1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Smoothing not working?

Discussion in 'SimTools Pro & Entertainment Version' started by Andrew Lawrence, Jan 18, 2018.

  1. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I am working on a prototype G-seat. The smoothing seems to do nothing. I get very abrupt but small movements, when I would think it should be smooth. No setting on smoothing does anything at all for me. Any help?

    Andrew
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,565
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please post pictures of all of your settings.

    Try washout in the <50% range.
  4. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Here are the screen shots of the settings. I have played with the washout, but it seems to take way to long to come back to neutral. I will play with it some more while you look at these.

    I am only working on the Surge flaps at the moment. Washsout is the same on all DOF. I have tried a number of positions in smoothing, but can feel no difference.
    settings 1.jpg

    Attached Files:

  5. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,988Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    Turn the "Return" speed up
  6. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    It feels better with no washout at all, but still feeling the chattering, I can hear it too. Smoothing seems to have no effect with washout off either.
  7. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,988Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    Turn it all the way up?
    If you getting "chattering" everywhere, use the Main slider in the Profile editor of Game Manger.
    It adds smoothing for all outputs in one full swoop!
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Yep, tried it all the way up. Also, have the main slider all the way up.

    Signing off for the night, but I will be working on it again tomorrow. Thank you both for the help.
  9. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,534Coins
    Ratings:
    +474 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Did you capture the max/min values via the TuningCenter? ‚Jumping motors’ remind me of one time I forgot this.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Just got the Heave servos installed and stuff. Still playing with things. I will get back with what I find. :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Back again. I have tried pretty much everything. I have done Tuning Center a bunch of times, messed with smoothing, washout, etc. Still no real effect. Maybe it is as good as it is going to get. Here is a video of the heave flaps. If you look and listen, when it is moving slow, you can see it move in like 1mm increments. It is noticeable when sitting in it. If anyone has any ideas, let me know.



    Andrew
  12. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,988Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    With 8bit output, you only get 255 stopping positions.
    Are you using RC servos by chance?
    Modified sketch for the Arduino?
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,723Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,844 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Simtools Smoothing won't help you here - like @yobuddy said, this is all about data resolution and also how the servos move from step to step and the length of your servo arms. FI, Here's a video of my old RC servo setup -

    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,723Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,844 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  16. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Yes, Aerofly 2 is the only one so far. For a car sim, it would probably be OK, but for an airplane sim, smoother would be better. I might try another game tonight.
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,723Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,844 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Shorter servo arms will reduce the effect, but you will have less movement. How the servo is moving from data point to data point is controlled by its internal electronics and feedback system. Not much you can do about that. From my experience, some servos have a more noticeable 'step' then others. This could be caused by the differences in their internal Electronics/Feedback system/PID resolution and algorithms.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
  18. Andrew Lawrence

    Andrew Lawrence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Corning NY
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Just an update, which may help others with this servo. There is a "sensitivity range adjustment" pot on the controller. Turning this to almost the off position then opening it just 1/8 to 1/4 turn seems to do the trick. It slows down the servo ever so slightly, and may reduce movement range a little. I made up for both of these in SimTools settings. The servos, at this setting, are butter smooth. No jerkey movements from one stop to the next. Very impressed with the difference.

    Thanks for the help all!
    • Winner Winner x 1