1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SFX 100 + Thanos 1280

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Spiros K, Dec 2, 2019.

  1. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I'm currently building my SFX100 build and purchased the Thanos Controller.
    Any tips to give me as to where to start with settings in Simtools / for the thanos controller?
    I haven't had a chance to isntall the software but thought I'd ask to see if you had any advise or something to read so I'm ahead :)
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. diablo2112

    diablo2112 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    605Coins
    Ratings:
    +133 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Yes. I posted setting for Simtools and the Thanos controller earlier in this thread. That's a great starting point for AC and PC2.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,559Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See here for detailed overview: https://motionsim.blogspot.com/2019/05/new-firmware-for-easy-aasd-15a.html

    On the SimTools side simply drag and drop the "AMC1280USB_InterfacePlugin.dll" into the Simtools PluginUpdater

    Start Simtools, you should see 8axis available now for the AMC1280USB interface plugin.

    [​IMG]

    Then move on to configuring SimTools: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-settings-tips-and-tricks.18/category

    @diablo2112's PC2 settings: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...4-axis-sfx-100-build.13571/page-2#post-183779
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
  5. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Amazing. Thanks
    I'll have my profiles by next week... parts printing atm.
    Can't wait to assemble :)
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +705 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. TONYGTI16

    TONYGTI16 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Thanos.

    I am really interested by your controller.

    I take my hat off to create this.

    I would have liked to know if with your controller I could manage my simulator.

    I would not pollute the topic so I can contact you to give you the details of my simulator, so you tell me if your controller could walk for me.

    In any case it's great what you do.
    Thank you.
  8. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
  9. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    167Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @Spiros K

    I just finished assembling and testing my SFX-100 set up and use Thanos' controller with Simtools so if you have any questions I may be able to assist :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  10. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Thanks @Paul Shortland
    I should be finished my assembly next week.

    Did you have a thread on the forum of your build? :)
  11. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    167Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  12. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Pics coming soon.
    :)
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I've posted images and progress on here.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/g3CPt1S

    printed a controller box add on with led indicators.... text came out a bit wobbly, but it still looks good :)

    more to come.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 4
  14. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Need a bit of a hand tackling my button box.
    I've attached a picture.
    I've got a arduino nano and an arduino micro that I could use for it.

    How would I integrate an xy joystick together with a 5x5 matrix grid (following amstudio on youtube)

    Would it work with the arduino or is it better to buy another usb encoder board that'll work better?
    Annotation 2020-01-14 102148.jpg
  15. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +705 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I got one of these and works marvelous:
    http://www.leobodnar.com/products/BU0836/

    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +705 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  17. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Awesome! Thanks for that. Gonna grab one or two to have :)
  18. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Getting my head around SimTools and Plugins etc.
    I've downloaded a number of plugins and have had success installing and patching and using in-game.
    Feels great!

    Initially I thought that the Axis Assignments change with each plugin to suit? But that has to be configured for each game right according to my rig?

    I've got these settings which are there for every patched game. I don't really change anything.... and even though it feels good? Maybe am missing something to do.
    I need to learn off the more experiences peeps here :)

    What should I read up on regarding these parameters and what else should I look out for when assigning new games?
    Is there a 'default' setting to go by for the 4 dof sfx platforms?

    Or is it 'if you get one game right, would work for the rest'

    Annotation 2020-01-28 222050.png Annotation 2020-01-28 222054.png
    Annotation 2020-01-28 222207.png
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,559Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Your axis allocation total is 320% and that will likely lead to clipping: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    See the tips here to refine your motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    The Intensity Level at 80% will result in a lot of global smoothing, and slower responses.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2020
  20. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Spiros K

    Spiros K New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    Freelancer
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I'd be keen to see if anyone has some profile that their happy with for Dirt Rally 2.0
    Would like to compare some settings or how to improve it.