1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial SMC3 Arduino 3DOF Motor Driver and Windows Utilities

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by RufusDufus, Dec 1, 2013.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I suggest a 24v controller, like the Sabertooth, and 24v led PSU which are pretty cheap on Ebay.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. kevinmarz

    kevinmarz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Balance:
    70Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So,I guess i,m starting over..and getting sabertooth..motorboards..I,m cool with that..is there a wiring diagram for the sabertooth for a 3 dof..I was looking @ amazon for a 24 volt power supply is 600 watts good enough or will I need more...I,m still going with 60:1 and the motors you suggested ..thank you..
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Martin.Berger

    Martin.Berger Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Balance:
    343Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Guys,
    back again. I´ve a stupid problem. After a systemcrash i´ve lost my Arduino Code for SNC3. Does anyone have the code for download?
    My setup:
    Arduino Uno3
    Motormonster
    Thanks to all
    Martin
  5. Martin.Berger

    Martin.Berger Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Balance:
    343Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My detailed problem ist the following Respons when i check the code or upload it:
    upload_2019-12-27_20-39-10.png
    Any ideas?
    Thanks
  6. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,145Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,766 / 30 / -1
    Assuming you downloaded the latest sketch from the first post of this thread and didn't modify it the only thing I can think of right now is to check that you have Uno selected as your board in the programmer. If that doesn't work try using a different Uno.
  7. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm having a problem with Arduino serial port disconnecting. In order to fix it I keep having to exit the sim, kill the Game Engine then unplug and reconnect the Arduino then relaunch Game Engine. It's really annoying, anyone here experience this or know how to fix it?

    Thanks
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In what circumstances is it happening, a car crash or something else?
  9. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It disconnects before I enter the SIM but I have no idea so when I start driving it doesn't move.
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Any error messages?
  11. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    No error messages.

    The only way I can tell beforehand if it's working or not is to go into output testing before entering the SIM. If it's disconnected I'll just get a beep.

    I've been going into output testing before launching the game to check if it's working or not.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you tried swapping usb ports and cables?

    What about Windows logs?
  13. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes I am using a different cable now and I've tried different usb ports. I have not lo
    Yes I'm using a different USB cable and tried several different ports.

    No, haven't looked at windows log, where do I find that, what am I looking for?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Click on Windows start button and search for Event Viewer.
  15. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I found the Event logs but not sure how to make sense of all this, what am I looking for?

    One other thing I should mention is when it is not working I open the device manage and the Arduino is still there listed under com12 as normal with no warning or anything beside it.
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are there error messages in the logs that coincide with the disconnects and if so what is the error message?

    Interference or power spikes could cause disconnects, along with faulty cables r ports. You could try a car battery to see if it is power spikes.

    Good cable management and appropriately sized clip on ferrite magnets can help reduce interference: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?LH_...sacat=&_sadis=&_sop=12&_udhi=&_udlo=&_fosrp=1
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @RufusDufus

    did you consider an Arduino with more pins so you can run 6 or more actuators ?

    regards
  18. Petemnz

    Petemnz Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Sparky by Trade
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This worked great now feedback reaches limit levels for clip and motor cut - (I changed to 1.5 scale range suit my setup) - Thanks
  19. giorgionrg

    giorgionrg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi everyone. I'm a new forum member. congratulations for the works, they're amazing. After years i decide to begin my 2dof project. I'm not very smart with arduino and coding in general...
    I'm trying to follow the guides of this forum, but a i'm little bit confused.
    My setup consist in:
    -Arduino Uno;
    -2x Monster MotorShield;
    -2x Psu HP 600pb 575W:
    -2x Bosch wiper motor.

    My intent is to use 1 motorshield for each motor.
    These are the connection that i made:

    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 1
    2 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    3 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    9 (Motor 1 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)
    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 2
    4 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    5 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    10 (Motor 2 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)

    Furthermore i connected the two potentiometer to A0 and A1 with the relative supplies.

    The code loaded on the arduino is the SMC.ino v1.0.

    now, when i turn on, nothing happens.

    Where did I go wrong? I forgot something?

    Thankyou in advance for the precious help.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,993
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,686 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I suggest you use the SMC3code, as it has a handy app for doing the configuration, and extensive setup instructions: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    Most wiper motors require ground isolation, so make sure that is done before anything else: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/

    Similarly, if you are using clone MMs then test them before use, as often they are faulty: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/