1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF simulator servo model

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Svensson, May 7, 2015.

  1. Svensson

    Svensson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    219Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hi
    Just wanted to try building a simulator with servos before getting in to the real deal.
    Had a rc car just laying around that i could salvage servos and some other stuff from.

    2x Hitec HS-311 servo
    1x Traxxas u-joint
    1x Arduino nano
    Some cardboard



    I've followed this guide when setting up simtools http://www.xsimulator.net/installing-simtools/
    I've used eaorobie's arduino code and have set up my servos like he's done. http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/rc-model-for-motion-simulation.4600/

    Now to the problem. When testing the output to the servos, the servo that is connected to pin 5 to the arduino, only moves between 0-90 degrees. When it at 90 degrees it moves back to 0 again. The other servo connected to pin 4 only moves to 90 and stays there. See video for more detail

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,517Coins
    Ratings:
    +490 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    i have managed to make rc servo move with @eaorobbie code this way
    connection diagram http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/rc-model-for-motion-simulation.4600/
    arduino code http://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/rc-model-code-for-arduino-uno-2dof-expandable.89/
    interface setup - IMPORTANT - Assuming a 2DOF for SimTools 2 the Interface Output should be set like this R<Axis1a>~L<Axis2a>~ https://www.xsimulator.net/community/attachments/rcsettings-jpg.48565/

    and for expanding code to use more servo http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/my-project-guide-me.5682/#post-59262

    and here it is moving with game



    thnx to @eaorobbie i made my first project here and i am keep going
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2019
  3. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    890Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
    nice video
  4. Svensson

    Svensson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    219Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I see. I will tweak around with the settings to see if I solve the problem. Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  5. John458

    John458 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Occupation:
    Retail
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Balance:
    244Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey Guys,

    Cant find a wiring diagram for 3dof using Arduino and monster moto, plenty of 2d0f... can someone help. I have found a few 2d0f and 1 3dof but that is not using arduinos and mottos (see attached) I can't find the links anymore...sorry

    I am creating a scale model myself using ardunio and monster moto boards before I go full scale. I want to make sure the model is working properly, i have created this board (just waiting on the pots)

    and making the 3 motors pitch roll and yaw.

    any help would be very much appreciated :)

    Cheers

    Dave

    Attached Files:

  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,613
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,480Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  7. aiman anuar

    aiman anuar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    hi, where can i refer to set the axis assignment for 2 DOF?

    currently i am using this setting.
    upload_2016-11-26_23-11-17.png
  8. obobo

    obobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,262Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    It's not pitch and roll that you should have ??
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,613
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,480Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Those settings look to be from the SketchUp powered model tutorial. You should be using a configuration that suits your design and hardware, even if that happens to be a 2DOF model in something like SketchUp.

    This is another member's project page, you need to start your own and post information about your project so members can give advice. Please start your own project thread here: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/forums/diy-motion-simulator-projects.22/
  10. xiejin

    xiejin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    CHAINA
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Why there is a delay