1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial SMC3 Arduino 3DOF Motor Driver and Windows Utilities

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by RufusDufus, Dec 1, 2013.

  1. Jan Havranek

    Jan Havranek New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Good day. I'm sending pic from SMC3 snc.png

    win 10, pot 10K, motor wiper 12v, IBT2.

    I've tried all the settings in both simtolls and smc3. without success. it only changes the smoothness of the engine. The movements remain the same. at a certain position it changes the direction of rotation. I'll try it for 4 full days. Including reading this forum. I changed arduino, ibt 2, motor ...Thank you
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,789Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,694 / 30 / -1
    Did you change mode 1 to mode 2 in the sketch before loading it?
  3. Jan Havranek

    Jan Havranek New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    hello, If arduino was written in mode 1 on ibt2, the engine wouldn't work in smc3 ..... yes, I'm in MODE 2.
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,789Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,694 / 30 / -1
    Sounds like you have then so good luck.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,425 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are the wiper motors ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/
  6. Jan Havranek

    Jan Havranek New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,425 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please be aware that you can dual language post but it is part of the Forum Rules that you also include English, doing so via Google Translate is fine: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/forum-rules.9527/
  8. Jan Havranek

    Jan Havranek New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have no problem with the ground. I used 6 different engines to test. I have carservice. they all behave the same way
  9. THOMAZ AMARAL

    THOMAZ AMARAL thom

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    ADM
    Location:
    BRAZIL
    Balance:
    21Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello, I built the simulated as the tutorial image! I used 24v motors! with ibt2 bridges! With a 24v and 30 amp source, the motors will even move for half a second, but no longer responds !! I suspect bridges have not tolerated 24 voltage! but the datasheet says they support 24v! please some help to understand why the motors don't work! I'm building with new parts! arduino one detects the potentiometers, but the bridges do not respond! I have now lowered the voltage to 22.5 v from the source! and I'm buying new bridges! As soon as I finish the project I will post it on the site! Thanks and I look forward to some help!
    sorry for my English! It's my first project! I know it is complicated at first, but I have faith that I can do it ,with the help of this community !! thank you again!
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,425 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just checking that you are using Mode 2?

    Please post pictures of all of your SMC3 settings.
  11. misterk

    misterk New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    besozzo
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I'm upgrading my sim
    For the 2 front motor, I replaced the velleman with an arduino by installing smc3 sabertooth (with a sabertooth 2x60)
    Everything works great!

    Disaster for the rear engine.

    First I used an arduino and a 2x25 sabertooth.

    But only now I realized that it is not compatible with SMC3 due to communication.
    The maximum configurable Baud Rate is 38400.

    Can you confirm this?
    Is there a way to make it work the same?

    I then tried to connect a BTS7960B 43A,
    everything works but does not reverse the engine.

    It only turns to one side.

    I checked everything, reversed the tension,
    invert the potentiometer.

    the engine is a 24v

    It could be the BTS7960B 43A that has problems, meanwhile I ordered another one.

    Any suggestions or tests?


    thanks a lot
  12. Juan Pablo

    Juan Pablo New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Computer engineer
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    - 17Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi everyone.

    I can't get the motors moving.

    I'm using two MM Single-Channel VNH2SP30 (I’ve test them and they work) such as this:

    VNH2SP30.png

    I've done all the steps of "Initial Setup" but nothing happens when I increase the value of PWMmax.

    When communication begins, I don't understand why the green feedback line goes to the top and stays there.


    trouble 1.png

    This is what I see when I increase the value of PWMmax.
    upload_2019-10-6_15-37-23.png

    As you know, the MM Single-Channel VNH2SP30 has a pin for enable (EN)

    upload_2019-10-6_15-40-7.png

    So I tried to put them in HIGH but nothing happened either.

    Can you help me?
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2019
  13. George Amemiya

    George Amemiya New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi everyone and @RufusDufus of course, owner of this thread. New here, from Peru, finally beginning my project. Will like a 6 DOF to use with X-Plane, however as new, I trying to understand "everything" before looking for some real trouble. Well, so far, so good, struggled a little at the beginning cause I was using a Mega2560 (I found out that doesn't work with SMC3). After I switch to a One R3 I had some communications problems and after that some issues with the driver (L298N) that I think I already solved. On this first season of my project I'm just doing a prototype probably 2DoF or 3DoF, not really sure yet, but first, as I stated before, need to know the terrain better. In the meantime I have some questions that hopefully will get some answers here.
    1. I had the L298N to work on Mode1, is that Ok ? Well, I think is working, since my pot isn't yet connected to the motor (24VDC) and as I turn it manually I can see the green line going up and down and the motor reversing directions accordingly.
    2. I'm using a simple 10k pot, should I get multiple turn precision pots ? Or maybe use some gears in between to give the motor some more travel ?
    3. Does anyone have the right parameters for this drivers? I mean for the SMC3 Windows Utilities or is this just trial and error procedure?

    A few details: Running all on a laptop: i7 6700, 16GB, GTX960, SSD 256GB.
    Have a variable power supply up to 40V, 10A.

    Looking forward to my final project (delivery from AliExpress takes around 70 days to Peru) I'm trying to find good motor drivers and I was wondering if any of you have tried any of these or has some feedback on them:
    Single Driver 60A ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/BTS...683.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB
    Single Driver 50A ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/50A...783.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB
    Single Driver 15A (industrial grade) ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/-/32951833283.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB
    Dual Driver 50A ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/-/32888136553.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB
    Dual Driver 60A ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/60A...424.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB
    Dual Driver 100A ... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DC-...675.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.16ca2e0eoZJjXB

    On the other hand, I've been reading of people using Wiper Motors, beside the fact that they run at 12V, does it has any other advantage? Should I look for any particular specs ?

    Sorry if some questions doesn't belong to this thread, just trying to fill in the blanks :)

    Thanks in advance for all the help !

    PS: Since I don't have a SimTools license yet, I'll try my prototype with Live for Speed in the meantime :)
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  14. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    385Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao George,
    i made my first sim with SMC3 following this post and with the help of other users of this forum.
    Although I have little experience, I would like to advise you to use 10 k single turn that work with the Hall effect, like this:
    https://it.farnell.com/bi-technolog...s/sensore-hall-0-2v-20v-to-10v-pin/dp/2319662
    They are precise and do not break.
    With the other potentiometers (creeping) to me personally they have given many problems.
    I hope I gave you good advice.
    Good job
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2019
  15. George Amemiya

    George Amemiya New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Pictures always help ... (the very basics ...)
    20191008_143715.jpg

    SMC3-Image01.png
    • Like Like x 1
  16. George Amemiya

    George Amemiya New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    159Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Juan Pablo ! That happened to me as well, and it was either up or down. What I did was to turn the pot manually until the green line was in the middle, then turn ON the motor. I think that the program itself shuts down the motor when the values are off chart if that make any sense :) Hope it helps !! Good luck !
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Juan Pablo

    Juan Pablo New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Computer engineer
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    - 17Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thank you for your help! It works!!!
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Juan Pablo

    Juan Pablo New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Computer engineer
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    - 17Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi everyone, I got the motors work. I'm moving them with a jostick because CCD does not provide telemetry. I need to smooth some moves of one of the motors.

    upload_2019-10-11_14-39-1.png
    upload_2019-10-11_14-44-32.png

    I think the chart is not bad, I’ve placed a safety stop as you can see so the pot base won’t break. That’s why the feedback do not reach the minimum values.

    IMG_20191011_144211733.jpg

    But that’s not the problem. When the motor goes up there are some vibrations instead of a flowing movement. probably a structural problem of the simulator.

    I don’t know what parameter can soften motion.

    I’d appreciate your help.
  19. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,789Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,694 / 30 / -1
    Increasing Ki will give a motor some boost in reaching the target position and may decrease the vibrations. But worm gear motors have a lot of friction and sometimes the only thing you can do to minimize vibrations is to lessen the weight on them with a counter weight mechanism.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,425 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When pushing the motors, as @BlazinH suggests, you may reach a point where you need to monitor how hot they get and might need to consider some form of cooling.
    • Like Like x 1