1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom FK-Seat to 2DOF with wipers, IBT-2

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dieser, Mar 21, 2020.

  1. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    hey guys,

    after reading a few weeks I want to start my own 2-dof project.
    I'm pretty new to all this simulation stuff so I will try to keep things simple at my first build.

    I decided to go with two 12v wipers from Ridex
    two IBT-2 motordrivers
    two 10k endless pots
    arduino uno r3
    12v 360w power supply
    some wood, bolds and a lada 1988 u-joint

    to convert my fk rig to a seatmover.

    this is where it began:

    gamesitz_or_ws_fkrse14907(1).jpg

    JPEG8 Kopie.jpg JPEG6 Kopie.jpg JPEG4 Kopie.jpg
    i connected the motors with the brackets on the bottom plywood board.

    JPEG5 Kopie.jpg JPEG3 Kopie.jpg
    i used a lada u-joint to connect the bottom and top panel with the seat on it.

    JPEG7 Kopie.jpg JPEG2 Kopie.jpg

    this is how i connect the plywoodboards with the motorshaft.
    i used two simukit gears to connect the pot.
    i extended the motorshaft to give the possibility of a full rotation.

    311A9A91-4F93-43A4-8DB7-6888C848A2F3.jpeg 8DF4779A-0E03-4861-88B7-A8F51F7AFCDE.jpeg

    wiring is done!
    motors are moving with the smc3 code in smc utility manager.


    more to come... ;)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. Rifly

    Rifly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    freelance photographer
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Just made mine move and am happy, we had similar starts, good luck with your build
    • Like Like x 1
  5. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    thanks noorbeast!

    yes, i already grounded the wipers.

    you´re right, on the picture the brackets are only connected with one bold, i already improved it to three per bracket.

    i wonder if a pot connected to the motorbracket is a smart move?
    maybe there are some problems with the positionreading, because of motor vibration...
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2020
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Consider the thickness of the bracket as well, as they are subject to a lot of force and need to be rock solid, and if they are the pot should not then be an issue, but could be if the brackets flex under load and rig reversals.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    small update:

    controlbox is wired.

    making my first steps with smc3 now, running in mode2 with my ibt‘s, thats correct isn‘t it?!
    lines are moving, motors dont.... :/

    D219C7BB-3345-4405-9294-03AAB348BA9E.jpeg
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes mode 2 for ibt‘s.

    Are the motors connected to the pots, I am presuming they may be under the board?
  9. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    yes the motors are under the board and connected. the motors are the thicker red and blue cable coming out of the cable clamp...
    i wired everythings like that:
    7E2DE086-AADE-4F91-A678-A5AB9CCD520F.png
    motor 2 is showing „off“ the whole time in smc.
    maybe i have a broken ibt or the pots are not connected firmly ( it‘s not soldered yet, for testing purposes )
  10. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    ok, i rewired everything and tadaaa: it‘s working! motors are moving in smc-tool and i can control the direction and speed with the pot‘s!
    it‘s a big step in building my own sim and it feels good. :)

    what makes me doubt is:
    when the pot‘s are in my hands motors move and i can control them, but when i attach the pot to the motor like i did in the startingpost nothing is moving.

    can this be a problem later?
    7276483D-C6E9-4647-B616-F179FBE71B93.jpeg

    tomorrow i will try it with simtools demo...
    • Like Like x 2
  11. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    ok, i got movement thru simtools now, also when using lfs...

    unfortunately i have to change my potdesign now.
    locknut is loosing when seat is under load.
    i have to move the lever in front of the pot´s .

    maybe i will order a two sided motor next days.
    I was thinking about using more powerful engines anyway...

    i will report then!
  12. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    i‘m waiting for my new motors at the moment.

    in the meantime, i changed my potdesign and try to get firm with simtools...
    image.jpg

    seat is moving, but struggling on simtools-settings right now...
    seems like my direction setting is wrong?!
    move left/right when accelerating or breaking...

    can anybody help to set a good simtools config to get started.

    image.jpg image.jpg

    thanks guys!
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I normally suggest filters not be used until there is a refined base profile.

    The Dir boxes being checked orange or not determines which way an axis movers, and this is what SimTools expects: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/

    Roll Dir setting should be the opposite of sway, and I would expect a higher Roll axis allocation.

    But total Axis allocation % should not be too high: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    Here are some tips on refining a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  14. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    thank you @noorbeast
    that will help to getting started :)

    obviously you can handle the searchfunction a lot better than i do! ;)

    i just add a little „smoothing“ to the axis, because it felt very smashy when directions are turning
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  16. Rifly

    Rifly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    freelance photographer
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Recently with wheelchair motors in smc3 I got my KP down to 180-210 to get more smooth feeling.(since their gearbox ratio was different) What with power supply is it strong enough for both motors?
    Безымянный.png
  17. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    hey!
    yes, psu is powerful enough.
    that‘s not a problem.

    anyway, i decided to switch to 24v motors, they have more torque and better possibilities to attach the pot‘s.

    i‘m waiting for a new psu now and then i will send a few pics from the rebuild here!

    happy easter everybody!
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2020
  18. Rifly

    Rifly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    freelance photographer
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    What motors, where and how much :) I'm asking since all what I have been buying are used wheelchair motors :D
  19. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    i decided to go with the simukit motors, they got so much advantages for me.
    first of all that there is a possibility to extend the motorshaft on the backside with a simple longnut to attach the pot‘s.
    motors are 79€ each.
    they are also available in china a little cheaper, but these days no option for me.

    i also go with the shaftclaw from this site, because i had many disappointments with losing nuts and stability and they work rocksolid together...
    they are 25€ each but i think it‘s worth it!
    you can do it by yourself when you got cnc cutting skills, but in my case buy them was the better way ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  20. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    just started my redesign in the last couple days.
    i will change the startingpost shortly...
    i got inspired by @mimi67 for this kind of seatmover :thumbs

    new motors arrived:
    813D4334-F97F-4E67-9B2E-C7CB9C739CFB.jpeg
    24v 120w 25nm 40rpm

    new potholders and crank by simukit
    830C8654-B0FA-4057-B2B1-D6F13A3623DA.jpeg DBDA5722-2815-443C-988B-1E45C4615F99.jpeg

    putting the u-joint on this metalclamp which acts as a pedestal to create space between the seatboard and the new bottom board.
    7A1F383B-EC3A-485B-876E-695FA4E87DF5.jpeg

    the motorbrackets moved on the bottomboard too.
    BBCF35FB-8A0F-425F-9901-18E7F0872248.jpeg

    wired everything under the seat
    DD713DD5-BD58-4F9F-8661-EC8E027EFFDA.jpeg

    second psu is for the fans which will be mounted on the backside and for bass-shakers i will add later...

    next days motors get wired up and doing first motiontests.

    and i will build a case around the bottom board

    still a lot work to do! :)
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,083
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,998 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When you get it moving check those thin brackets for flex, as motion rigs generate a surprising amount of force.