1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My first 2 DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by FLORIN ROMANIA, Jan 23, 2023.

  1. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello. First of all I want to thank you for accepting me in this forum. The idea of building a 2 DOF rig was inspired by watching a video on Youtube. I decided to build one myself. It's not finished yet, but I hope to finish it as soon as possible. I made the frame from 40x40x3 aluminum pipe, two 12v wiper motors, the 20A power supply and a car seat
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  4. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  5. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    As a program I want to use simtools
  6. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I tested the board, motors, pots with smc3 utility, everything works perfectly. The journey continues
  7. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  8. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My arduino box
  9. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  10. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,935
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    135,380Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,347 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am looking forward to seeing your rig complete and a video of it in action :thumbs
  12. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    IMG_20230124_165345.jpg IMG_20230124_165345.jpg IMG_20230124_165223.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hellow everybody, one question, it's normal IMG_20230126_154210.jpg to do like that.,or I'm doing something wrong?. Pls. help me
  14. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, I'm having trouble setting up simtools, I've read the simtools manual but I still don't understand how to do it, I put some pictures, I also have a video but I can't upload it, maybe someone can guide me, I'd be grateful IMG_20230128_104039.jpg IMG_20230128_104039.jpg IMG_20230128_104049.jpg IMG_20230128_104107.jpg
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,935
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    135,380Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,347 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looks like you are using SMC3, which should be mode 2.

    So the SimTools Interface Settings should be:

    Interface Type - Serial

    ComPort = the Arduino ComPort, you can find it in Windows Device Manager.

    BitsPerSec - 500000

    Data Bits - 8

    Parity - None

    Stop Bit -1

    Output Bit Range - 10

    Output Type - Binary

    Interface Output - [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>]

    Once that is done the Default Axis Assignment should be setup. For now don't use any Filter settings, as that will only complicate things.

    To check the movement of each axis (sway, surge, roll pitch and heave) initially set each to 20%, you will refine this later and likely have more set for sway and less for heave, but you first want to check movement directions. Ultimately the allocated total should be around 100%: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    The DIR box being checked or unchecked orange or not determines which way each axis moves, which can be tested in Output Testing, this is what SimTools expects: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/

    After that the Default Axis Assignment can be cloned and then tweaked for different games, traditionally start with LFS, which must first be run before it is patched for motion: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...run-in-first-person-mode-before-patching.365/

    Next the settings for each game can be tweaked, see the FAQ tuning tips: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2023
  16. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you very much for your guidance
    • Like Like x 1
  17. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  18. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Like Dr. Frankenstein said "it's alive!!! "
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello everyone, I have seen several sim rigs that have springs and shock absorbers attached to the back. Can someone explain to me what they are used for?
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,935
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    135,380Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,347 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If connected to the rig then likely spring or gas struts to take some strain off motors, but they can also dampen fine motor cues.

    If attached to a harness the likely parasitic or telemetry driven race harness.
  21. FLORIN ROMANIA

    FLORIN ROMANIA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    România
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello everyone, I have a question, after I set everything in smc3 utility, do I have to open it every time before starting simtools when I want to play?


    [​IMG]Tradu o conversație

    Attached Files: