1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
Icy7CE

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 Plugin 1.1.3.0

SimTools Plugin for Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,773
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,885Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,632 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of your Interface Settings.

    Do not bother with game plugins until SimTools works as expected in Output Testing.

    Unless you are using something like SCNs don't alter Axis Limiting from 100%.

    Do not bother with filters until SimTools is working, a Default profile has been properly configured, and a game profile has been fully sorted using these tips: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Grab the SimTools manual here and keep it handy for reference: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    Once Output testing is working the Axis should be configured to what SimTools expects: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/
  2. tracer98_0

    tracer98_0 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    - 87Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hi, I have the issue, that my 3DOF is rapidly changing position, when entering the FS2020 main menu (straight to lean back position). Same when changing from the main menu to the load page (into straight position aagin) and then when pressing the ready to fly button (lead or straight depending on aircraft).

    Is there any chance to reduce the position transiting speed?
    I already reduce the Startup/resume and Shutdown Speed to 2% in the Simtools tools menu without any changes happening.

    Thanks!
  3. Icy7CE

    Icy7CE Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,900Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    For some reason, the game outputs unpredictable motion data when switching between menus. I would recommend using the on/off button in GameManager to disable motion until you are ready to fly.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  4. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,684
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,970 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Mine has never done this.., although I have not been on the sim for a few weeks.
  5. DZSchneider

    DZSchneider New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Toronto
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Does anyone have any further information on whether the MSFS outputs are being added to? Specifically, would love to see accelerations that include the g component (or even better, calculated from the pilot's position).
    Saw an old post about it on the MSFS forum from September but haven't kept up to date.
  6. DZSchneider

    DZSchneider New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Toronto
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @Dirty was kind enough to do some digging and apparently SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y would provide correct heave behavior (i.e. +1g at straight and level, -1g inverted straight and level.

    @Icy7CE, any chance of a build of the plugin with that change for the heave axis, please?
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Dirty

    Dirty Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Occupation:
    All the way up front.
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    6,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +662 / 1 / -0
    Hey :),

    Yes, "SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y" is the FS2020 sim variable for (proper) vertical acceleration and it delivers the correct data. I would love to know who in the world came up with this variable name. Must've been some real pros at work there.

    The -X and -Z components are at least listed in the SimConnect interface, however they do not export any data, only zero-values. I hope that at some point Asobo fill them with actual data. I posted this on the FS2020 support forums, but as you can imagine, we (motion sim builders) are a small crowd. If you want to support this with an upvote, here's the link.

    As a potential workaround, I think the complete set of proper accelerations can perhaps be derived from geographical coordinates together with barometric data. If they use doubles for those variables, the precision could be sufficient and the data IS available :thumbs. If there's someone out there willing to put some work and effort into this, I'd be willing to help along with the math. It's not trivial, but certainly feasible.

    I haven't had time to take a closer look into this plugin. Would you tell me which values in FS2020 you use?

    Cheers,.. Dirty :)
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Icy7CE

    Icy7CE Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,900Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Right now the plugin uses ACCELERATION BODY Z, ACCELERATION BODY X, and ACCELERATION BODY Y for surge, sway, and heave respectively. According to the documentation that I was looking at, these are the accelerations relative to the aircraft axes. Interestingly, that documentation doesn't even include SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y.

    I could change the heave axis, but it might not feel right if surge and sway aren't changed. What do you think?
  9. Dirty

    Dirty Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Occupation:
    All the way up front.
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    6,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +662 / 1 / -0
    Hey :),

    The documentation you are referring to is from P3D :). But that makes almost no difference, given that FS2020 and P3D still share a large part of their code.

    I have done some searching: It looks like back in the days before FSX they had "SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR X/Y/Z" as a variable but when the code went to Lockheed Martin they eventually removed it from P3D. Here's a statement from a Lockheed Martin employee saying that it is obsolete and should be removed from the P3D SDK.
    Screenshot 2021-01-22 at 21.35.12.png

    I have to admit, when I looked into the FS2020 SDK, the description of "ACCELERATION BODY X/Y/Z" virtually screamed at me: "Use me for motion cueing". I mean, in aviation there are certain naming conventions and I would immediately have assumed that those are the proper accelerations in the vehicle reference frame.

    But @hexpod told me of some strange behaviours. And indeed, the numbers we saw were not making any sense. I don't know how they calculate the data in those variables, but it's definitely not (virtual) accelerometer data, that's for sure! I checked again just last night and it seems nothing has changed.

    BTW, it might still be the case that people have fun driving their rigs with that data. It's just not the data that one would want to use if the correct data were available.

    I think I see no reason why it should be a problem. Give it a try.

    I can definitely confirm that SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y is the vertical acceleration in the vehicle reference frame and it is the data that I would use directly for example for G-seats. If using it for the heave axis I would apply a 1st order HP filter, followed by a 2nd order LP filter.

    Instead of SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y, you might want to try "SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y DOT" (which is "vertical jerk") for heave after applying only a 2nd order LP filter to it (no HP necessary). That should work a lot better for the heave axis. However, problem with this data is that it can only be used for heave and not for a G-seat!

    If you have to choose one, then SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y would be my choice :thumbs

    Cheers... :)
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  10. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    6,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Icy7CE

    Icy7CE Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,900Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I don't have much time for testing at the moment, but I've attached a build of SimConnect_UDP.exe that uses SEMIBODY LOADFACTOR Y for the heave axis. You can replace the file in AppData\Local\SimTools\MFS2020 to try it out. If people think it's an improvement, I'll post an update to the actual plugin.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  12. DZSchneider

    DZSchneider New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Toronto
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks @Icy7CE

    I tested the new Simconnect_UDP.exe yesterday and it works much much better for me. The heave output now does precisely what I'd expect.

    Oddly, the output is divided by 10 (e.g. at 1g, the output value is 0.1), but one simply adjusts the min/max range accordingly. Really appreciate you providing this!
    • Informative Informative x 2
  13. jaynnc

    jaynnc New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Do you mind sharing your profile setting you have..Thanks
  14. DZSchneider

    DZSchneider New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Toronto
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey @jaynnc ,
    Happy to share my settings. Which particular settings were you looking for?
  15. Dirty

    Dirty Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Occupation:
    All the way up front.
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    6,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +662 / 1 / -0
    I tested it as well. Thanks for making this, btw. :)

    I also noticed that the values were reduced to roughly 1/10th. I guess you are dividing 9.81. But the value behaved proportional to my expectations :) So far, so good!

    However, here's the bad news:
    Back then, I tested this in all parts of the flight envelope. Unfortunately I didn't test it on ground.

    Well, now I did and, as crazy as it may sound, on ground it does not behave as expected :(

    Standing still it gives you a zero value, then accelerating during take-off the value gradually increases and after lift-off it actually represents the proper vertical acceleration. It's like it is being calculated by...

    Sum of all aerodynamic forces / aircraft gross weight

    Also, I suspect it will not give you a "landing bump". @DZSchneider , you may want to test it yourself though. Try to see what it does during take-off and landing.

    Sorry, this is not the solution I was hoping it would be.

    I have opened two support tickets with MS/Asobo:
    1. Bug Report: "ACCELERATION BODY XYZ giving implausible data"
    2. Feature request: "Please provide proper accelerations for export through SimConnect"
    I do not expect anything to come out of this, because I suspect that they have other stuff on their agenda than providing data for export. :-/

    I still think that the correct data can be calculated, and if anyone wants to give it a shot, send me a PM. I'd be happy to help.

    Thanks for making that experimental build.

    Cheers,.... Dirty :(
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. jaynnc

    jaynnc New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Your profile setting and axis assignments values
  17. Icy7CE

    Icy7CE Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,900Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That's too bad. At some point I may look into calculating the proper accelerations myself, which I've done for other games. I'm pretty busy at the moment though, so it would be a little while.

    Ideally they would provide the correct data through SimConnect, but I agree that it's doubtful they'll get to that any time soon.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. DZSchneider

    DZSchneider New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Toronto
    Balance:
    40Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @jaynnc

    I have a 3-dof motion-integrated g-seat, of Bergison's design.

    For the roll axis I mostly use "Extra 1" (roll rate) at with some Sway mixed in
    Pitch axis is just Surge
    Heave axis is just Heave

    For max/min roll rate I use +/-80 degrees/s
    Heave +0.3/-0.2
    Sway +2/-2
    Surge +0.5/-0.4

    Still refining these and as better outputs come along with hopefully refine further.
  19. tracer99

    tracer99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    - 72Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Could someone please be so kind and post an screenshot of his min/max Gamevibe values?
    Tried to capture the values with VR, but capturing so how always stops before exiting the game.

    Thanks a lot!
  20. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    328Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi all

    I’m considering purchasing MSFS2020
    Is this profile working ok ??

    I’ll not purchase if no option of motion

    +is there a shaker/vibration option for buttkickers ?