1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Setting Yaw VR to work correctly with DCS World

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Kenan, Mar 24, 2021.

  1. Kenan

    Kenan New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Hey gents!

    I did search the site before posting this but was unable to find the solution for my problem.

    Anyway, I'm using the DCS plugin for Simtools (downloaded from this site) and most of it works fine in DCS, except for this weird problem I'm having with, what it appears to be, reversed/mixed Axis.

    Namely, ingame, the Pitch axis behaves like a Roll axis and vice versa: the Roll axis behaves like Pitch.

    For example, when I pull the stick back, Yaw Vr rolls to the right, if I pull it forward, it rolls to the left. If I try to roll to the left, YawVR pitches up and rolling to the right results in YawVR pitching down.

    I did perform in-game axis capturing via the Tuning Center, and this is what my current setup looks like:
    tuning center.JPG
    axis assignments.JPG

    In the second thumbnail there is no Pitch axis. I did add it but it didn't make any difference. It appears that the Axis assigned does not do what it actually should i.e. in my case, the Sway axis appears to act as Roll axis etc.

    Are there any Yaw VR users out there willing to share their DCS World setup in Simtools. I must say I have very little understanding on how the Simtools setup work. I just can't seem to figure it out. It appears as if, at least some of the axis are just mixed-up/reversed.

    Thanks.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,895
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,683 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am not a YawVR owner, so here are some comments and resources that hopefully are helpful.

    Grab a copy of the SimTools manual and keep it handy for reference: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    The DIR boxes in Axis Assignments being checked orange or not determine which way each axis moves.

    @Marc Fdx has a guide for SimTools interface: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simtools-interface-driver-for-yawvr.15888/

    @hannibal has posted YawVR DCS settings: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/yawvr-users-my-dcs-world-configuration.14646/
  4. Kenan

    Kenan New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    None of those links addressed the issues I outlined in my initial post.
    My axis are completely wrong. As previously noted, the Roll axis behaves for YawVR as Pitch, i.e. when I move my stick left and right, YawVR goes UP and DOWN.

    Pitch assignment does absolutelly nothing BUT the Heave acts actually as a Pitch i.e. when ingame I pull the stick back or push it forward, YawVR rolls left or right.

    So, as you can see, everything is completely messed up. Simply changing directions i.e. checking the boxes won't do the trick. This just defies logic...and I'm not sure how to deal with this. I assume, there are YawVR users who do not have these issues or have figured out what's the problem?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,895
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,683 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As a customer your first point of call should actually be YawVR.

    But hopefully YawVR owners such as @Marc Fdx and @hannibal will chime in when they get the auto notification about your difficulties, as members here tend to be as helpful as they can be.
  6. Kenan

    Kenan New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    I apologize if I made you feel your efforts were not appreaciated. It's just a little frustrating trying to figure out these things.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,895
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,683 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No sweat, I don't feel under appreciated, rather I am just encouraging you to ensure YawVR is the primary support entity, as for commercial rigs that is not the role of this community: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...and-obligations-of-commercial-entities.14837/

    And I have tagged 2 YawVR members who may be able to help and who will get an auto notification, hopefully they and other YawVR members will chime in with advice when they can: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/tag-a-member.73/
  8. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    what game are you playing?
    so far i only have my yawVR setup for nolimits2 and DCS world.

    DCS world i use simtools2 to tie telemetry to the yaw.
    NoLimits2, i use the yawVR game engine (simtools not need for this roller coaster game)

    i can share my DCS world settings if you like @Kenan
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  9. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    note: for DCS i used to use the yawVR game engine for telemetry, but i see from the yawVR config app, the pointers jump around alot, so i went back to SimTools and it is much more stable for the telemetry.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Kenan

    Kenan New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    109Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Yeah sure, I would apreaciate that! :)
  11. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Usually you'd set it up like:
    Axis1a is for yaw
    Axis2a is for pitch, surge, & heave
    Axis3a is for roll, & sway

    You should come over to the YawVR discord so we can get this setup properly.
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    sorry for delay. i been working on stuff related to DCS world. but this is my settings to get my yawVR to work with DCS world using simtools. @Kenan

    Attached Files:

  13. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    also. if you are going to edit you .lua file.. i suggest that you use notepad++. using basic text editor can add wonky things when saving
  14. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Those limit settings don't make much sense to use with YawVR.

    For the limits you are showing in the YawVR config app, simtools limiting should be:
    Axis1a 14% (which is 14% of 360° or 50.4°)
    Axis2a 11% (39.6°)
    Axis3a 11% (39.6°)

    Then in axis assignments the percentages make sense. They'll be a percentage of the total travel available for each axis.

    Or you could just use the easy YawVR interface fresh_ch posted here. It will scale the simtools limiting perfectly to match your YawVR limits. Then you leave the simtools axis limiting all at 100%.

    Also 30% power is very, very low. You can tame it down with profiles in simtools if it is too rough.
  15. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    thanks for the
    i dont have a problem with my settings.. but i like what you have to say, can you make a photo of YOUR SETTINGS with all the screens similar to my photo? i dont mind to try your settings, you have more yawVR experience than i do.
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2021
  16. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    is there a link for YawVR interface fresh_ch @KydDynoMyte ?
    as u know, the forum is huge..
  17. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Luckily not a lot of YawVR posts to search through yet making it hard to find. Sorry guess his username is different here.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simtools-interface-driver-for-yawvr.15888/#post-214481

    Now if you use the latest one, you'll want to set all your simtools axis limiting to 100%. The interface will see what limits you set with the yawvr config app and scale the min/max tuning center game data into those limits. So the percentages on the axis assignments page will make sense. If you give a force 75% of an axis, it'll have 75% of the available travel on that axis.

    I might be able to figure out and convert the other settings you have so the motion matches up to what you currently have. It's not that what you already have isn't working for you, it's that you can't share profiles and use other profiles if they weren't from a similar starting base setup. The min/max data scales into the limit range, so the tuning center numbers would need to be changed too to get the same exact feeling you currently have.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    you dont have to match my settings.. just show me the settings you have.. if anything, i want to match your settings...