1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6DOF sim / linear actuator diy / sabertooth-arduino

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by baykah, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,809
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,453Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,963 / 10 / -0
    You can request a free SimTools 2.0 DIY key here, should your project qualify for one.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/request-diy-key-simtools/

    Or if you would like to purchase a PRO or Entertainment license, you can do so here.
    https://simtools.us/

    Take care!
    yobuddy
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
  2. dca5454

    dca5454 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    92Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    Thanks I will check out link
  3. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Great thanks !
  4. saxxon66

    saxxon66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    Great Design thank you for sharing.

    I do have some questions.

    How is the ballscrew thread fixed at the top?

    Do you use any sliders on the alu sides?

    How to prevent the ballbearing to twist?
  5. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  6. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    All actuator tested, seems to be ok ...

    Tonight, wiring !

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Great stuff matey, now the joy of wiring and setting it up ;)

    And your platform looks a little flimsy and weak :D lol
  8. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    For the first tests I did a link between actuators very weak to be sure it will bend in case of missettings ...
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was being sarcastic of course I knew it was for testing ;)
  10. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    lol, I thought that you guys first tried without link between the actuators and were ready to have the final rig for the first startup !

    Anyway, they are all good to go, tomorrow simtool first try :D
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    How did you end up connecting the bottom of the actuator to the base ? You use some steel or something else ?
  12. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  13. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    quick update for woble fixing (at least most of it) in the actuator.
    Flange on the actuator carrier and a plastic part with a bearing to reduce play between the steel tube and the top end of the ballscrew

    2 are modified, 4 to go ....

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 4
    • Creative Creative x 1
  14. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have finished modifying all the actuators, it semms to be a good solution as the only wobeling left is my motor ... the motor support is 5mm thick and not as rigid as it could be.. well see if this is a problem.

    Anyway, time to start builind the upper platform !
    • Like Like x 1
  15. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    371Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello everyone, some update

    Need help with SMC3 tuning also !
    I set parameter rapidly, it is working quite well without me on the rig... with my 70kg it is a lot more bumpy and not so great .. any advice ?

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,020Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Looks awesome dude!

    You can find info about SMC3 PID tuning here:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/a-laymans-analogy-guide-to-pids-pid-tuning.219/
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/practical-examples-video-tutorial-to-jrk-pid-tuning.225/

    The SMC3 thread has an overview as well:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    Although I'm not sure you'll be able to tune the actuators with them attached to the rig with a 6DOF like that. I'd assume that most of the tuning would be done with one actuator with a simulated load attached to it, but I don't have a 6DOF so someone like @SilentChill would be much better of giving advice in that area.
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @baykah

    I would try these just to start off with in SCM3 util.

    Kp= 450-500
    PWM Min = 0 <----- Make sure this is Zero all you will do is heat your motors up
    PWM Max = 220
    PWM Rev = 220

    Everything else should be ok ;)

    Edit: Make sure you set all the motors the same
    • Like Like x 1
  18. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2,389Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    @SilentChill i'm sorry but setting PWMmin to zero is wrong.
    This is meant to be the minimum pwm value before the motor overcomes the load & friction and starts moving from rest.
    Think it as in your 12v motor even with no load. 0.5v isn't going to move the shaft all it is doing is producing heat, it may take 3-4v before it moves.
    PWM works just like a variable voltage source low pwm % lower voltage, higher pwm =higher voltages.
  19. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,020Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    In theory setting your PID loop correctly will alleviate that issue completely though. If the sim position is not approaching the set-point, the integral term will ramp up the power until the sim starts moving. Personally my position would be to keep PWMmin as small as possible and spend more time tuning the loop properly. I have mine set to nearly 0 (it takes at least 55 for my motors to move), and spending more time tuning the loop properly.

    If your PWMmin value is set too high, your loop will become unstable with lower values of Kp/Ki then it would otherwise.

    This is just my personal experience though, other settings might work best for different sims :)
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hmmm okay ....................... I'll leave this well alone