1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    -
    • Like Like x 4
    • Funny Funny x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2017
  2. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Aluminum structure for a lighter, stiffer and more scalable simulator.

    [​IMG]

    To make the structure dynamic, I mainly use :
    ZYT90-155 DC motors (12 V / 3200 RPM / 0.6 Nm) coupled to
    60:1 MCP4 gearboxes (54 RPM / 36 Nm) powered by
    powerful power supplies (12 V - 50 A) drived by
    Pololu JRK 12V12 with
    PPC27 10 kohms potentiometers

    [​IMG]



    I build unique and custom pieces to give a professional look to the simulator.

    [​IMG]



    Older versions of the simulators :

    [​IMG]


    In-process...
    • Like Like x 29
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015
  3. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK








    • Like Like x 20
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I play only with Project CARS and I use only 3 effects : Surge, Heave and Sway which are effects 25, 26 and 27.

    My pCARS_MaxMin.cfg (in the .zip plugin)

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>
    <GameMaxMin xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
    <_GameName>pCARS</_GameName>
    <_RollMax>10</_RollMax>
    <_RollMin>-10</_RollMin>
    <_PitchMax>10</_PitchMax>
    <_PitchMin>-10</_PitchMin>
    <_HeaveMax>15</_HeaveMax>
    <_HeaveMin>-15</_HeaveMin>
    <_YawMax>180</_YawMax>
    <_YawMin>-180</_YawMin>
    <_SwayMax>19</_SwayMax>
    <_SwayMin>-19</_SwayMin>
    <_SurgeMax>12</_SurgeMax>
    <_SurgeMin>-17</_SurgeMin>
    <_Extra1Max>0</_Extra1Max>
    <_Extra1Min>0</_Extra1Min>
    <_Extra2Max>0</_Extra2Max>
    <_Extra2Min>0</_Extra2Min>
    <_Extra3Max>0</_Extra3Max>
    <_Extra3Min>0</_Extra3Min>
    </GameMaxMin>
    • Useful Useful x 2
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2013
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Nice sim. Not sure what settings you have on jrks , but those motors can snap and move a lot faster. Can you post pics of the tabs in JRK utility ?
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks man, ok
    Only suggestions, but it may really make the sim come alive
    Feedback tab, did you set the numbers manually? Or did you do a maximum and minimum position setting?

    PID, weird to me, but hey. Perhaps P 3/3 I 0/3 D 2/2 may work well, this is a BASE setting and seems to work well.
    Intergral limit, move up to 5000
    Feedback deadzone, down to 3 from 50.

    Motor, max current 0 ( unlimited) I hope you have heatsinks on the big chips and a fan to cool the JRKS.
    Only thing I suggest in motor tab is Max acceleration, try moving number down to 400 and if it feels less powerful, move it up in increments of 50. 600 is flat out. Not really needed. but I used it in the beginning trying these motors out.
    When motor is off, coast , not brake.

    My settings are similar to what I have recommended, in fact, the same. I set profiles to suit and have good motion, a nice vibration for bumps, snappy , but not too nasty motion for everything else. I survive 2-3 hours no problem.


    Everything else looks good, just remember, once you change the settings, the profiles may be way out, so you will have to redo them.
    Any problems, just holler.
    Cheers, David.
    • Like Like x 5
    • Useful Useful x 5
  7. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I made adjustments that allowed me to have faster and larger movements. But this configuration suits me well and I can run for several hours without getting tired too.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Useful Useful x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2013
  8. Erwan960

    Erwan960

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I made what you said. Now my sim is as you said : "more alive" :thumbs
    - braking is instantaneous
    - the change of direction is more dynamic
    - accelerations are more frank

    For the feedback tab, I did a maximum and minimum position setting and after that I made minor changes.
    For the PID I took your values.
    For the motor, I pu 450 for max acceleration.

    May still be a few changes to make, but the result is much better. Thank you!
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    oh thats good, that should really make you wake up
  10. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks for posting that, it will make setting up my own JrKs much easier. Something I need to get around to eventually as I want to use my Arduino on my next project.
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    No worries. Rob is the founder and pioneer of the JRKS, so I learnt off him. I just have base settings to work off, especially when it comes to the big motors, as I was , as far as i know, the first to trial such a motor, being big worm gears. Rob was the first to trial the winches, so he may have a base setting for winches. But my settings should be fine.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    That's what these communities are all about, passing info from one person to the next and helping each other out! What's better is your's wasn't a response to a call for help, it was an open offer to provide info to improve an already working design!
  13. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,626 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok after some refining I my values have evolved to this.
    Robbies PID as of 29-09.png Robbies Motors as of 29-09.png
    Now this results in a better graph showing as little as 5% error in changing position at different speed, the key in setting the Jrk's up correctly to give you a better feel for motion movements as per video below, due not the upload is a little blury but you can see the scaledback value in red and the target in blue.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,615
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,146 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Hi Erwan,

    pictures in your first thread are missing. Do you want to reattach them?
  15. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Updated images. Thank you!

    New toy installed to further enhance immersion and realism :
    [​IMG]

    Next project: moving to a triple screen solution like this (not mine) with a PLP (portrait landscape portrait) structure :
    [​IMG]

    I already have a 46 inchesscreen in central position at 1920x1080 :
    [​IMG]

    I would like to add two 27-inch screens in portrait mode on the sides :

    [​IMG]

    But for the moment there is no solution for a 3 screens system with different resolutions in dx11. But on http://www.softth.net the author provide to remedy. The project is underway ! :)
    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    the side screens is a good idea as I am also restricted for room, but that would make a decent 3 screen setup.
    Nice shifter, where did ya get it?
    • Like Like x 1
  17. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,626 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    The gear stick is a cool, cool attachment, and yes 3 screens are a must for a serious sim racer. One screen is like driving with blinkers on.
    Have them on the side like that is a good way of reducing the cg of the sim as having them spread too far accross will not help the roll motion of the simulator, causing the motors to work way too hard to right the sim back to its centre.
    A good idea indeed , Well done.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The shifter comes from Fanatec : http://eu.fanatec.com/Shifters?product_id=676 (ClubSport Shifter SQ EU)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For me the value of a PLP solution is to take advantage of side mirrors and an enlarged view without using a huge space for display. I can't wait to test it!
    • Like Like x 5
  19. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The side screens like side mirrors has got my attention, I may have to buy 2 suitable size monitors for my 32" telly.
    And thanks for the shifter link, looks good and reasonable price.
  20. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    3,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +236 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Zolder - BMW Z4 GT3 (Project CARS)


    Nürburgring Nordschleife - Ruf CTR3 (Project CARS)
    • Like Like x 5
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014