1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Playseat Revolution to 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dr.feelgood, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    I got cheap playseat and decided to make it rumble. First idea was to only add some strength and needed supports, but it was too weak to keep nothing but adjustable pedal base and the seat itself (it is light in my opinion).

    First I thought that full frame with monitors in it will be moving, but I got wiser while reading this forum :)

    So I will be full frame w/o monitors.

    List of components I have:
    - 2 cheapest wiper motors from local autopartsdealer, power only 30w (to make POC)
    - arduino mega
    - cv-joint from vw
    - small ball-joint to actuators
    - gaming pc
    - Logitech G25-wheel
    - PlaystationVR, IF THIS WORKS..... or to be changed to 3 x 24 inc monitors (I got already 2 of them)

    Parts ordered:
    - 4 monster moto shields to drive motors
    - 10k pots

    I am doing metal works mostly from 30x30mm square tube and add some adjustability with 25x25mm tube inside bigger one.

    Some pictures to come...
    aloitus (3).JPG
  2. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    the beginning...
    aloitus (12).jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    376Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Looking good.

    Are you planning to adjust the pedals or the seat? Adjusting the seat moves the balance point too much which in not recommended. Move the pedals if needing adjustability.
  4. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm doing both, in picture you see balancer under seat and pedals length is also adjustable. Just in case...

    I'm considering to use about 30cm distance from joint to actuator point.

    Are you guys using same length to both x-a and y-axel ? Should one or the other movement to be 'bigger' ?
  5. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm trying to put joint as up to a** as possible :) Actuators is going to be front side of the seat to minimise bending ie. loss of movement.

    aloitus (13).jpg
  6. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi again, today:

    Base and pivot
    aloitus (18).jpg

    Max tilt
    aloitus (20).jpg

    Doing motor mount and lever thing...
    P1000625.jpg

    Nearly there...
    P1000627.jpg

    ... and ready for movement tests
    P1000630.jpg
  7. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Motion test was okay (not all mass over it...)

    Now I'll have to wait to get motor drivers and pots from 'internet'. I also need to go and get powersupplys, which I have few choices and those give over 100 Amps to 12V. All I need to get schemas how to power them on...

    I got a third 24-inc monitor, so I will return that Playstation VR, because it's not working as I expect... and I don't have PS4.

    I did some dry-tests with Dirt Rally and 5760x1080 res, and luckily my pc performed quite okay.

    Couple questions, if somebody sees this:

    - Do I need second pc for simtools or is it just option (just curious, not a problem)
    - Is there other software like simvibe to add more vibration/feel via shaker?


    ToDo this weekend:
    - Bold seat and wheel on place and do some weight balancing
    - Make a stand for those three monitors

    - Drive without motions :(

    Then hopefully most welding and grinding is done (not all because there is no places for those electric parts yet).
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
  8. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    I'm able to answer your first question which is that a second PC is optional. But not sure about the answer to your other questions however I'm sure someone more knowledge than me will respond soon.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,258
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi! Thanks for that info, those are great news.

    I screwed my rig together... Made a stand for my monitors and adjusted them about reasonable distance from my eyes...
    P1000640.jpg

    Drove a few rally races and everything seemed to be ok.

    But.... The only thing i watched while making the monitor-stand was that my pedals has enough play, so it was kind of okay... wheel space is not okay! Movements are limited because wheel stand clips on sides.

    Solution would be to raise monitor-stand -> that don't want to do, they should be even lower for better feeling. Scrub the stand and make monitors in 'hanging position'... not very pleasing. I'll have to rethink this.. :(

    I wish i had started making only moving seat, not pedals and wheel...
    • Like Like x 1
  11. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    Maybe an option would be to turn the rig and face the wall. Then you could use wall brackets for the monitors if they have the fixing points for them? This would get rid of the desk.
    Articulated wall mounts are reasonably cheap to buy and will allow you to position the monitors exactly as you like.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hmm, there are two problems. First my legs goes behind monitors a lot and i don't want to fix this set anywhere. Actually i'm going to add small wheels which can be lowered and lifted to move the rig...
  13. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Today I took monitor-stand partly apart and did some measurements. I figured that those monitors can be applied without their own legs. Side monitors don't have vesa-standard mounts, but it's doable... Middle monitor is the easy one with 100x100mm holes on back of it.

    --> Quick & Dirty DIY

    From straight to angled base:
    P1000645.jpg

    Then i did hinges so there is some adjustability:

    P1000648.jpg

    Side monitor fixing:
    P1000652.jpg

    Result:
    P1000650.jpg

    And in the front of my Playseat from birds eye view:
    P1000656.jpg

    ... got to go driving again! Where the heck is my order of MM-drivers, sigh...
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    It is loooong time to wait all the rest parts to come. I got MM's, but i'm still missing pots.

    I got my arduino loaded with SMC3 and some wiring done. Initial tests i will do by taking power from car battery just because it is quiet.

    I did prepare one Dell 2100w powersupply and man, that thing is loud with its 3 fans :) I did a short check and those fans are not easy modify with ptc resistor silencer which i have from some desktop chassis...

    Already looking for some tune-ups with motors and pot to hall preparations.... we'll see those later.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    After testing with temporary pots i don't get any movement on motors... I already tested with 2 different MM's (they were powered on, led was lid). Is this picture of connections still valid with SMC3 v0.7 ?

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/attachments/motomonstersetup-jpg.10992

    And is the only thing that needs to change on configuration Simtools 2 with axis: Axis1 -> Axis1a ?

    I really don't get what to do with axis-b tab on Simtools, does it need any config?

    I see on Arduino side that pot's do work, i see it on some window that i don't remember just now :)

    Oh well, back to garage to scratch my head...
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,258
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes i have red documentation and faq and all the stuff i found :)

    But i made some progress that i know my hardware works, i tried racingmat's arduino code and it can move motors with pot's. There is only one problem, because i have 2nd motors pot only 1k.

    So i think problem has to be software related ?!

    Few pictures here, interface (com3 works):
    P1000731.jpg

    P1000732.jpg
    SMC3-util, when i turn pots, i noticed that it did cut 1. motor, but it never turned either motor...

    P1000737.jpg 2.
    P1000738.jpg

    tx-rx blinks on Arduino-board:

    P1000740.jpg

    How to debug this further ?
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,258
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: May 14, 2017
  19. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    379Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hmmm, that is not at all what documentation says when working with MM? I'm totally lost here :)

    But changing % at Axis setup does nothing new (i had values there earlier, not when taking pic). I took predefined profiles also with no luck.

    When i start Output test, only RX-led blinks on Arduino, no TX at all (visible to eyes). No movement on motors.

    Should i be able to move motors with SMC3 Util ?
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,258
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK