1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Help with SimTools and DOF-Reality

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Clayton2318, Aug 31, 2018.

  1. Clayton2318

    Clayton2318 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Delaware
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Hi everyone -

    So, quick summary. I bought the DOF-Reality rig with traction loss and unfortunately haven't been able to use it at all as it is undriveable. Posted this issue on Reddit and the majority of folks recommended that I take a video of the problem and post it here!

    Problem: The issue is that as soon as I "hop in the car" by clicking race, the traction control slides all the way to the left, and then randomly slides around. As you can see in the video, driving straight, going like 5PMH yields the same result. Also of note is that it appears to do this a lot in the beginning and then it seems to eventually just quit. So eventually it will just leave itself at 100% left or 100% right.

    Very minor issue with tunning, the sim doesn't ever roll. I can test the roll in the simtools software and it rolls fine. But in game it doesn't roll at all going thru fast corners, etc.

    I would appreciate any help folks can provide



    PS - Can't figure out how to attach photos / videos. I was able to put a video on youtube and include a link but I don't know how to attach photos.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can add photos like this: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/upload-pictures-or-files.81/

    You will need to post pictures of all of your settings as you mention in the video, as that is likely the issue.

    The DOFreality rig has its own thread: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/low-cost-2dof-3dof-motion-simulator-dof-reality.8570/

    Which includes a link in the first post to settings for some common games: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ject-cars-2-can-anyone-share-me-theirs.11273/

    But to get the most out of your rig you will need to learn how to develop motion profiles, as many for the DOFreality rig have such high axis allocations that they will induce clipping, see here for the steps involved, and you do one axis at a time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Once you get the basic issue and profile sorted you can refine traction loss even further: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/
  3. Clayton2318

    Clayton2318 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Delaware
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
  4. Clayton2318

    Clayton2318 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Delaware
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Thanks, I had the developer helping me set up the rig and I believe he stole some profiles from that thread. I've added photos of my setup, please let me know if you think anything looks goofy. Thanks :)
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. jason neville

    jason neville New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    australia
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Have you followed the instructions after setup as dof has its own plugin for simtools then also change yaw to extra 1 as noorbeast has said.Also dont forget to change settings to suit your style in the game manager profile editor as i have mine set to 40 % most of the games hope this helps