1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom FK-Seat to 2DOF with wipers, IBT-2

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dieser, Mar 21, 2020.

  1. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    hey guys,

    after reading a few weeks I want to start my own 2-dof project.
    I'm pretty new to all this simulation stuff so I will try to keep things simple at my first build.

    I decided to go with two 12v wipers from Ridex
    two IBT-2 motordrivers
    two 10k endless pots
    arduino uno r3
    12v 360w power supply
    some wood, bolds and a lada 1988 u-joint

    to convert my fk rig to a seatmover.

    this is where it began:

    gamesitz_or_ws_fkrse14907(1).jpg

    JPEG8 Kopie.jpg JPEG6 Kopie.jpg JPEG4 Kopie.jpg
    i connected the motors with the brackets on the bottom plywood board.

    JPEG5 Kopie.jpg JPEG3 Kopie.jpg
    i used a lada u-joint to connect the bottom and top panel with the seat on it.

    JPEG7 Kopie.jpg JPEG2 Kopie.jpg

    this is how i connect the plywoodboards with the motorshaft.
    i used two simukit gears to connect the pot.
    i extended the motorshaft to give the possibility of a full rotation.

    311A9A91-4F93-43A4-8DB7-6888C848A2F3.jpeg 8DF4779A-0E03-4861-88B7-A8F51F7AFCDE.jpeg

    wiring is done!
    motors are moving with the smc3 code in smc utility manager.


    more to come... ;)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,243
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. Rifly

    Rifly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Occupation:
    freelance photographer
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    - 22Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Just made mine move and am happy, we had similar starts, good luck with your build
    • Like Like x 1
  5. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    thanks noorbeast!

    yes, i already grounded the wipers.

    you´re right, on the picture the brackets are only connected with one bold, i already improved it to three per bracket.

    i wonder if a pot connected to the motorbracket is a smart move?
    maybe there are some problems with the positionreading, because of motor vibration...
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2020
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,243
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Consider the thickness of the bracket as well, as they are subject to a lot of force and need to be rock solid, and if they are the pot should not then be an issue, but could be if the brackets flex under load and rig reversals.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    small update:

    controlbox is wired.

    making my first steps with smc3 now, running in mode2 with my ibt‘s, thats correct isn‘t it?!
    lines are moving, motors dont.... :/

    D219C7BB-3345-4405-9294-03AAB348BA9E.jpeg
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,243
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes mode 2 for ibt‘s.

    Are the motors connected to the pots, I am presuming they may be under the board?
  9. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    yes the motors are under the board and connected. the motors are the thicker red and blue cable coming out of the cable clamp...
    i wired everythings like that:
    7E2DE086-AADE-4F91-A678-A5AB9CCD520F.png
    motor 2 is showing „off“ the whole time in smc.
    maybe i have a broken ibt or the pots are not connected firmly ( it‘s not soldered yet, for testing purposes )
  10. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    ok, i rewired everything and tadaaa: it‘s working! motors are moving in smc-tool and i can control the direction and speed with the pot‘s!
    it‘s a big step in building my own sim and it feels good. :)

    what makes me doubt is:
    when the pot‘s are in my hands motors move and i can control them, but when i attach the pot to the motor like i did in the startingpost nothing is moving.

    can this be a problem later?
    7276483D-C6E9-4647-B616-F179FBE71B93.jpeg

    tomorrow i will try it with simtools demo...
    • Like Like x 2
  11. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    ok, i got movement thru simtools now, also when using lfs...

    unfortunately i have to change my potdesign now.
    locknut is loosing when seat is under load.
    i have to move the lever in front of the pot´s .

    maybe i will order a two sided motor next days.
    I was thinking about using more powerful engines anyway...

    i will report then!