1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question How to add 2 Arduino and sabertooth - where and what to plug in and plug out ???

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by ART FLY, Jun 27, 2020.

  1. ART FLY

    ART FLY New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    BAVARiA
    Balance:
    - 30Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    " Support for one Sabertooth 2x32 or one Sabertooth 2x60. (controls 2 motors only but you can use additional Arduinos to add more motors if needed) "

    I am refering to this post https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ial-pid-motor-driver-sketch-w-softstart.9277/ and I am stuck ...Beginner needs help please.

    I do not understand this part ..."but you can use additional Arduinos to add more motors if needed"

    :sos could someone please get me on track as I did not find my problem of understanding in foris.

    This is my current situation:
    I have 2 ARD Unos, I have 2 Sabertooth 2x32A, I also have 3 suitable PSUs and I have 3 Motors at the moment. How will I have to set them up / wire them so I receive a Pitch/Roll/Yaw or next step Pitch/Roll/Yaw/Heave setup.


    Please try to keep it simple as I am not an native English speaker :(

    Thank you very much for your assistance !!!

    :thumbs

    This is where you could see my motors, equippment, plans, dreams etc.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-2x160w-sabertooth2x32-race-flight-sim.14822/

    :arrow
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,982
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,957 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For a 2DOF you only need 1 Uno and one Sabertooth 2x32A, a 6DOF would use 3 Unos and 3 Sabertooth 2x32A. Each Uno and Sabertooth 2x32A controls 2 motors and is wired as per the instructions:

    [​IMG]
  4. ART FLY

    ART FLY New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    BAVARiA
    Balance:
    - 30Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hug:@noorbeast Thank you for your answer.

    What you sent me is exactly the point up to where I do understand the situation.
    (a) For my 3/4dof Setup-try that would mean 2 ARD and 2 Sabertooth - Right?

    BUT ... my lack of knowlage and my questions starts right here/now:
    (b) Do I just wire the 2 ADR to a USB Hub and then guide that to my (e.g. in my case) COM4 Port on my PC?
    (c) Do I wire the ARDs one after another with USB/USBmicro and then have just the first ARD pluged in to the (e.g. in my case) COM4 Port on my PC?
    (d) Do I have to assign one COM Port (e.g. COM4-ARD1, COM5-ARD2) for each ARD and have to plug 2 USB cables from the PC to connect each ARD seperate to the PC. If so how will SimTools recognise that?

    I hope I made it easy to understand where I do not know how to continue.

    Maybe I am ignorant to ask for the following but maybe this might also be a great help to other beginners to keep a cool head :):
    (e) Would someone please be so kind to draw a setup for more than 2dof with PC, PSU, ARDs & Sabertooths?
    (a readable pencil drawing would be enough)

    THANX so much :cheers
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,982
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,957 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Correct, for 3-4dof you use 2 Arduinos and 2 Sabertooth.

    You wire each of the Arduinos exactly the same way, as per the picture I posted

    When you plug the Arduinos into the computer each will be allocated its own com port.

    You configure each of the Arduionos using the SMC3 utility: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/#post-48121

    You then setup each of the Interface Settings for each of the Arduinos in SimTools Interface Settings: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/official-simtools-user-manual.12424/