1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

3DOF simulator with wiper motor

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by FrancescoRoberto, May 27, 2018.

  1. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I hope to go ahead with the work even if the engine bracket lingers.
    You see my greatest result in the attachment. I think the optimization that I am reaching in the exploitation of the wiper motor to such anointed is sensibly visible, that the sensation and the vision of the movements of the position I think are clearly improved. So much so that now I feel distinctly the roughness of the lawn and gravel, I also managed to bring 100% to the main editor, I think it is called so in simtools, while the axis limiting is 53%.
    The fact that makes me nervous is that the No. 2 engine is more difficult to optimize, I would like an opinion on the parameters set on SMC3.
    Thank you
    See you soon.

    Attached Files:

  2. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    I 've managed to improve the motor n°2 and the now it's very similar to motor n°1.
    Now, I bought the Assetto corsa game because I try to complete some other project, but above all becasue some mounth ago I download the plugin UDP to play with a PS4 and my dynamic playseat, like Project cars 2.
    Yesterday I try to connect the console and the palyseat with the UDP plugin but when I start the plugin by Game Manager main editor there's an error and the program crashes.
    Do Someone help me?
    Thanks
    Best Regards
    Francesco

    Attached Files:

  3. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi,

    I think I downloaded the correct file.zip about the plugin UDP AC to PS4, the link is:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/assetto-corsa-udp-consoles-manual-plugin-start.199/
    and in:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/assetto-corsa-udp-consoles-manual-plugin-start.11101/
    There is a short instruction about the software setting, for example I need to write the console IP in file.xml.
    I hope it's correct, I try to start today, if I won't succes I try to download an AC upgrade in internet.
    In game option menu I don't find how I set the UDP, so I think I need download the AC upgrade; the same way I did for PC2.
    Best Regards
  4. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi,
    I have some problems to use the plugin Assetto corsa UDP for PS4, see the attachments.
    I'd like to download the file another time, but I don't enable.
    May You help me?
    Thanks

    Attached Files:

  5. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    I'm waiting for a solution about Assetto corsa:
    - Plugin UDP for PS4
    - How do I connect a DIY sequential shifter and a T300 RS wheel
    Meanwhile the activities continues and finally I manage to install the third motor, wiper motor like the others, so the playseat , now, is 3 DOF.
    I try to find a solution about the motor 12 V, 190W with a gearbox 1:49, but this want a 80A corrent to start.
    Any tips?

    In the attachment you can find a video and some photos about the project, I like the colors about the sequential shifter carter, I make this with swirling technique.
    The mechanism is a BMW X5 sequential schifter.

    Attached Files:

  6. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I managed to find a solution I would say brilliant to command the sequential change dyi, as documenting I found that on the steering wheel T300 RS there were 4 wires two blacks, one blue and one gray separated by two connectors. Just remove the steering wheel, remove the crown behind this and with considerable surprise I found these threads held by a rubber band and unused. It was enough to understand with a tester what their function was and connect them to the corresponding wires on the mechanism of the steptronic gearbox purchased on the advice of Spyderwash.
    The solution is very little invasive compared to the excellent result on the functionality of gear shifting; without the levers behind the steering wheel being disabled.
    But above all without going to solder wires on the boards to use for example the keys L2 and R2

    Attached Files:

  7. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    I successed to assembly a diy button box to start the two power supplies and their cooling fans to motormoster.
    I'd like a spartan look like the racing cars assembled in the garages, but I promise that i improve the connection but first I try to assembly this to understand if I can.
    Here some photos

    Attached Files:

  8. Ming2he

    Ming2he New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    2dof is swaying back and forth and left and right. What kind of move in 3dof?
  9. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    the third movement recreates the loss of grip effect (traction loss), that is a skid effect of the rear of the car. For example a vertical shaft is placed on the upper mobile frame as a center of rotation and two or three wheels on the back. the mechanism provides for a third motor
  10. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    After some time I'd like to show my progress about the playseat.
    I made some updates about the electric circuit and about the frame.
    In the attachment some imagines about this update.
    Best Regards

    Attached Files:

  11. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I've updated my palyseat frame and I've made some modifications about SimTools setup.
    You can watch the new solutions in the attachments.
    Now I'd like some informations about pc desktop technical features, because I'm going to buy a new pc; this will have a windows 10, so I'd like some informations about the Simtools version and its compatibility with W10

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,457
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  13. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    Sorry about my English.
    I'm really in trouble. The forum is very rich in informations and experiences, nothing to say.
    But sometimes I can't reach my goal because my inexperience prevents me from finalizing everything for the best result.
    For example, for the traction loss I set the extra axis at 100%, but the movement of the playseat was not satisfactory as it seems to me that there are unwanted movements; I finally found that by introducing a value of 1 smoothing and 5 of deadzone the skid effect seems more truthful.
    Here I realized that I didn't understand much about the use of filters and Tuning Center.
    Also for the other parameters, like sway or surge, I have not set any filter.
    Could we have parameters of the set of examples as a starting point?
    I would like help also with regards to the SMC3 software parameters for the setting of motors managed by arduino.The imagine about Tuning center is a test result with:
    Project cars 2 PS4
    Lamborghini Huracan GT3
    Monza Circuit
    Thank you
    Greetings

    Attached Files:

  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,457
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just an observation, the motion profile should be fully refined before using filters, doing one axis at a time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    There are tips here for tweaking traction loss: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/

    The SimTools filters are covered in the SimTools manual: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/official-simtools-user-manual.12424/

    You may find the Axis Analysis app handy for refining and seeing the effect of tuning changes: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-analysis-app.282/
  15. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    I'mtrying to assemblythe DIY Handbreak. In attachment you can see the result, now I'm starting to carry out the automation part.
    cheer
  16. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I'm trying to assembly my first DIY handbreak, the mechanical part is finished, more or less; now I'm starting to carry out the automation part. See the attachments.
    Cheer

    Attached Files:

  17. spyderwash

    spyderwash genesy sim

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    italy varese
    Balance:
    - 126Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    great job but for fun you should switch to the PC
  18. FrancescoRoberto

    FrancescoRoberto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Italia
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I'm going to try to assemble a pc and so I'm looking for some components to achieve this challenge.
    I'd like to receive some advice about this project.
    My budget is max 1000 - 1200 Euros and the components that some friends suggested to me are:
    - EVGA Supernova G3 650
    - Scheda madre B450 or X470 or 570
    - AMD Ryzen 5-3600
    - Scheda video TX1080 or RTX2060
    - RAM 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz
    - HARDISK I°) 250Gb and II°) 500 Gb
    -Win10
    Someone know some websites to buy this component?
    Thanks
    Best Regards