1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

new 2DoF SCN5 build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by dirigible, Oct 8, 2021.

  1. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3D printing an enclosure... unfortunately I don't have access to a 3D printer. I've been waffling on getting one for a long time, but honestly I don't need one often enough to justify it. That being said, I found an old, compact desktop PC in my garage that is just collecting dust. I think I'm going to gut it and use the case for my enclosure.
  2. hideki

    hideki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Man, there must be many 3D printer services that might do that piece for you, but that case you found will work more than ok.
    At the end I didnt see those bumpers ;).
    Another thing. Be careful when you seat, do it gently and not in the border of the seat. Those SCN5 have a "pin" that connects the rod to the motor and it breaks easyly and its hard to repair (not imposible).
    keep posting fotos if you feel like
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    When I put leverage on the seat in one direction or another, it extends/retracts the corresponding SCN5 rods manually. Is this bad for the actuators? Will they calibrate automatically when power is applied?
  4. hideki

    hideki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    When there is no power you can move them manually, no problem with that.
    Simtools will extend them to the maximum and minimum and then stop in the middle.
    Try no to seat when there is no power and be gentle when there is. If you seat fast those pins can break.
  5. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    I'm pleased to announce that my sim is up and running in Live for Speed! I'm using the default profile for the actuators as shown in the SimTools manual (surge & sway @ 50%) and it seems very muddy. It's jerky motion, almost as though the actuators are working against eachother at times. I'm going to spend some time tweaking over the next few days and see what I can figure out on my own, but I suspect I'm going to need some assistance with this. There seem to be a variety of locations to configure motion profiles, and I'm not sure how they differ from one another.
    To clarify, this is a 2DoF simulator, so I can assign only 2 dimensions in the Axis Assignments? The software takes care of combining these forces to move the seat diagonally?
    20211116_203059.jpg
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The first thing to do is grab a copy of the SimTools manual and keep it handy for reference: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    Then check out the these motion profile tuning tips in the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    While you only have 2DOF you can simulate some extra axis, like heave and surge, which greatly enhances the experience. So you should use and configure sway, surge, roll, pitch and heave.
  7. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Thanks! Yes, I've been working with the manual, but it doesn't do a good job of explaining how the Axis Assignment functions work. I've been able to get a much smoother function using one of the presets as opposed to manually just setting Sway/Surge. It's a better starting point.
  8. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    I'm jumping the gun a little here, but I'm already looking ahead to adding traction loss. How far in an arc does the seat have to travel for the driver to feel traction loss?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See the FAQs here, average is somewhere in the range of 200-300mm total: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss.174/
  10. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    I think my rig is complete, with the exception of some monitor placement tweaking, cable management and an H-pattern shifter that I just ordered (which will clamp to the rails on the base that support the steering frame). I covered the base with vinyl-backed utility carpet, and this makes it very comfortable and less DIY-feeling. I've got Live for Speed running well, and I'm just starting to set up Assetto Corsa. I'm also looking forward to trying No Limits 2 with my Oculus Quest 2.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  11. hideki

    hideki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    nice but try to place the the motors in a diagonal just changing the rod ends connection: on top (seat structure) in the inside, on the botton (rig structure) in the outside. Yours motors are completelly parallel. Take a look at the simxperience rigs much wider at the botton that the rest o brands (Frex etc) Sorry my English is not good enough to explain that better...
  12. dirigible

    dirigible New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    166Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    It may be hard to see in the pbotos, but the SCN5s are at about a 10 degree angle outward from the seat to the base (the recommended range is 10-15 deg). Flipping the mount puts the angle just above 15 deg. I've tried it both ways, and you're right, the increased angle feels a little (but not much) better.
    • Like Like x 1