1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom FlyPT - 6DOF Brushless DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pmvcda, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. C.Y

    C.Y New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2022
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So to confirm ... for a starter like me and who doesn't have a mechanical engineering background but understands simple mechanics / engineering .... the most feasible choice is the Thanos .. otherwise I fall into a black hole that I might not be able to get out of ?
  2. John Snell

    John Snell Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi all.

    [IMPORTANT] Read this if you are building the hardware in this thread.

    I’ve had A LOT of problems getting the ESP32 boards to work. I had 3 BLDC motors and decided to base my build on the hardware described in this thread.

    I used the PCB’s here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...hless-diy-actuators.10799/page-38#post-218195 and connected according to the circuit diagrams here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...hless-diy-actuators.10799/page-26#post-192260

    I found that one part on the ESP32 itself was always getting too hot to touch and I now realise that is probably the input voltage regulator. After a lot of time and effort, I believe I have found the reason.

    According to the circuit diagrams, the +/- connections from the hall sensor go back to the Vin/Gnd on the ESP32 itself. It may be unique to my motors but that is putting 24V from my main motor power supply on those lines, and means that I am (was) sending 24v to the Vin on the ESP32 which is rated at 12V max.

    Luckily it turns out that the hall sensor can be read just the same without those wires being connected at all.
    FLYPT Wiringv2 again.png

    Having now disconnected the +/- hall sensor wires, I got another ESP32 (my 5th attempt) and finally it all works as it should. Connects and running smoothly, without any of the craziness. I was running the motor drivers via an Arduino/SMC3 for a while but this is much smoother/quieter/better.

    Hope this is helpful information for someone.

    John
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2022
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    11,706Coins
    Ratings:
    +464 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    can you record the pwm against amps using a clamp meter - would be interesting to see the amps vs duty cycle

    the problem may be in your brushless motor driver

    (brushed motors deliver more amps and torque at low rpms vs bldc motors)
  4. Lstyle

    Lstyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi all
    I'm starting my project, I have no problems with mechanics, but with electronics everything is not as good as we would like))

    I am going to use FlyPT and ESP32
    tell me if the code from this branch will work correctly with the Nema23 stepper motor and the TB6600 driver?
  5. Lstyle

    Lstyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Or is it better to use arduino for these components
  6. motiondynamics

    motiondynamics Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    176
    Balance:
    1,059Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SimAxe, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi, congratulations on your project.
    I am passionate about flight simulation and I built a frame to mount 4 linear actuators with brushless motors.
    I decided not to use the potentiometers because they are very delicate, so I am thinking of using the VL53L0X laser sensors.
    Being an I2C communication, I suppose you have made a sketch for the conversion to analog (0-5 volts).
    I am not good at programming, so I ask you if you can share the code you have developed.
    Thank you
  7. zhai1987

    zhai1987 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Balance:
    320Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor
    Hi, flypt. I have a question. Why not make an esp32? Isn't it more convenient to handle this? Thank you
  8. loon_NG

    loon_NG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Biot, France
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda,
    Thank you very much for sharing your complete project.
    I was following this post and @pooh's post since almost 2 years. Now get some €€, I decide to build mine and your design retains my choice for its affordable and it seems easier for me to build the mechanical. I have some questions before order spareparts.

    1) What do you think about the motor (Nanotec DB59C024035-A) power? For me they are more than enough, i'm not a big guy;)
    2) is the motor driver ACT BLDC-8015A always good?
    3) PSU, Mean Well RSP-3000-24 is also good too?

    They are the first components I want to order quickly.

    Best

    NB: For now I play racing car and FS2020 in VR.
  9. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    hello,i want to ask some problem.
    motor=0.6N*m, so F =Tx2xPIxn/L=71.592N*m=7.3KG
    ALL F=7.3KG x6=43.8KG
    This force is not enough.
    One person should be at least 80KG, and the monitor and iron frame seat should be at least 20KG, that is, the motor can drive 100KG at least.
    But why do you watch your video? It seems that the force is OK?
  10. loon_NG

    loon_NG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Biot, France
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi you forget to divide to 0.8, the effiency of ballscrew search "back driving torque fir ballscrew" on youtube you will find the formula: T_b = F*P*eta_2/ (2*Pi).

    Bests
  11. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I think that even if 0.8 is added, this motor should not be enough. But why does his video look good.
  12. loon_NG

    loon_NG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Biot, France
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    sorry it was my mistake! You have to calculate the F = axial load [N/m] with: Tb=0.6 Nm, P=screw lead=0.01m and eta2=0.8 for ballsrew reverse efficiency.
    F=2*pi*Tb/P/eta2
  13. loon_NG

    loon_NG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Biot, France
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    sorry, the unit is N for F
  14. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I want to ask why you need to use two esp32, just because the number of pins is not enough? There is a chip called mcp23017, which can expand the IO quantity of the mcu. It uses I2C. There is a library in the arduino esp32, which is used in the same way as ordinary IO.
  15. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Can I use an esp32 and a serial port to connect to the Flypt software?
    I changed the program to<255><255><Axis1a><Axis2a><Axis3a><Axis4a><Axis5a><Axis6a>.
    I don't know what your Flypt software protocol is
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,897
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    14,373Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,236 / 17 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You can change the protocol to your needs in Mover
  17. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thank you for your answer.
    I am drawing the circuit board of esp32, and I use the I2C extended GPIO chip.
    Again, is the calculation of spatial position transformation calculated in the upper computer or in the esp32?
  18. Peter Simard

    Peter Simard New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    - 23Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    do you have documentation on the build of the simulator?

    Peter
  19. bobo

    bobo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2022
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello,
    I also want to ask, what working mode should be used for motor driver?
    Is it position mode or speed mode?
    If my driver uses the position mode and has a position to complete the output signal,
    can I not connect the 3wire hall?
    thank you
  20. Koala70

    Koala70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Hello, pmvcda
    It's great experience for me to follow and read your streams.
    Thank you so much.
    Now I'm gonna make my own 6dof sim.

    At first, I was to make the same one as you made
    now, I think smaller one, small size may cost cheaper
    and as my room is so small that I want to keep it under dest... if possible.

    I may have to sacrifice motion dynamics but however I may have my own~! ;- )

    I have questions

    1. how to choose (BLDC) motor that is fit for me.
    - My sim have to move a person of weight 90 kg, plus handle, gearbox..
    - The smaller capacity, the better

    2. what may be the minimum actuator size (travel distance)
    - When watching sims running racing game such as F1,
    actuators travel didn't look long, may be 15 cm?
    so I thought size of actuators may be decreased.

    3. question on calculation
    - I'm studying (following?) your streams one by one
    (I have no back ground on electric field, so strange to me that it's so hard but interesting)

    - at #22
    the motors are rated 3500rpm and 0,6Nm
    0,6Nm => 754N = 75Kg of lift

    when I calculater,
    = 0.6 N.m / Radius '8' mm (Diameter '16 mm' ÷ 2)
    ⇒ 0.6 N.m / (8 / 1000)m ⇒ 75 N

    as I know, 1 N = 1 kg x 1 m/sec^2 = (1/9.8)kg.f

    = 75 N = 75/9.8 kg.f = 7.65 kg.f

    hope your help ;- )