1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

3DOF FLIGHT SIMULATOR

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by MENANDRO DALIDA JR, May 25, 2019.

  1. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello. I'm from Manila Philippines and I'm just newbie here. I'm planning to build 3DOF for my flight simulator. Can anybody here guide me on where to find the exact motor that fit with my plan? Thank you and looking forward to a positive response.

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You will need to finalise your design choice first and a little bit of research is time well spent, so check out the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/

    In particular the Design section: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/design-considerations-resources.24/category

    And use SimCalc to help you get your head around the trade off in Design Vs physics: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/

    SimCalc covers 2DOF, like the design in the bottom of the picture you posted.

    You can get into more specifics in the Build section: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/building-resources.12/category

    You can also go through existing member projects for specific ideas or inspiration: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/forums/diy-motion-simulator-projects.22/

    Or search for specific types of projects using the Google Custom Search function on the Recent page: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/find-new/posts?recent=1

    If something sounds odd then look it up in the glossary: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/glossary-of-acronyms-and-names.66/

    Good luck with your project.
  4. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @noorbeast Thanks for your quick response. The links you shared is very helpful. Anyways, my plan is for Flight Simulator and carry the load up to 80-90kls. I did a lot of searching but most of it didn't specify what exactly the specification of motors and the maximum payload. Do you have any links that similar to my plan? (Thank you)
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  6. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks for the links. Really appreciated :)
  7. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Finally, I’ve got received my items for my 3DOF Flight Sim Project. Thanks to @MilaniFabio project https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/new-diy-3dof-dynamic-workstation-project.13102/
    and for some advises https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/new-diy-3dof-dynamic-workstation-project.13102/page-4

    My project is about to shape. Here’s the list of components that I purchased. (It’s a bit expensive, but I’m sure it's worth it)

    3 units GDM-10SC 300w-24-3000rpm with the final output speed of 50rpm https://www.alibaba.com/product-det...l?spm=a2700.7724838.2017115.64.4cc64e18dFY3W9
    1 unit Arduino UNO rev3 https://www.ebay.ph/itm/Arduino-Uno...755592?hash=item23c3ad1508:g:Xa0AAOSwos5dVxr5
    2 units Sabertooth 2x32 https://www.ebay.ph/itm/Sabertooth-...006961?hash=item33f0c88bf1:g:Z~oAAOSwHSdcUyGw
    2 units Power Supply S-1000-24 https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32322666199.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.73b04c4dlMm95Q
    3 units Potentiometer 10K
    6 units Resistance 100w 6.8 ohm https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32872294703.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.73b04c4dlMm95Q

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  8. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello guys,

    Here's some progress with my project. Just arrived my lever arm together with flatform for the engine. I also bought used cross joint and ball joint. I just doubt my potentiometer 10k with 180 degrees will fit my project? any suggestions?

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  9. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello, an update nor progress with my project. Temporary I place the potentiometer near to Arduino because my gears haven't arrived yet and to see if its work. But suddenly during the testing the motor 2 & 3 moving slowly, I guess because I haven't yet installed the plugins, I keep on searching but I can't get through coz I have a demo sim tools only. Is there anyone who can share plugins for Flight Simulator? (Thanks in advance). I also added female and male inline rewirable plug connectors for the motors itself, for me to easy detached the wire if I have to relocate my sim. IMG_20191124_210904.jpg IMG_20191124_210943.jpg

    Attached Files:

  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The demo version of SimTools includes the fully functional plugin for Live For Speed, specifically for testing purposes. Download LFS here: https://www.lfs.net/downloads

    The demo version of SimTools won't run any other plugin, for that you need a licensed version of SimTools. Eligable DIY builders can apply for a free license, conditions apply:

    To qualify for a free license:

    • You must be building a true DIY motion simulator. (Not built from a kit or purchased from a simulator seller, a model simulator does not qualify.)
    • Have a unique build thread or Showcase in DIY Simulator Projects. (The thread should show some effort, which means it should show progress to the testing phase.)
    • Have been a member of the community for at least 30 days.
    Plugin access is via either forum activity coins or you can buy an access package, see here for details: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/coins-and-how-to-download-plugins.2/

    See here for tips on how to refine a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  11. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi Sir Noorbeast,

    Thanks a lot for the links. Really appreciated :) Now I can fully test my engines :)
    • Like Like x 1
  12. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Having a problem with the simtools to communicate with motors. I already upload the code XPID_SimTools1_71_6motors_2x32_serial_UNO @Wanegain but the same problem encountered. I really have no ideas if this is correct settings. See the below photos for reference. Can anybody help me to solve this problem? Thank in advance.
  13. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF

    Attached Files:

  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First off are pots or Hall Sensors connected and the Arduino code properly configured, as there is no point messing with SimTools until the control hardware and code are properly configured.

    SimTools 2.0 Input Settings - The difference from SimTools 1.3 to SimTools 2 (which you are using) in setup is that in the Interface Settings instead of axis defined like this <Axis1> it now has designate grouping for a or b in SimTools 2 for each axis assignment, like this <Axis1a>
  15. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks for your quick response. I think I did the diagram correctly as seen below. When I started to turn on the device, the motor itself continuing to rotate. How does it happen?

    Attached Files:

  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  17. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Got it, but i usually intend not to mounted temporary to see if the motors actually move and if does the pots will not damage coz my potentiometer is not 360 rotation. Eventually, as i expected the motor rotate by itself and i cant control it thru the simtool.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools can't control motor position by itself, the pots have to be mounted and the Arduino code properly configured.
  19. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Owww men, I've got it. Gonna try the link you've sent then mounted to the motors. Thanks...Thanks.. Thanks.. :)
  20. MENANDRO DALIDA JR

    MENANDRO DALIDA JR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF


    But how about this @Milani Fabio they did not connect the pot to the motors? but still, it's working.
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,822
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,007Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,624 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That video is just the motors rotating, it is not controlled via SimTools for motion.