1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My 3DOF motion simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Cameron Olson, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ahhh so basically Traction loss has the pivot point futher away from center. Yea thats what I'm playing on doing
  2. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Surge and heave increased. Its definitely the higher surge values that are causing motor overheating. Final thoughts?

    1618795284136_Capture.JPG
    2Capture.JPG
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The % totals are getting a bit high: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    What are your Tuning Center settings and did you capture the Max/Min values?

    At a guess I would suggest a much lower surge Axis Assignment, but more refined Tuning Center values for all axis.

    Also what filters are you using? In most cases I would suggest not using filters until the rest of the motion profile is sorted.

    See the motion tuning tips in the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  4. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Here are my tuning settings and yes captured max/min values from that track in that car.
    3Capture.JPG

    Only filters im using are small amounts of smoothing. And for surge only boundary 75
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,753Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,024 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Was are the specs for the motors/gearboxes?
  6. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  7. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I think the front 2 potentiometers might have been too tight. Back to testing...
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,753Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,024 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks, with the motors overheating it looks like it's underpowered. You could try some struts to offset load.
  9. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'll have to weld on some mounts so they are straight up and down but my ghetto quick fix upside-down pneumatic door closers are working pretty decently to take off some of the load
    20210419_210428.jpg
  10. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    How hot should these motors be getting. After one 4 mile track in DR 2.0 they are barley warm to the touch after running the same track again they are too hot to keep my hands on them for long. Any other bright ideas or am I going to have to turn down settings until they run cooler? Also the Cytron motor driver boards are getting hot as well at the terminal connections.. kinda running out of ideas here.
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Motors getting too hot to touch is way too warm.

    A full frame rig including monitor is a fair load on DC motors. It is important it is really well balanced and the mass kept to the minimum possible. Is your top frame COG, with you in it and all peripherals attached dead center of all 3 motors?

    Personally I used spring assist on my compact 3DOF VR rig for those reasons, I can run it all day and the 200W 60:1s barely get warm: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dx-compact-simulator.5866/
  12. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    If any with me in it COG is more towards the back and that motor is always cool. Is the spring assist the thing in the middle of your rig pics?
  13. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Do you think flipping the front 2 cranks to the opposite side might help? So they point right instead of left in the pic
    20210419_233234.jpg
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes the adjustable spring assist is in the middle of my rig, but is a different design approach to the same issue.

    Yes I do expect flipping the cranks on all motors may improve leverage. Reducing the CTC length of the crank should also help, trading a little linear speed for torque, with the latter being more important in this sort of design.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I really don't want to shorten the cranks because of all the disassembly but it may come down to that. Currently they are 70mm from center of motor shaft. How much shofter do you think I should go?
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try the other options first, but worst case give 50mm CTC a go and see what difference it makes.
  17. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I had some trouble removing the potentiometer gear and my have broken the potentiometer. Would this cause the motor not to turn even when using a battery to manually turn it? In smc3 it says its on, I can hear the motor running green pot line will move up and down but even on manual if I move the slider nothing happens... shit
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A pot gives positional feedback information, so f it is broken that may be the issue.
  19. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    84
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    But if I remove the pot gear and disconnect the motor from all power sources shouldn't the battery be able to turn the crank arms?
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes a motor should be able to be powered directly from a power source, with all other controls removed.