB Motor Controller with Feedback

    - 10k +/- 10%, linear +/- 1% potentiometer SP22E

    I will share step by step progress of my work, this evening...
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Today I just prepare rest of mechanical parts.

    1. Kardan joint from MTZ tractor:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and two brackets will are really easy to mount to flat surface:
    [​IMG]
    I had to prepare adapter to mount on 80x80 alu-profile
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    2. Upper link mounting set
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,367
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,963Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Thanks !

    O sh... I focused on to much how to mount exist Fanatec chair to the alu-profiles. I did not consider this very important factor ;-/
    I will check how to minimize this gap.


    Thank You for this tip.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Some small progress of my job.

    Gear mounting
    IMG-2585.jpg
    Shaft insertion
    [​IMG]
    Motor positioning...
    [​IMG]
    Potentiometer coupling preparation. I use ABS tube. On the motor side I glued below type of nut.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Prepare steel bracket for potentiometer
    [​IMG]
    Bracket final concept
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Short break and relax with blend
    [​IMG]
    Motor joint preparation and final installation
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  7. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    First parametrization of JRK 12V12

    1. Feedback settings
    [​IMG]

    2. Motor settings
    [​IMG]

    3. PID tuning result
    [​IMG]
    Small overshoot is not so critical in this control plant.

    In Errors page I can see fast increasing "Feedback disconnect" error. Is it normal? I have the same behavior on both JRK.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,367
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,963Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice to see you included the essentials :cheers

    [​IMG]
  9. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Dear Guys, I just stop my project on first test in SimTools. I just try to find similar problem & solution and I finally give up.
    Please support me with below problem.
    JRK utility is working fine but in the SimTools I've notice Protocol Communication Errors. On the real plots You can see that motor moves but not according to the Variable Roll which I change in the Simtools Axis.

    Please check it in below movie. You can see my settings. Please support me.
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  10. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    I just find the reason by myself. I have to change Output Bit Range parameter. Every post which I read, there was 12bits. I have change to 7 and errors dissapear!
    upload_2020-4-24_20-36-24.png
  11. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    I just finish settings all parameters.
    Result on below movie. I will be grateful for your comments.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +332 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Peter ,,,you only have one axis assigned in simtools interface settings,,,,, on the interface output use

    [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>]
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  13. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +332 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  14. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Thanks for answer. This interface output commands are for Arduino method of control. As You can see my project use Pololu.
    thx.
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2020
  15. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Today I focused on electronics part. I was really supprised that Pololu made so small terminals for such big amperage. I did some adapter for main power cables (3.5mm2).
    For this purpose I have use 2.5mm2 hard wire and aluminium wires connection tube. After proper clamping and fill the gaps with solder.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  16. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,925Coins
    Ratings:
    +332 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok if you say so dude .
    • Like Like x 1
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,367
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,963Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are using JRKs then the Interface Type in Interface Settings should be set to JRK. You then configure the device number, Assigned Axis and Output Rate (10ms). Do that for Interface 1 and 2 in the tabs.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    I've read a lot that JRK heat dissipation is really big and they need propel cooling. I decided to use PC coolers. Problem is that on PCB we have capacitors close to ST motor driver.
    In this case I've use thermal pads.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Final result:
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Today I decided to add one more feature = Traction loss axis ;-)

    I chose motor from Oper Corsa power steering:
    [​IMG]

    Simple sketch:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Peter24

    Peter24 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    I just finished mechanical part for Traction Loss axis.
    JIG for holes making in the profiles:
    [​IMG]
    Two steps drill:
    [​IMG]
    Traction Loss rotation point (self-aligning bearing and shaft):
    [​IMG]
    Main "H-shape" frame with wheels:
    [​IMG]
    Frames connection:
    [​IMG]
    Supporting steel wheels:
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1