1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

007 G-Seat: Ultra Compact/Servo Based

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Spit40, Jun 25, 2017.

  1. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    For those using my arduino script, here's the SimTools axis setting using Axis Assignments(b) as (a) is used for my 3DOF
    Axis 1 & 2 are for the Heave flaps and 3 & 4 for the Surge. I'm also mapping roll/sec to these flaps and experimenting with sway too. I can't vouch for the tuning !
    simtools-axes.JPG
    And here's how SimTools talks to my Arduino script. Intreface1/2 are used for my 3DOF, so I'm using #3.
    Note that Axis1b, Axis2b etc might be Axis1a,Axis2a if you used Axis Assignments(a) above. The R,L,S,T are how Arduino knows which servo we're talking to.
    simtools-interface.JPG
    • Informative Informative x 3
  2. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks for that Phil. I now have movement out of the servos. However, they seem like a quite low amount of movement. Especially the Surge. Not much at all. I can get pretty good movement on the Heave, but it still seems small. Of course I still do not have my servo arms on yet, so I am just looking at the shaft.

    Think anything is wrong, or is this pretty normal?

    Andrew
  3. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Check the tiny pots on the servo board. Rotate them all to the right to get largest rotation for the input data.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,511
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,933Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,122 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You likely need to do a capture in the Tuning Center and then refine the motion profile from there, here are the steps involved: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Try adjusting the values in the Arduino code, lines 17-20, though it doesn't mean much until you're attached to the servo arms and flaps.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thank you both. It seems like it is taking forever for the servo arms to get here from China.

    Andrew
  7. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    They have interesting logistics from China. When I've bought expensive items (like the servos) they were shipped to the UK via DHL in about 10 days, although tracking shows them not leave China for about 5 days. If I buy cheap things they come on the slooooooooow boat. I'm still waiting for some cables ordered 9th December, an amplifier ordered 25 November, and some of the same servo arms you await ordered 17th November.

    Sorry if that isn't what you wanted hear :)
  8. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I get a lot of parts for my other business from China. Yes, it seems like the smaller parts are shipped by e-packet and can be slow. Also, this time of year they have a lot of Holidays, they seem to shut everything down for weeks at a time. Wish I could take vacations like that. LOL
  9. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Mapping G-Seat Servos / Arduino to SimTools

    Someone asked about this as below and I thought the answer might benefit others.

    Question
    I am a little confused here and need some advice. I am still waiting
    on the servo arms, but I had a buddy of mine draw one up in CAD from the
    drawings, and I 3D printed some. They are working awesome!

    Anyway, SimTools works a little differently than I thought it would. I
    figured out how to set the max motion in one direction, but how do I set
    it in the other? I want to put about a 20* angle in the flap to begin
    with. Right now it is actually pulling down some, which I don't want.
    I figured there would be a setting someplace in SimTools to move the
    servo, then click on a button or something to say, "this is 0 point, do
    not pass". I can't find anything like that though. Is this something
    that needs to be done on the arduino?

    Answer
    Yes its an Arduino thing. Once you do SimTools tuning which determines your realistic max/min thresholds for the telemetry data received from the game, SimTools outputs 0 to 255 for values -ve max and +ve max. My Arduino code excludes 0-127 as we can't do -ve (ish) and then maps 128-255 to values which on my seat corresponded to level-to-max lift, and you will need to work those out for your servo placement.

    See the extract below from the code I provided. For right heave 134 is neutral (actually a bit up from flat), 90 is max lift.

    const int kActuatorScale[kActuatorCount][4] = { { 134, 90 }, // Right Heave Actuator scaling NB: 6 up from neutral
    { 82, 126 }, // Left Heave Actuator scaling NB: ditto
    { 115, 70 }, // Right Surge scaling NB: Starting point is 30 forward of flat
    { 65, 110 } // Left Surge scaling NB: Ditto
    };

    So forget Simtools for a while and work out what Servo value= neutral (or 20% up) and what = max and then adjust the values above using that testing script I provided. Note that these Wingxine servos are a bit odd in terms of how they respond to values. They say its 0-360 they accept as input, but I found they clipped, i.e. 340 may be the same position as 360, so experiment first and see the range it really responds to. Also there are two jumper switch modes which affect the way they respond to input range. I think I changed the jumpers to the non default ones - I forget which it is now. The schematic shows this:

    wingxinemodes.JPG
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Balance:
    414Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    I’m using standard servos and plan to do a variant of that as well. I will first use the test RC code to set all the servo positions to zero and only after that, connect my Servo arms so that the flaps are in the desired position at rest. Then I will determine the max value and adjust the upper range as per @Spit40 ‘s explanation.
  11. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hmmm.... No matter what I change, it still seems to be pushing way too far. I will keep playing. :)

    Maybe I can limit it with the poton the control board. Still seems strange though that I can't get any change in what it does when I edit the "TestServoWrite". I tried changing all setting, just in case I was looking at the wrong servo, but still does not change anything.

    Update: Found it! At least to limit the movement. " int deg=45;" At 45* it moves more like 60*, way too much for how I have this put together. I tried 10, just to make sure, and sure enough, it limits it. So, now to find out the max I can use, set that, and maybe I will be able to actually get something out of it. LOL
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  12. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I have been doing a lot of playing around, trying to get settings that feel right. I was able to get a lot more movement out of it once I did the tuning. It helped a lot!

    So right now, I am working on the Surge only, heave will come later when I get legs on the chair. I have found that I get little to no output from roll or yaw. Roll is fine, as the Extra 2 seems to make up for that. Yaw is a bit confusing, and I am disappointed that I am not getting much of anything out of it.

    Even still, I think it is getting there. I am running:
    Surge: 30%
    Extra 2: 40%
    Extra 1: 30%

    This gives a good feel when rolling into a turn, as well as a sense of gravity when pulling up. Doing a stall, actually feels about right. Pushed into the seat while climbing, then let off at the peak. Pretty cool!

    Do these settings look about right compared to your seat. I know they are a little different, but very similar.

    Andrew
  13. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Roll is pretty much broken in FS2, but it isn't much use anyway. With a gseat (and others generally) you want acceleration forces rather than absolute angles.

    Surge and heave work
    Extra1 and extra2 for pitch/sec and roll/sec
    Extra3 for yaw/sec
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Does the smoothing do anything for you. Washout works, but I can feel no difference with smoothing off or 100%. The servos seem to jump from one point to the next, not a fluid movement, especially small movements. Are you seeing this too?

    Andrew
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,511
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,933Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,122 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please do not cross post about the same issue, it makes it way too hard to follow: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/smoothing-not-working.11525/
  16. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Work on your tuning - manually widen the range between max & min via the Tuning Centre, watch the numbers as you fly (non VR needed) and you can see what is happening to the numbers which should correlate to what you experience.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  17. hjr2

    hjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    I swear, every thread I click on in this forum blowns my mind. Now my Ikea chair is looking like a mod candidate. Thanks!
  18. Zeraxx

    Zeraxx Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Awesome project! Do you have any recent videos?
  19. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,523Coins
    Ratings:
    +469 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have finally finished my new rig (or let‘s say its first fully functional version) and did some first tests. The result is positive: I like the forces applied by the heave flaps. The distance of the hinges is about 22 cm, and for me the effect is convincing.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  20. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Can I double check that hinge placement for heave flaps? Is it like below? On my heave flaps the hinges are on the inside edges but are only 5cm apart so it is much more of a lift effect than a squeeze effect.

    Capture.JPG