1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This is just a snapshot showing the location of the setting. Just put 30 as you can see there : https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/diy-2dof-simulator.4793/#post-45606
    I put 33A fuses between the power supply and the JRKs. They are only there to protect the JRKs.
  2. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Balance:
    1,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
  3. mirkobastianini

    mirkobastianini Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Occupation:
    informatic
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    1,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +75 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    What kind of linear rails have you used? If you have link I really appreciated ;) Thanks :)
  4. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Balance:
    1,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Hi this is the link for linear rails http://www.cnc-discount.de/
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. vardar

    vardar Her Sabah Özgürlüğe Doğar Fenerbahçe

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    TURKEY
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Ben yeni başladım. Minyatür DIY 2DOF simülatörü yapmak istiyorum. Nereden başlamalıyım? Kaynağı nerede bulabilirim?
    Lütfen Bağlantı tahtası ve arduino kod nerede?

    Attached Files:

  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,771
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,687 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please use Google Translate to English - I just started. I would like to make miniature DIY 2DOF simulator. Where should I start? Where can I find the source?

    You will find the FAQs are a good place to start for any question, including yours: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/build-a-working-model-to-test-your-design-ideas.216/
  7. vardar

    vardar Her Sabah Özgürlüğe Doğar Fenerbahçe

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    TURKEY
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  8. JimmyQ2017

    JimmyQ2017 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    German
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks for your share
  9. zgseat

    zgseat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    looks very neat,like to see it moving。
  10. Brlowe

    Brlowe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Idaho
    Balance:
    17Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I'm just starting to look into building a motion simulator. I really like the way this one is put together. Does anyone have a link to the aluminum bars/channels used for this? I like the way the bold together and that you can hide wires in it. Looking for the bars, caps and mounting fixtures to bolt it together.
    Thank you for any help.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,771
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,687 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is best to start your own build thread and pose your question there, with a link to this build for reference. That way all relevant information for your project is in one place.

    To answer you question there are quite a few different suppliers of aluminum profile around the globe. One of the bigger ones created MayCAD, a free easy to use design program to help sell its own products, but even if you buy the bits elsewhere it is still handy to deign a motion simulator frame and know what you will need to order to build it: http://www.may-cad.org/en/p1.htm
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2017
  12. djboss001

    djboss001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Balance:
    24Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi guys, (Coucou copain français ;) ).
    Excellent simulator, very nice finish.
    I think that a harness would be a good upgrade.
    This allows more comfort and the feeling is better with the small vibrations in the buttocks;
  13. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I can assure you that the rendering of vibrations is already very effective. I will test anyway with a harness, just to amplify the feeling. Thanks for the advice.
  14. erivx

    erivx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Ecuador
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    hey.
    I new and I am too in process but i have all only and have problems in the computing with the softwares. You could tell what i have to downoad first to make some test. I have been using the competition xsim converter and extractor, but there are some incomplete forums and software. Greetings
  15. erivx

    erivx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Ecuador
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    hey.
    I new and I am too in process but i have all only and have problems in the computing with the softwares. You could tell what i have to downoad first to make some test. I have been using the competition xsim converter and extractor, but there are some incomplete forums and software. Greetings
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/first-2dof-simulator.11650/

    Look my project
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,771
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,687 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You download the demo version of SimTools here, which has the fully functional plugin for Live For Speed included for testing purposes: http://www.xsimulator.net/simtools-motion-simulator-software/

    Live For Speed from here: https://www.lfs.net/downloads

    See the FAQs for setup and tweaking information: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-settings-tips-and-tricks.18/category

    Keep in mind there is a difference from SimTools 1.3 to SimTools 2 in setup in the Interface Settings instead of axis defined like this <Axis1> it now has designate grouping for a or b in SimTools 2 for each axis assignment, like this <Axis1a>
  17. erivx

    erivx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Ecuador
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hello, Mr., nice afternoon.

    Thanks, already download every thing to make the test. And going to upload the video, in the night, how it works, to avaluae the mistakes and do some reference of the displecement of the rod, that you can see screwed on the axis of my wipers.
  18. yeling

    yeling New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    47Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  19. tobby

    tobby New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    korea
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    so good
  20. Genius Wizard

    Genius Wizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    where can I buy gearboxes from? Im an asian