1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Any chance for Il2 Sturmovik - Battle of Stalingrad?

Discussion in 'SimTools Plugins' started by gorzasty, Sep 2, 2017.

  1. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello!

    Any chance for Il2 Sturmovik - Battle of Stalingrad plugin?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,456
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This has been asked many times, the BOS devs have been approached regarding the provision of a stable API and been given an example of how to approach it.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thx @noorbeast but I'm not sure am I understanding it right - BOS API is not stable so we can't create the plugin to work properly? And devs don't care about it right now, right?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,456
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is no current BOS API.

    Without one the only option to create a plugin would be the hook method and that would break every time the game is updated, hence the request to the BOS devs to create an API and information provided as to what would been needed.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    ok, I get it. So we have to wait and use joystick plugin I guess.
  6. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,466Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,687 / 10 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  7. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    ok, will do!
  8. SEHATanguy

    SEHATanguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Belgium
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello, any news about that?

    If you use the joystick plugin, is it possible to use a motion rig on IL2??

    Regards
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes it is possible to use joystick plugin. It's not perfect but... ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    29,466Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,687 / 10 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  11. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    974Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I did it!
    • Like Like x 2
  12. jeanmehdi

    jeanmehdi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    LONDON
    Balance:
    - 152Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    just did :)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. Youngsoo Cho

    Youngsoo Cho VR Sim Racing Gamer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Occupation:
    Business Man
    Location:
    Korea
    Balance:
    383Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I want this too
  14. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    439Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    I’d purchase these titles if it had the compatibility for motion

    I have zero interest for joystick style data feed for motion

    Surprised the devs of il2 titles don’t get to it
  15. thad the eternal

    thad the eternal Beginning stages. Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Owner of Sand Creek Floors
    Location:
    Denver
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    I just purchased the DOF Reality H2 I cant seem to get the joystick pluggin to work with Il2.
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,456
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What joystick are you using and can you give a few details of what you have tried so far?
  17. thad the eternal

    thad the eternal Beginning stages. Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Owner of Sand Creek Floors
    Location:
    Denver
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Thank you for your response noorbeast. I stumbled upon another thread earlier which gave me a few ideas try. I will give it another tomorrow.

    I’m using a Warthog I will try tuning in game engine. Other patches were going so smoothly.

    On another note. Dirt Rally plugin is amazing. I have spent much of my time with that on my new rig. I just got around to project cars after dealing with pedal issues The plugin is no where close to what I have experienced with Rally. Can you point me in the right direction as to other people’s tuning numbers?

    Thanks again. If I can’t get it tomorrow with what I have found out. I’m sure you’ll be hearing from me.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,456
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You really should learn how to create and refine motion profiles to get the best out of your rig: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    There is a dedicated thread for DOFG reality owners: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/low-cost-2dof-3dof-motion-simulator-dof-reality.8570/

    And another where they can share settings: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ject-cars-2-can-anyone-share-me-theirs.11273/

    But keep in mind that motion profiles that total many hundreds of % will almost certainly result in clipping: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    The essence of axis allocation is pretty simple, if you understand how SimTools works. A DOF can't deliver more than 100% in terms of movement range, but you can fudge it a bit when there are multiple axis allocated per DOF, as often not all of them will be at their max range at any given time. But the more you push the real boundary of 100%, the more probable clipping is.
  19. thad the eternal

    thad the eternal Beginning stages. Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Owner of Sand Creek Floors
    Location:
    Denver
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Hey noorbeast. Let me ask you this. Is there any way possible to associate heave and surge to the warthog throttle and pitch and roll to the warthog stick? Then it would not be all that bad to play IL2.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,456
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is the existing generic Joystick plugin: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/joystick-plugin.127/