1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

X-Plane 11 6DOF motion platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SixDegreesOfFlight, Jul 10, 2017.

  1. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @noorbeast
    Thank you :thumbs I am sure you must be pretty tired of having to say that about axis allocation :rolleyes: I will reduce them eventually in order for the total will be in the vicinity of 100% total. I am trying these over allocations to see if I can get more roll without having to reduce the values in the tuning center. As I reduce the tuning center values, thereby increasing the 'gain', the aircraft response is not realistic and totally un-flyable. It may not be achievable but worth exploring at least. I know I don't need a lot of roll when in VR but I am just experimenting at the moment to find where the limitations are :thumbs
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you increase the Tuning Center value it will increase the amount of roll axis used and have a slower roll rate, which is what you are likely looking for.
  3. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ahhh OK :) That's counter intuitive. I will try it tomorrow. Thanks so much for your advice :cheers
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 2
  5. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    989Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Hey @SixDegreesOfFlight, when will you upload part 2 & 3?
    btw: i love your thread. It explains everything very detailed and clearly:thumbs
    It's especially helpful when you don't have a clue in a specific topic:rolleyes:
  6. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Oups...

    20180106_204511.jpg

    20180106_204606.jpg
  7. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, this works better.
    :D
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,526Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @SixDegreesOfFlight , did you use threadlock in your setup? Are all screws still firm in place?
  9. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @llluis No I didn't use threadlock. Nothing has come undone. Some bolts had nyloc nuts though.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    SimTools video part 2...

    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Ghenghix

    Ghenghix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I am a super noob and I realize I am responding to an old post, but this post struck a chord with me. I got that same feeling years ago playing the original FarCry. It looks nothing like the games nowadays, but the realism of some of those tropical island scenes were just so entrancing to me. I am not very deep into your thread but loving it so far!
  12. Remo Hug

    Remo Hug New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    83Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello SixDegreesOfFlight

    Where can i find the PDF from wannabeaflyer2, that you have named in the post above?

    Thx and regards
    Remo
  13. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  14. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Flight simulator engineer
    Location:
    Nantes France
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you so much for all the usefull information. I am starting a 6DOF Scale model platform using RC servos before I go for the full size one. I will most likely use a lot of the tips you shared here.
    By the way, any news regarding part 3 of the software description ?
    Cheers
  15. SixDegreesOfFlight

    SixDegreesOfFlight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Secondary Teacher: Systems Engineering & Computing
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    2,063Coins
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I am really out of the motion sim thing at the moment. We are selling the house and the platform has been disassembled. I took photos and created a little YouTube clip...



    I could be out of action for months now because the house has to be 'staged' with hired furniture - not sure if I will even have desk or internet connection!
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,813Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,582 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yep, played that game before - had to put most of our stuff in storage, but still had laptops/Ipads and a internet connection - my family would go mad without that:). Even after we sold the house had to rent before we could move into the new house as the settlement dates were very different. So allot of my stuff/'toys' were packed away for quite some time... :(.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A bit sad seeing all your hard work packed away, hopefully a new home is not far off.
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +686 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello @SixDegreesOfFlight . I just finished to read your thread. What a great source of informations. Thanks a lot, I'm sure to use many of your advise in the future. I hope you'll get your setup back up soon. Great stuff!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,394Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi ,
    Is it very important to have the 75 mm plate to prevent the twist?
    thanks a lot for your idea and works !:)
  20. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,394Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi ,
    I would like to know if you used always the same top end bearing ? and if yes , do you some scrach line on your tube !!! because my mine have some one and i start the project only ! How is it for a long term ... I must change for Igus 450$ ?....
    Thanks