1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

New motor driver , not sure I've seen it before ?

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by SilentChill, May 18, 2020.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,796Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,364 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    https://www.robotshop.com/uk/cytron...cebook&utm_medium=Paid&utm_campaign=ProdCatUK


    Looks pretty decent :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. cgodwin

    cgodwin Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon
    Balance:
    2,393Coins
    Ratings:
    +268 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Pretty expensive, although less than a pair of JRK's. I love the built in fans and it sounds like it would be hard to blow. Need to add an Arduino to run it, which shouldn't be a problem for most people. Also great is the 45V maximum so you can easily handle a 24V motor which the JRK and MM's can't do. I'm starting early planning for my next build and I would certainly consider using these drivers - especially if I end up with 24V motors instead of 12V. 24V at 60 amps per channel would allow for a really powerful motor.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,113
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,509Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,789 / 31 / -1
    I thought so too so I bought their 30 amp smartdrive to test with. The also have a 160 amp controller if necessary :cool:. They don't give information back like the sabertooth 2x32 can however. If they work good though the new PID controller I'm writing named Awesom-O will support them :).

    I also very much like the fact that they are made in Malaysia and not China!
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: May 19, 2020
  5. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,027Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,026 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    866
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    6,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    866
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    6,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +190 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  8. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    292
    Balance:
    1,775Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Just came across these when looking for some controllers. Gonna give em a try. They will be driving my lower amp stuff so i dont need any data from em. I got 2x sabers 32s for that.

    Question though, are they easy to use with the SMC3 sketches? I see they are serial and use 4 wires on first glance. Perhaps 4x MD30C would be a better choice for me?

    Great to hear you are working on a new PID!
    Last edited: May 31, 2020 at 19:56
  9. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,173
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,027Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,026 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I modified the SMC3 sketch for my two MD30C, you can find it here where you will also find some more infos. @p00ky is using it for his MDDS30 (that drives two motors)
    • Like Like x 1