1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question A beginner dreams of 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Виталий, Jan 4, 2021.

  1. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Our scripts might be different. It you bridge pin 8 to ground it should change the baud rate without editing code.
  2. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Tell me where to find another version of SimTools? All my searches have led only here
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you go to that link and click on Version History you will see all options. That said it is advisable to use the latest version of SimTools, and go back and check all hardware and settings.

    Versions.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks a lot for the tip! I tried to install SimTools v2.5. The axles are aligned. Even Output Testing stopped shaking motors. They move smoothly to the end.

    The next step is to build the body of the simulator.
    I took the design from this Brazilian friend as a basis, only with the introduction of my own small changes.
    The motors will be located under the seat back.
    2DOF-ESTUDO ESTRUTURA.jpg
    I am planning on using a converted computer seat. Later I will make a homemade racing seat out of plywood. There are drawings.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Glad you got that sorted :thumbs

    Keep in mind that that the more compact design, that it the shorter the distance from the pivot to where the motors connect, the greater the torque required to drive it and the harder the motors work. Wiper motors are not very powerful, so you want as much inherent design leverage as you can, in other words the biggest distance you can get between the pivot and where the motors connect.

    You can have a play with SimCalc to get an idea of design Vs physics compromises: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello! I'm not lost, it's just that at this stage the process went slower.

    What was done: bought an old office chair. Disassembled, thoroughly cleaned and sewed new upholstery. I like it.
    20210205_202928.jpg
    Prepared shaped tubes and marked welding points.
    20210205_200349.jpg
    But welding turned out to be more difficult. Such work is expensive for welders. Therefore, I decided to add money and buy myself a new welding machine. I have long dreamed of such a device. Just a great excuse.
    20210205_200913.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Body parts welded
    16126353168771062522980.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I'm going to the final line. It remains to tidy up the wiring and place the boards in the box.
    20210208_204114.jpg 20210211_213527.jpg 20210212_160913.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Friends, advice is needed. What cable to connect to a PC? On my Arduino Uno there is a micro USB connector. This connection looks unreliable and not solid. Maybe use some kind of adapter? How did you do it?
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sounds like a clone Arduino, so you will have to use the micro USB cable.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Done! Please welcome!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great to see your rig in action, well done :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  13. TL1000S

    TL1000S New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I just use nano (using ch340), everything is normal, no problem.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The next step is to add vibrodynamics to the device. Without the sensation of vibrations from a running motor, it's somehow boring. I've done it before in my regular seat. This should add more experience.
  15. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Added a little vibration to the device. This is not a bass shaker, but it does provide a certain experience.
    20210228_153836.jpg
    To connect, I built in a 12 V jack for connecting a homemade amplifier with a low-pass filter.
    20210228_153903.jpg
    The amplifier itself was attached with ordinary clamps to the underside of the seat
    20210228_154925.jpg
    And the vibro speaker fits perfectly between the plywood sheets. Right under the buttocks.
    The result is a spy stealth installation. ;)
    It would be nice to install the same in the back. But so far I have only one speaker.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi, I need help with the Axis Assignments settings.
    I figured out the settings for the Pitch, Roll, Surge axes. This works correctly. But I have problems with Sway.

    When turning left, the sim tilts to the right (left motor up), but when turning right, the sim again tilts to the right (right motor down). This is with these settings:
    01 Axis settings.jpg
    If you move the orange button to Axis1a, the motors change direction, but the sim's behavior remains the same.

    If you turn on the orange buttons on Axis1a and Axis2a together, then when turning left, the motors move one up, the other down (seat moves to the right). And when you turn right, there is no movement at all. Disable all orange buttons, movement is mirrored.
    02 Axis settings.jpg

    Could this be because in my sim design one of the wiper motors is upside down?
    If the motors were the same, then the first setting would work correctly.
    20210217_145458.jpg
    In SMC3Utils in Manual mode, when you move the slider up, one motor raises the lever up and the other lowers it down.
    Is it possible to turn the engine over programmatically, so as not to violate the design of the sim?
    I have seen that many people position their wiper motors this way, but no one has mentioned such a problem. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks for the tip. This gave the concept of the DIR function for Sway and Roll. But the Sway tests were run with Roll disabled and everything else. Only one Sway.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If it goes the wrong way for sway you need to check Axis1a Dir and uncheck Axis2a Dir.
  20. Виталий

    Виталий Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    fireman
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi all! I'm still with you and work with the car simulator continues. However, due to the war in our Ukraine with Russian occupiers, all processes have been suspended. But life goes on!

    What has been done this year:
    Once the left motor burned out and was replaced. For some reason, the left one heats up more than the right one.
    The engines received passive cooling. A radiator was machined from an aluminum blank.
    20210912_143551.jpg 20210920_151035.jpg 20210920_151516.jpg
    The radiator is fixed only with thermal paste.
    I plan to add coolers for active cooling.

    Installed a massive homemade bass shaker. Power at 50-60 watts. Shakes great!
    20220616_180852.jpg 20211020_235517.jpg 20211020_111800.jpg
    For him, an amplifier was made on the XH-M544 TPA3116 board mono 1 x 150 W. And one more amplifier on TPA3118 PBTL 1X60 W for a small Subwoofer
    20211018_171816.jpg 20211015_165709.jpg
    XH-M544 TPA3116 моно 1 х 150 Вт.jpg
    XH-M544 TPA3116 mono 1 x 150 W
    TPA3118 PBTL 1X60 Вт 12-24V MONO.png
    TPA3118 PBTL mono 1 x 60 W
    TL072.jpg
    Subwoofer filter with +12V power (Auto) on TL072 (TL082).

    For the best performance of the Bass Shaker, the chair is mounted on rubber stands. Now the vibrations do not go to the floor.
    20220616_181216.jpg

    To be continued

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1