1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Finally started My 2DOF Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Jean Paul Andrade, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    and the platform with the pivot and the wheels for the loss of traction mechanism is ready too, I'm a little bit closer, i hope to me working on the electronics by the end of the week or sooner.

    Attached Files:

  2. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello partners, my project is almost done, I haven't made the paint job or details until is fully functional, I have some technical issues to deal with, I hope to get some help from you guys, I'm gonna post some pictures of the Sim, for start the MMS are damaged, only one motor output is working, but i use the remaining one of each MMS for each of the two motors running, for testing purposes until I get the new ones, the thing is that today one of the MMS stop working in one way (the lever just go up, but can't go down), still I was running some test and even when the sim moves and it seems is not gonna be able to deal with the weight, is it possible i have to change the motors? are these wiper motors to weak for the job?

    Attached Files:

  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,102
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,391Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am just checking, are the wiper motors ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/

    If you are using clone MMs it pays to test them on arrival, as they are often faulty: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/

    In terms of design it is preferable to have the uni joint as close as possible to the seat base, as that helps reduce the load on the motors: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/universal-joint-placement.108/

    Also make sure the rig is well balanced: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-of-gravity-to-balance-a-motion-simulator.55/
  4. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello @noorbeast yes, the motors are ground isolated, that was the first thing I did when I bought them, the MMS are clones and they got damaged from the start but I just keep them until the structure was finished so I can test everything mounted, I ordered a couple more, if they fail again I will buy sabertooth. the rig is correctly balanced, the only thing to do is to move the joints closer to the seat, as you told me, I thing there's too much load at the motors, also do you think the levers are to large!? I used SimCalc and they should be ok with 8cm (3,14") but I don't know the exact specifications on the motors, also Noorbeast, can you please give me your opinion on these motors: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Jazzy-Whee...597800?hash=item4b52f901a8:g:xAkAAOSwcdBcRTek
    thanks you!
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,102
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,391Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    With wiper motors I think 40mm CTC on the lever or less probably better, as they are not particularly powerful.

    I suspect the motors are ok, if the gearboxes are robust, it would be best to use Sabertooth and 24v LED PSU.
  6. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello, I'm sharing my today's progress, the project is running very slowly unfortunately things aren't getting easier in my country so every time I need some piece of hardware I have to buy it from US and wait between 15 to 20 days to get home, so, I ordered 3 new MMS because the others were faulty, this works great so far, I made the mounting for the MMS and arduino, there's only the box to put all the electronics left, , I tested the sim and all the axes works perfectly, the motors and telemetry, everything perfect so far, only that It doesn't work with my weight on top of the thing! the motors are too weak as I prevented, that's why I bought two wheelchair motors just in case this happens, now I have to disassemble the wiper motors and build a new support for the new motors and for the Potentiometers,, I hope to see some light after the tunnel after that!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yesterday I could finally mount the new motors in my Sim, rewire everything, set up the potentiometers which still have a temporary structure made with wire, just when I'm starting to test one of the motors tried to spin a full 360 degrees cycle and broke the link in two, so I had to wait until today to make the test, I'm using a stabilizer bar link that i cutted in half to make it adjustable, just because I couldn't find in my country the rod ends that everybody else uses for this work, anyways I welded the link that got broken yesterday, and after a lonk sesion of testing got broken again! so I'm gonna have to buy the rod ends in the US and wait for them to get here in 20 days, for now I'm welding this one again.

    Attached Files:

  8. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I was so naive thinking these wiper motors could do the job!

    Attached Files:

  9. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    in the meantime I'll be working in the paint job, and the box where all the electronics are going to be, I want to thanks @noorbeast for the guidance thought this process, this forum is fantastic, i have learn so much just reading and watching other projects and ideas, still so mucho to learn.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    today when i was running the tests, I realize that most of the movements performed by the sim was different from the game, I know that I need to start working in the tuning of the profile and the parameters, @noorbeast can you please tell me where to begin tu understand a little more about setting of the profiles and make the movements of the sim to be much more alike to the car in the game.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,102
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,391Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yesterday I successfully test the TL in my Sim, the result was very satisfying this is my first build so i don't much experience to tell if it's everything ok. today I had to patch again the LFS because the IP config changed, now the TL motion is almost imperceptible, I didn't any changes in my settings, i'm posting a video of the today test, and pics of my config, any advices please!

    Attached Files:

  13. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    one last thing, this is the second time that I have a crash and as the car rolls over the sim tries to do the same and the levers make a full turn destroying the pots supports, I can't find where to avoid that from happening!
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,102
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,391Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You need to set SMC3 up properly, in particular the max motor range: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/#post-48121

    Then you can move on to configuring SimTools and the motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello! here some updates of my Sim, its almost done, some minor cosmetic details left P3050010.JPG

    this is my "System Box" wich includes all the electronics for the motors, drivers, arduino, power supplies and the Game Engine Computer.
    P3050001.JPG P3050002.JPG P3050003.JPG P3050004.JPG P3050005.JPG P3050006.JPG

    I'm planning to enlarge the CTC length 1 inch more so I can decrease the range of movement of the motors, they are strong enough so they can handle the modification, also I have to 3D print the Pots support, I'm still using the wire made support from the beginning.

    P3050007.JPG

    this is the TL motor, still unpaint and the CTC lever is the same from the beginning of the project, I'm working on the replacement.
    P3050008.JPG

    the next step after the details mentioned above is the general paintjob ...
    P3050009.JPG P3050011.JPG
    • Like Like x 3
  16. mrbeginner

    mrbeginner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    What ever come in my way
    Location:
    Finland Niinisalo
    Balance:
    - 24Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    Nice to see that you get it work.
    What pc you use for game engine?
    I like that you could put all the electronics in one box so it's easy to access if something goes wrong.
  17. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,875Coins
    Ratings:
    +885 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    One thing about decreasing the angular range of worm gear motion motors is it will make the backlash more noticeable in your sim’s motion unless you also change the attachment point positions to keep overall motion the same.

    Nice sim!
  18. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello @mrbeginner thanks for your comments, I'm using a netbook mainboard specifically a Acer Aspire one with AMD processor, 2Gb of RAM DDR3 and the hard drive is 80Gb, is more than enough for the game engine, ist's fully set just to turn on and work without having to plug the motitor.
  19. Jean Paul Andrade

    Jean Paul Andrade Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    295Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    that's what I had in mind when I decided to make the modification, I'm not changing the attachment point, also I think there will be more chance to set limits so the levers don't pass the point in wich they destroy the mounts of the potentiometers.
    • Like Like x 1