1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. BAER

    BAER New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    washington
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    If you already have the emulator just run the new hotfix. It worked for me, after they updated SteamVR.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,626Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Many thanks. That fixed it straight away.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. matthew loomis

    matthew loomis Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    rochester,ny
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Just wanted to drop in and say this worked perfect on my Vive and project cars.:D
    • Like Like x 3
  4. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    great !! This is what I was hoping !! test on VIVE !!
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A bit of an update from my original comments on the subject, based on owning the Rift and Vive, plus doing lots of public VR demos.

    Price is now a significant factor following the Oculus price reduction, but it is not necessarily a determining one.

    It makes sense to choose the Vive if your choice is driven by above average or large roomscale, robust tracking, not wanting USB cables snaking everywhere, you plan early adoption of eye tracking, wireless and tracked peripherals, are considering motion simulation and want native motion cancellation, wear glasses or need greater adjustability for eye issues, or if you have a philosophical concern about Facebook and user data.

    Choose Oculus if your choice is driven by lower price, included audio, refined design, slightly larger sweet spot and slightly less screen door effect and you want native freebie/exclusives, or if you never plan on using tracked controllers.

    The Rift really benefits from a third sensor for roomscale but be aware it does not play nice with all USB ports or cables, plus other USB peripherals like wheels, pedals and HOTAS may complicate the USB bandwidth issues.

    The Vive controllers are great at simulating things, such as guns and swords, while Touch is better at simulating hands. Personally I prefer the Vive haptics and Oculus positional audio, but their respective counterparts are fine and not a deal breaker.

    The Vive wands can also be used in creative ways, such as a joystick, wheel or virtually any other input device: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/use-vive-wands-as-a-joystick-or-wheel.10452/

    With respect to tracking according to this data source less than 2% of Rift owners (4 cameras) experience comparative tracking with the Vive, and even then only reach those comparative figures over a much smaller tracked volume of less than 8sq m, with the average being only 3.3sq m, while the Vive average is a much more substantial 5.7sq m and can go out to an officially supported 12sq m: http://ghostline.xyz/publications/W...[{"num":1375,"gen":0},{"name":"XYZ"},0,595,0]

    In fact the Vive can actually do up to around 28-30+sq m with two base stations:


    My personal Vive playspace is big enough (8x4m) that I can also run my Rift in the area normally used by just the Vive:
    Youth Art.jpg

    I have and use both the Rift and Vive in lots of public demos and have had thousands of users. Last week was the Bay of Fires Youth Arts Prize, this week it is the State Youth Conference. In my experience there are far greater differences between individual users and use cases than there are between the Rift and Vive themselves. As a consumer you really can't go wrong with either the Rift or Vive HMD for first gen consumer PC VR, both will be superseded but that is at least a year or more off. The best thing is to try them both, preferably back to back, and then choose what suits you best, based on your own personal needs.

    There are other HMDs hitting the market later this year, which you may also want to consider, if you can wait.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    could i run only 1.0.3 update file? i dont have any other...
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  8. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As indicated in its title the hotfix is for the new SeamVR Home, which likely you will now have if Steam is up to date, as it has been rolled out.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. RobsonSwiss

    RobsonSwiss Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Preotria, South Africa
    Balance:
    - 48Coins
    Ratings:
    +198 / 2 / -0
    Hi

    Is it not possible to take the motion output data and subtract that from the headset movement, rather than to have a separate controller that does the subtraction?
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The HMD tracks the user head, the controller tracks the rig movement, you need both.
  12. RobsonSwiss

    RobsonSwiss Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Preotria, South Africa
    Balance:
    - 48Coins
    Ratings:
    +198 / 2 / -0
    I understand the principal of operation, my question is why track the motion platform since you are already sending the movement data, for instance if you are telling the motion platform to pitch 10 degrees, why not then inject that 10 degrees to the driver as well to subtract from the headset measurements.

    So right now it's: Motion sent to platform - platform moves - measurement sent to pc - subtract from headset data.
    Why not: Motion sent to platform - subtract motion sent to platform from headset data.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The motion data does not precisely measure the seat movement in 3D space, in fact the same data sent to very different designs would result in substantially different movement in 3D space. With sub mm VR tracking it is trivial to measure 1:1 where any design rig is moving.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. RobsonSwiss

    RobsonSwiss Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Preotria, South Africa
    Balance:
    - 48Coins
    Ratings:
    +198 / 2 / -0
    Thanks that makes sense...

    Btw, it's not really sub-mm... http://doc-ok.org/?p=1478 But I get that some rigs are likely to be a factor worse than that in any case.
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,509 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. RobsonSwiss

    RobsonSwiss Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Preotria, South Africa
    Balance:
    - 48Coins
    Ratings:
    +198 / 2 / -0
    If everyone tested at 2m or 4m you'll find different results from each user in any case due to manufacturing tolerances. Unfortunately valve's system isn't open or described in detail, I've thought about ways of trying to reduce the error but they might have already implemented these...

    I'm playing around with the idea of using a single beacon with 4 lasers(hard drive motor that I stripped, spins over 10Krpm but noisy beyond 6000rpm), I think 2mm would be well acceptable. I have mounting holes underneath to bolt it down on a rig but it's expensive to have the FPGA TDC dev work done, so might have to wait a bit.
    [​IMG]

    But since there is an Opentrack driver out for SteamVR I'm going to try that in the next couple of weeks and see if it's successful... if so I'll do a dedicated helmet.
  17. benmax

    benmax Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Balance:
    598Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    hi ,

    This is my simulator
    Now I use oculus rift instead the video projector as the video shows
    Ran the input emulator with hotfix installer
    Tested multiple setup combinaison but always the view bounces when acceleration or braking with assetto corsa.
    Maybe missed something in installation.
    Mounted the right touch just on my seat behind my head .
    One question :
    When i looked at the steam vr home window before launching the race , the right touch used as input controller not in green higlighted . Is it normal ?
    Look'at the pic attached :
    Anyway thanks for the guy who created the feature for simulator !
  18. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  19. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is because your control or vive track isnt green on highlights steam vr. You have a room scale back on your seat ? I mean.. new bases for room scale or recognize this control back on your seat
  20. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK