1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Building my first 2DOF (without welding or a steel frame)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Brie69, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Checking whether the steering wheel will fit.... Check :thumbs
    Checking whether the cablemanagement plate still 'clicks on' the magnets.... Check :thumbs

    [tomorrow I start with the construction for the pedals]



    20180909_203132.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The pedals
    IMG-20180912-WA0000.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Spraypainted pedalssetconstructionthingy in place
    20180913_190635.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks
  5. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm using Lock Bond for the bolts and nuts.
    IMG_20181015_121113990.jpg

    IMG_20181015_121502859.jpg
  6. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  7. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The alignment isn't quite right but the flexible couple makes it all right again.
    Everything is loose fixed for testing later on.
    IMG_20181015_121251710.jpg
  8. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Updated the motor mount with one extra bracket.
    ..
    I am also a bit worried about the load capacity of the engines
    IMG_20181015_134646005.jpg
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You also need to consider the load capacity of the motor mounts, as they are subject to substantial forces, given the movement and mass of the rig. I think they need to be far more substantial than what you are using.

    They look to be wiper motors, is that correct?

    Have you tried SimCalc to get a sense of what is needed to drive your rig: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's correct they are wiper motors and no I didn't try the simcalculator yet.... All the parts that I have made till now are like 'it comes as it goes'... but the motors are a braintwister for now..
    ps. The two motors get one more mount in the same line as the motor.
    We keep I'll keep you informed @noorbeast
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The ground isolation part is done already so next thing to do is calculate the lenghts and angles of the rods/lever and start testing.
    If torque is to small then ..well ..then I have to buy stronger motors.
    Cheers @noorbeast
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  15. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @noorbeast thanks for the quick response.
    Yes, that was one of the first things that I have done when I started the project...
    I just measured it again but still nothing between + and housing, - and housing or between the housing of the two motors.
    Cheers
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  17. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  18. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    What is wrong? I've uploaded the @RacingMat _2DOF_Arduino_code with a USB cable to the Arduino...installed SimTools latested version..downloaded/installed/patched some gameplugins..
    The settings in the Game Engine are those correctly filled in?
    When I start, for example Dirt Rally, the motors give one 'kick' when starting the game but when I start driving the motors stay still.
    If there is anyone how can help me with this is much appreciated.



    Houston_we_have_a_problem.JPG

    Houston_we_have_a_problem.JPG
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For SimTools 2 the Interface Output should be: [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis1a>]
  20. Brie69

    Brie69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Beverwijk
    Balance:
    238Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sorry, @noorbeast but even when I set the Interface - Output like you said [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis1a>] still no movement.
    Do I need to change the Arduino code or something?
    The Arduino is connected via USB A <> USB B cable to the pc