1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial From AtoZ : 2DOF arduino wiper playseat

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by RacingMat, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @masterhoo

    Not a problem, but you have too much wires ;)
    yours
    2DOF arduino and 1 motomonster.png
  2. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello Racing Mat, thankyou for all the input to this forum that you have done. I have followed your instructions for my 2 DOF build and have a question please - I am using arduino UNO and 1 Motor Monster motor driver it will be driving 2, 12 volt DC wiper motors, will 1 Motor Monster driver be ok or should I run 2 MM one for each wiper motor? I am new to all of this and want my build to succeed. I have the frame and wiper motors attached, I have tested the motors on the frame with a direct connection from a 12 volt car battery and all working well, I have built the MM and UNO box and have wired it up as per your instructions but I am a bit worried that the 1 MM on it's own might melt down running 2 wiper motors? Any help would be greatly appreciated, Regards Ned from down under.
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi! Thanks, I'm glad it's usefull for you :)

    - Isolate the ground of the motors!
    - Yes, 1 MM drives 2 motors. But if you have 2, you can bridge 1 MM for 1 motor as Pit tested successfully as per specification.

    Please share some pictures!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. nasrollah

    nasrollah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    iran
    Balance:
    209Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino


    Hello
    Each 1 driver is designed for 2 electric motors, but you can also use a driver for each electric motor.
    I used and tested for 2 Wiper motors drivers. There was no problem in the initial test. You just have to be careful about the coolness of the driver.
    Thank you for your attention.
  5. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey Hi, thanks for your input, last night I put together the arduino and motor monster in a box I added 2 heat sinks to the mm and then put a cooling fan on top of the box I have wired it as per racing mat instructions and today will somehow try and download the code to Arduion, the box also lights up when USB cable from computer 1 is plugged in, as you may understand I am very impressed with myself being I know nothing about electronics and it's all starting to come together I need to clean up where the wires run but very happy that it powers up, LEDS light up and fan runs when USB plugged in ha ha.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  6. nasrollah

    nasrollah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    iran
    Balance:
    209Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello
    I was very happy about your success.
    Make and submit your photo and video project.
    Step-by-step to make your project progress here to help guide your friends as well as other friends.
    Good luck
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @Ned!

    You'll succeed i'm sure! but take your time: you're going to fast and skipping steps. o_O

    First, arduino
    Second, arduino + motomonster + motors + pots
    -> turning pot manually (should turn, stop and turn reverse)
    -> pot linked to motor and sending manual orders through Serial Monitor
    Third, simtools Output testing
    Fourth, simtools + game running

    follow the whole explanation here:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-and-2-pins-direction-hbridge-motomonster.67/
    yours
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    RacingMat you are a legend, You would be correct I was going to fast and just now have seen I missed not one step but several, being I am waiting for new MM I can not test. I missed setting the default in comm4 to match Sims Tools and I missed setting speed in Arduino. Funny I have read your instructions a million times I can not understand how I missed this thank you very very very much Ned
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  9. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Racingmat just looked at the testing you filmed and noticed the 2nd motor sounded like it was running faster than the 1st one is that a problem with the cheap MM boards I am using? Or is that normal or just my imagination?? Regards Ned
  10. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yeah, being to fast and next being forced to wait :confused: that's hard! keep going ;)

    I never noticed any difference... but used motors can be worn differently and make a different noise.
  11. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    upload_2017-8-21_7-38-4.png
    Hello Racing mat while waiting for new MM to arrive I have been researching your 2dof site. Question for you please? I have followed your wiring instructions and notice the instructions of the wiring is different than how you have wired up the MM and Arduino boards you have used analog A0 A1 A2 and others on the MM and the wiring diagram shows the pots only hook to Arduino board. Which way should I wire both boards????
    upload_2017-8-21_7-37-43.png
    upload_2017-8-21_7-38-4.png
    • Like Like x 1
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    As Motomonster can be stacked onto the arduino, I started by welding all the jumper wires but it was unecessary :oops: newbie mistake

    Follow the drawing!
  13. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thankyou
  14. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    813Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello RacingMat, I watched your tuto and your simulator looks very nice! Thank you for all your work you are sharing.
    This is kind to spend some time to help people building their own. I begin to build mine and i know that I'll do a lot of mistakes before it will be working.
    I'm still thinking about putting 2 or 4 motors, or to build one with traction loss, actually I don't know wich one feels more realistic.
    I'm living close to Marseille so maybe we could talk about your experience around a beer if you are OK. I love to build projects and to talk about it, you can watch some of my projects on youtube : just type "rastakool".
    Thank you Racingmat.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    Thanks for the compliment! Glad my posts are useful :)

    My advice: start simple with 2 dof!

    See you
  16. Krisie300

    Krisie300 Student Engineering

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello, I just attached 1 motor to my VNH2SP30 (Motor driver). But only one side of the motor turns in full speed. the other direction the motor almost doesn't turn at all! After a little while the motor stops completely with turning. Also I can not arrange the speed of the motors, only a little bit. (With the potentiometer) it's on or off.
    I'm using the Arduino program from Racingmat and haven't changed anything.

    Someone know how to fix this?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,577
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,188Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,139 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If they are wiper motors make sure they are ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/

    And you may want to try this speed fix: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/wiper-motor-slow-in-reverse.5675/#post-59115
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Krisie300

    Krisie300 Student Engineering

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey! I checked my motor if there was a wire connected to the body of the motor like they say in this link.
    But there were no wires connected to the body of the motors.
    Here a couple pictures and a video of the problem, hope someone can help me out!

    Attached Files:

  19. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    you have to wire the two pots I think to prevent floating entries on arduino

    pots are not used to change speed but to determine position

    Please follow the steps advised here
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-and-2-pins-direction-hbridge-motomonster.67/
    and tell us at which step you are stuck
  20. Krisie300

    Krisie300 Student Engineering

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @RacingMat Thank you for the fast reply!
    I'm stuck at the first step.. I've attached both motors now, but when I put the motors in reverse, they don't turn in full speed. After a short time the motors just stop turning when they should turn in reverse. See the video below. Maybe the resistance is to high?