1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Grigory’s 6DOF 24V DC

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Grigory, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Oh, this thing is NOISY!

    I disassembled the nut, double checked that all the bearings are in place and added some extra lubrication -- it became a little bit less rumbling and started to move a bit smoother, but still nowhere close to the quietness of gearboxes :(

    Some sort of noise insulation would be needed, I guess
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +898 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    LOL this is where I have an advantage over you guys , Being deaf ( with hearing aid out ) noise is not an issue :) but with the hearing aid in ,i'll concede they are Noisier than I guess Joe Public would like, But the major plus is that once the platform is bouncing you around and with headphones on you'll forget the noise :) trust me I know this LOL
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    The good thing is that, if the formulas are right, each actuator should be pushing at over 700 N vs about 300 N I have now at the end of my 150mm lever
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Things are moving quite slowly, as I can only work on the build on weekends. it took me almost a month to get five more actuators mostly ready. I still need to fit encoders, timing belts and end switches, but this should not take more than one day.

    Here's how everything looks now:
    image.jpeg
    • Like Like x 7
    • Winner Winner x 4
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,598
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,772Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,410 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Lovely job matey well done. How is the kangaroo/ sabertooth / encoder combo coming along ?
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,105
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    great job so far! you must be impatient

    you can start now if you're ready to build a 5DOF :grin
    • Funny Funny x 3
  7. obobo

    obobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The transmission of the movement gives what speed at the end?
  8. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF

    I do have one more, which I used to confirm that everything works :)
    • Winner Winner x 1
  9. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    It works perfectly well on a test bench, but I have not yet tested it with any sort of load.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    The motors rotate at 3000 RPM = 50 revs/second, screw pitch is 5mm, so it would not exceed 250mm/second. This indeed gives me some concerns, as the initial setup with 30:1 gearboxes was theoretically able to rotate 150mm lever 180° from min to max position in just 0.3 seconds. That was 1000 mm/second with no load.

    These actuators have much more pushing power, so I hope that the weight of cockpit will slow them down much less than the gearbox/lever setup.



    I've posted the video of my first actuator test earlier in this thread
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,061Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,834 / 32 / -1
    While its my opinion 400mm/second or more is preferred sometimes more torque over a theoretical speed is required since that speed won't be reached without enough torque. Ideally you'll use the best balance of the two.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    One more Saturday and a bit more progress.

    IMG_4251.JPG


    The next step will be wiring everything and, finally, installing the actuators.
    • Like Like x 9
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +898 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very nice Work @gregory .. will be great to see how the encoder perform as a great alternative and option to pots ,, Each new actuator brings something different that we can all learn from so as silentchill says this a a great sharing community Brilliant ...
    • Agree Agree x 3
  14. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    409Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Great job, i'm also considering kangaroo board .. looking forward to your results !
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    I finally attached all the acutators to the rig.

    IMG_4375.JPG IMG_4376.JPG






    I was hoping to start testing it with Simtools during the New Year break, but, as often happens, the plans did not quite materialize.

    Five out of six actuators passed Kangaroo auto-tune routine, but one keeps reporting that it hit a limit switch during tune process -- without actually being anywhere near it! Soldering and re-soldering wire connectors, changing wires, swapping Kangaroos, swapping Sabertooths did not help, so I hope the issue is with my cheap Chinese limit switches themselves. They work fine on a static rig, but maybe they occasionally close when actuator moves and vibrates?

    I will get some replacement switches and test them next weekend.
    • Like Like x 9
  16. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    It's alive! A lot of movement profile tuning is of course needed, but at least it finally works.

    Over this weekend I managed to complete auto-tune for all six actuators and successfully paired the rig with Simtools. Sabertooth and kangaroo combo seems to be working well so far.

    • Winner Winner x 6
    • Like Like x 4
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,598
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,772Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,410 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Arghhh stop it with the vertical videos !!!! :D No its looking good matey well done :cheers How good does it feel compared to the geared motors

    Looks like you got sway back to front and no surge ?
  18. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    I understand your pain, but not enough space there to have both the seat and the actuators in view unless I hold it that way :)
  19. Grigory

    Grigory Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Moscow
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    It definitely feels much more solid and precise: no backlash at all.

    The settings are all wrong as I had very little time this weekend and was anxious to try it. Indeed, I set up surge as just a flat forward-back movement. I thought that Simtools will combine surge and pitch to simulate acceleration and braking, but apparently I need to change axis allocation so that surge not only moves the seat back and forth, but also tilts it. Is that how it should work?
  20. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,271Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Looking great! Congratz!, Once you fine tune it it will be awesome!