1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Need Help with Pololu Vnh5019

Discussion in 'Ready, set, go - Start your engines' started by TheLittleGnome, Jun 15, 2020.

  1. TheLittleGnome

    TheLittleGnome New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi,

    does anyone drive a 2DOF with an Arduino and pololu Vnh5019 driver? Need help with the code, probably the pin assignment.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,088
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. TheLittleGnome

    TheLittleGnome New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,088
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That thread covered the connections and limitation of the vnh5019.

    You likely need to be more specific of what you have and have not done, using what hardware and code. That way the likes of @Pit may be able to give specific advice.
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,033
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,100Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,076 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The VNH5019 is quite easy to configure and works as long not too much power is needed (as @noorbeast mentioned, the VNH5019 show some limitations). Anyway if you want any help I need more information about your settings, hardware, wiring etc.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Yooorglh

    Yooorglh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hello,

    I'm using VNH5019 too. i did follow the https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/
    especially the use of the SMC3 Utils. i get the motor to turn, driving the pot and stopping nicely ! but... there is always a but. it doesn't turn in reverse (using the "motion" option).
    i tested the motor alone and it can turn in both direction.
    i tested being on M2 config (changing the wiring of course)... Same,
    i'm using the SMC3.ino stock. Zero change in it as VNH5019 has same pin numbering (according arduino forum)
    Honestly, i did not read the 103ish pages... but i do search with "VNH5019" keyword without success...

    Anyone faced the same issue (even with a monster moto) ?

    Thanks for your help
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,088
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are you using Wiper motors and if so are they ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Yooorglh

    Yooorglh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hello,

    thanks for helping, yes, i checked with the multimeter. it is a one speed and 2 wire only for testing purpose.
    btween ground and each wire there is no "bip" ^^'
    i took some picture. maybe it will help.

    Attached Files:

  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,088
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just to clarify, has the wiper motor been pulled apart and ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/

    See this video from about 6 minutes in for a visual explanation:
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Yooorglh

    Yooorglh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    sooo. i rechecked :p

    no issue on the motor. I expected it was the pot because when it should go backward, the led should light up but it was not the case. replaced and same happen... now i'm thinking maybe it is the Vnh5019. So i ordered another one.
    I'll change the arduino and cable to see if something change...

    I'll keep you posted ^^

    PS : nice compact sim build !! plenty of idea to grab !!
  12. Yooorglh

    Yooorglh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    hum...

    it seems that the black connector are not connected the driver... I fixed the cable as shown on the picture (instead of where it should be at the red cross) and it works !!!

    what a s..t it was supposed to be directly connected on an Arduino without any cable and it is even worth...

    thanks @noorbeast to have supported me anyway !

    next : make it work with Simtools !

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. Yooorglh

    Yooorglh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hello,

    Everything works. is it possible to update the 1st post warning that the pin numbering of the SMC3 is not fully matching the internal trace of the VNH5019 so it is not stackable.
    I don't know if only changing the Pin numbering at the beggining of the .ino file is good enought

    in attachement the pin matching in green / not matching in red

    sorry for my English, i'm french :p

    Attached Files: