1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial I have motion on SMC3 utils, what's next?

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Jrank1, Jun 18, 2020.

  1. Jrank1

    Jrank1 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi guys,

    My rig achieved motion yesterday, She's ALIVE! and it's much thanks to this community.

    I just wanted to highlight where I got stuck during the software side of things.

    - Firstly I need to mention after a tireless couple of hours soldering, my Monster Moto Shield was faulty. I didn't know this at the time but finally narrowed it down. There is also a very easy way to tell.
    During initial testing through SMC3 utils, you will be following the guide (https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/)

    As you increase the PWMmax on a selected motor a small light will increase in brightness on the MM board on the LH or RH side depending on which motor you are trying to power. If this does not happen, your MM may be faulty as mine was.

    There is a way to bench test them also;
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/

    - So you have movement in SMC3 util, you have sorted your pot alignment and the motors are responding to motion and are moving within range etc.

    - Download and open Simtools Engine and Gaming Manager.
    - Excited, you now download Live for Speed and its not working.....

    You need your rig to 'talk' to Simtools

    ***This is where I got stuck for a while***

    Searching the forum I found a lot of info about simtools but struggled to find what I needed to do next.

    I only found below link this morning but hopefully admin can make it a bit easier to locate along with the youtube vids ( I will try to add below) they are a very valuable resource and will help you to finally get in the seat of your rig and feel all that hard work pay off...

    https://www.xsimulator.net/simtools-quickstart/ - You MUST go here and setup your interface (how your rig 'talks' to Simtools) and set up your Axis' (each motor)




    Hopefully these extra steps will help.

    Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,361
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,932Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,088 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The key information is in the FAQs already and it would be really useful to know how to improve accessibility there.

    A note of caution, the SimTools manual should really be used for reference, as the Quick Start guide is a bit outdated (needs updating), particularly with respect to the Interface Settings not covering a and b designations: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    FAQs:

    Faulty MMs and testing: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/

    SMC3 SimTools settings are in the top link for the SMC3 instructions: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/arduino-code-for-use-with-various-hardware-and-simtools.31/

    Live For Speed - Run in first person mode before patching, here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...run-in-first-person-mode-before-patching.345/

    And here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...run-in-first-person-mode-before-patching.365/

    @SixDegreesOfFlight's 5 part video overview is in the 6DOF section here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/video-6dof-build-overview.289/
  4. Jrank1

    Jrank1 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,361
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,932Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,088 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I could create a FAQs - Everything To Get You Started post and then pin it on the New Users Page, would that help?
  6. Jrank1

    Jrank1 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    That'd be great I think mate.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,361
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,932Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,088 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK