1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My 6DOF with DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Vitalius, Sep 1, 2018.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,279Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino

    Hello gadget 999, thanks for the tip. These power supplies are really cheap on Ebay as used goods. Can you recommend me here a thread in the forum, where Dell power supplies are treated? I suppose I need two of them 12V x 2 = 24V in series or?


    take a look here -- https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-power-supply-for-12v.5774/page-4#post-143867

    you may find that 12v may be enough with a high current
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,771
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,687 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    LED power supplies are another cheap option on ebay and they are not as sensitive to power spikes as computer PSUs, plus you can get them in 24V
  3. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Help! Can someone please tell me how to transfer the settings in SimTools to Arduino?
    And why can not I turn off the motors via button? Have a video

    made.

    (SMC3 tool is started with admin rights and firewall is off)

    Have read this tutorial. Unfortunately, there is nothing like the settings (PWMmin, PWMmax, PWMrev ... and so on) to be entered in Arduino firmware or where. I hope I have not overlooked in tutorial.
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2018
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,680
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,199Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,453 / 30 / -1
    I think the correct link got broken on the smc3-sps thread when hyperlinks got broken before being restored but here you go.
    SMC3 Arduino 3DOF Motor Driver and Windows Utilities

    Edit: Link in SMC3- SPS thread fixed.
  5. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thank you, looks very similar. I read the same through and I hope I can answer my questions.
  6. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,680
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,199Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,453 / 30 / -1
    When you make changes with smc3 utilities it also uploads them to the arduino.
  7. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    OK that's easy :thumbs, I searched all the time for a button or command. One rarely finds good software that transfers data automatically.
    Can you please tell me in which variables these values are stored in Arduino source code? Thank you
  8. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi, finally I got there. But my engine has got twitches.
    I read about it here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/#post-48121
    "FPID / Standardmäßig führt die PID - Schleife 4000 Berechnung Updates pro Sekunde. Dieser Teiler ermöglicht es Ihnen , die Anzahl der PID - Berechnungen pro Sekunde durch die geteilte Menge zu reduzieren. Manchmal kann dies helfen , wenn die Motorwicklungen hörbare Geräusche produzieren. Die Anzahl von ca. Calcs pro Sekunde ist in der Mitte der unteren SMC3 Utils Fenster angezeigt. (Dies kann ein wenig herum springen , da es nur ein Indikator ist)"

    Und auch hier: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/
    "10.Set Fpid to / 1. (If you experience motor twitching or other issues then try increasing it)"

    I tried to increase fpid, it only got worse.
    Here is a video of it


    Has anyone an idea of the reasons why?
    Can this possibly be due to pot interference? Disorders?
    I soldered contacts from Poti to Arduino!
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,680
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,199Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,453 / 30 / -1
    I can't make out your deadzone setting. Have you tried increasing it?
  10. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Deadzone Setting is currently stands at 1
    I try to increase this value tomorrow.
  11. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I almost solved my problem.
    Potentiometer rewired with shielded cable and soldered. Also at the Arduino Uno I lost all contacts. In addition, an electrolytic capacitor 0,47 μF 160V between 5 volts and GND was attached. And here is the result:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Potentiometer line has now become pretty straight

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  12. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Did something good yesterday for my Sabertooth 2x60 made.
    Now awful insulating tape can go away. Maybe someone will find the insulating protection useful.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    IsolierSchutz_skp.rar

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,680
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,199Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,453 / 30 / -1
    Nice work. I've always thought it quite asinine that DE didn't do anything to keep wires from shorting out on the 2x60's heat sink if you insert them just a hair bit to far. :thumbs
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,279Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    How fast are the actuators ? Can you measure the mm/s

    Can we see a video of the smc3 test output
  15. Vitalius

    Vitalius New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Balance:
    - 130Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi gadget999, I convert everything into a housing. When I'm ready, I'll answer your questions.
    • Winner Winner x 1