1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
Andreas Ewe

Aerofly FS 2 Plugin 2.1.1.0

SimTools plugin for Aerofly FS 2

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,609
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,934Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,876 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yea, roll is not working properly. Looking at the data it seems to have a approx -80 offset applied to it o_O. When it's possible, I would always rather use Roll then of Roll/sec - just feels better especially with a G system. In this case for flying non-aerobatic aircraft. When you find the time @value1 :) .
  2. nilzilla

    nilzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    US
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    So focusing my question specifically on barrel rolls... using "Extra2"+washout as the roll axis it gives a smooth roll without any snap back, however it always returns back to a leveled out state so even if your plane is flying at 45 or 90 degrees angle, your seat returns back to a leveled 0 degrees. I've been using "Sway" for Aerofly as it lets the seat maintain at an angle when your plane is not flying leveled. Sway unfortunately does return a soft snap but it's not too bad. After experimenting with washout on Sway or just the general roll axis in other flying sims/games (Spit40 has some great details on page 6), I've found that while it does eliminate the snap back, it also throws off the leveling, and your seat is no longer aligned with the in game horizon. Just wondering if I'm missing anything or if anyone has found a better setup/settings to keep the seat at the proper angle while flying but eliminating the snap during a barrel roll.
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,087
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,365Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Extra 2 will return once pressure is off the joystick, but washout should be set so that it is not particularly noticeable.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Deadzone
    For a while I've had some frustrations with washout when applied to acceleration DOFs, specifically roll/sec. The idea was always to feel the movement take effect immediately but then slowly and unobstrusively the platform would washout and return to level because if you hold a banked angle for 30 seconds you don't in reality feel like you'll slide off your chair. The frustration was that the washouts were happening not at all smoothly, but in gritty steppy increments and worse than that, sometimes the washout would not take effect, leaving me hanging on a steep angle sometimes even when the plane is stationary on the tarmac.

    With help from @yobuddy I think this problem is solved. Deadzone is the answer. I turned off smoothing and set a deadzone of 5.0 and now my washouts are happening very smoothly. SimTools seems to struggle when it doesn't have strong movements to process, so holding approx level means the acceleration DOFs are very tiny numbers. Smoothing gets a bit confused by this and the gain/return function of washout seems to struggle too. Using deadzone 5.0 means that the tiny numbers (bit like white noise I guess) are zero'd and the washout can smoothly take effect.

    It has transformed my platform! I will do a few more tweaks now but the fundamentals are good. I'm using 50% on both washout gain & return at the moment, but may well tweak those a bit now.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Spit,
    this is for the platform, correct? Does the same apply for the g-seat?

    My g-seat has been down for some time. I tried adding pitch and roll to it using the same servos used for the flaps. I thought if I got it balanced well on the center line, the servos may move it. Alas, they do not have enough torque. So I am taking it back to just the G-seat when I have a chance.
  6. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Yes, this is seat mover platform stuff. I don't think you'd want to use washout on g-seat forces as a g-seat can sustain acceleration forces. I find servos fine for back flaps (surge and some roll) but you have to be very careful with base flaps (heave and also roll) - you'' really struggle to get servos to really lift you. Better to squeeze from the sides a bit rather than try to lift.
  7. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I had the seat working pretty well before attempting to add pitch and roll for use with VR. I have decided to go in a different direction, building a Cessna style cockpit. The pitch and roll would not work well with it anyway, so I am going back to just the G-seat. I am going to weld up some plates to the seat flaps, that come up along the side of the legs to give a better squeeze instead of lift.

    I want to get back into working on it, but things have been crazy since my fathers passing 3 weeks ago.

    Here are some pictures of the cockpit. I have a larger main monitor to put in, so it will widen the whole thing by another 7 inches, bringing it closer to life size.
    cockpit 1.JPG cockpit 2.JPG
    • Like Like x 5
  8. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @value1 just wondered if the fs2 plugin can work with gamevibe. I haven't really looked into gamevibe yet but i think when it came out the FS2 plugin needed an update.
  9. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi.
    Does anyone know what this could be?
    Comed last week in several PC's.
    I have reinstalled plugin and repatch.
    It did not work.



  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,844
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    35,537Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,994 / 10 / -0
    What do you settings look like for Sway?
    Looks like Sway is causing it..
  11. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    No.
    In this simulator the sway is the roll.
    If you observe you will see that heave, surge and sway are lag.
  12. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Why does the roll move to the left?
    It is not centered like the other bars. So I set the sway to make the roll move.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,087
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,365Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of your settings, so members can give informed advice.
  14. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok.

    Attached Files:

  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,087
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,365Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The DIR being checked orange or not determines which way an axis moves, and the normal convention is that sway would be opposit of roll, so yours look wrong, this is how SimTools expects the movement to be configured: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/

    Another issue is the Axis Assignment percentage total, you have 300% for just 3 axis, which is way too high and would result in clipping: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    Follow these steps to configure and refine your motion profile, once you sort out he Axis Assignments, doing one axis at a time: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018
  16. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  17. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Exactly.

    I understand, but it was all working after the last update of the aerofly.
    The issue is not the movement but the delay it is giving.
    It moves with leaps. Lag
    Could someone open the game and test, please?
  18. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. DOFreality

    DOFreality Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    338Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    great plugin!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  20. Leandro Kemp

    Leandro Kemp Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi.
    Even doing these procedures did not solve.
    For the roll graphic to be in the center the plane must be 90º inclined to the right.
    Does any member of the group use this simulator? Could help?