1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question starting simtools interface type with wiper motors.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Christopher.j.elliott, Aug 12, 2018 at 04:13.

Tags:
  1. Christopher.j.elliott

    Christopher.j.elliott Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    looking for a setup guide but no results. what would a wiper motor be listed under interface type in sim tools?
    only using one pc so dont think serial port would be the right match?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    86,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,290 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    How you set up the SimTools interface depends on the code and hardware you use to control the motors: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/arduino-code-for-use-with-various-hardware-and-simtools.31/

    I would suggest you try the SMC3 code, as it has a handy graphical app for configuring settings: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    Be aware that in most cases wiper motors need ground isolation: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/
  3. Christopher.j.elliott

    Christopher.j.elliott Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Thank you for te fast responee but im already through this. im trying to create the interface with smc3 and sim tools in the interface selection.
  4. Christopher.j.elliott

    Christopher.j.elliott Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    my question is what is the wiper motor listed as in the interface?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    86,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,290 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In that case follow the SMC3 instructions, set the Output Type to serial with the following, delete [C<Axis3a>] if using 2DOF:

    [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis3a>]

    Set for 10bit binary output

    Baud rate 500000 , N , 8 , 1 (10ms delay)
    • Informative Informative x 1