1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Keith's 2dof rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Keith, Mar 4, 2020.

  1. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi all. I built my race cockpit years ago and have been thinking of adding motion to it ever since. I finally built up the courage to start ordering parts and piecing together. My build is largely inspired by Arielnac's build.

    I have been using a 120" 1080p projector as my monitor but I just recently got the Rift S. Im hoping I can make the Rift S work with motion. Please let me know If you have any experience with this.

    Parts list:

    Motor driver

    Sabertooth 2x32

    https://www.robotshop.com/uk/sabert...MIrYDEu4eG6AIVAdbACh3nmwNSEAAYASAAEgIgbPD_BwE



    Motors

    MY1016Z2

    #Aliexpress C$ 65.27 | 250w 24v 75rpm or 120rpm low speed brush motor, 44mm Longer shaft, Shaft Diameter 17mm , wheel chair used DC gear brushed motor, https://a.aliexpress.com/_Bf7iv2Tb



    Hall sensors

    #Aliexpress C$ 23.05 25%OFF | DC 5V Hall Angle Sensor Non contact Industrial 0-360 Degree Rotation Angular displacement Sensor https://a.aliexpress.com/_d88FkWF



    Gt2 pulleys (2 30 tooth and 2 60 tooth)

    #Aliexpress C$ 1.69 10%OFF | 3D Printer Parts GT2 Timing Pulley 30 36 40 60 Tooth Wheel Bore 5mm 8mm Aluminum Gear Teeth Width 6mm 2GT Accessories For Reprap https://a.aliexpress.com/_dTwiAxd



    Power supplies

    Artesyn 7001138-y000
    Just a heads up. You need to modify these a bit before using.

    https://www.ebay.ca/itm/LOT-OF-2-IB...625335?hash=item51feb4fdf7:g:~rgAAOSwEfBZuvxy



    Bridge rectifier

    [CA$2.43 36% OFF]KBPC5010 1000 Volt Bridge Rectifier Metal Case 1000V Diode Bridge Professional Tools from Tools, Industrial & Scientific on banggood.com https://banggood.app.link/ZGJWvH0kA4



    Arduino Uno R3

    [CA$12.66 19% OFF]Basic Starter Kit UNO R3 Mini Breadboard LED Jumper Wire Button With Box For Geekcreit for Arduino - products that work with official Arduino boards Electronic Components & DIY Kits from Electronics on banggood.com https://banggood.app.link/uyuFr08kA4



    Ball joints

    #Aliexpress C$ 18.04 | 2019 New Rodamientos Rolamentos 4pcs Sq10rs 10mm Ball Joint Rod End Right Hand Tie Ends Bearing Free Shipping Sq10 Rs Sq10-rs https://a.aliexpress.com/_d9ezaVh
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is what I have so far. I am still waiting for the motors.


    20200304_055341.jpg 20200304_055356.jpg 20200304_055437.jpg 20200304_060221.jpg 20200304_060247.jpg 20200304_060313.jpg 20200304_060348.jpg 20200304_060416.jpg 20200304_063316.jpg 20200304_063426.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2020
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,366
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,967Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks Noorbeast I will do that.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    My motors arrived yesterday. The one motor is labeled 500w 220rpm instead of 250w 75rpm. The seller told me it is just mislabeled. We will see.
    20200306_075504.jpg 20200306_075428.jpg
  7. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Here are my levers. CTC holes at around 50mm and 70mm. I also drilled out the gt2 pulleys to fit over the motor shafts(17mm)

    20200306_061511.jpg 20200306_051850.jpg 20200306_080243.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    :cheers
  9. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Got the motors mounted 20200308_053016.jpg 20200308_053027.jpg
  10. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I added a set screw to the levers. The screw fits perfectly into the notch on the motor shafts.

    20200308_071518.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Testing the motors. Should I change the polarity on one of these motors? One is going up and the other is going down.



  12. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Anybody know? Im moving the 2 axis sliders upwards. One lever is going up and the over is going down. Do I need to change the polarity on one motor?
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,366
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,967Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't know which axis you have configured in the video, the movement would be OK for sway but not for pitch.

    The DIR check boxes in Axis Assignments being checked green or not determines which way and axis moves and this is how SimTools expects a rig to be configured: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/which-way-to-set-simtool-axis-movements.230/

    You can have DIR boxes in a non-standard format but I think it better to switch the polarity and configure the DIR to reflect what SimTools expects.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,147
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,870Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,813 / 32 / -1
    I didn't know there's a standard format thus the need for dir boxes. Game plugins themselves aren't always standardized either.

    In any case since the motors are following the pots and they're hall pots where you can't reverse polaity you can only use the dir boxes to change directions.
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2020
  15. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok. Thanks for the responses Noorbeast and Blazin.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    My right motor seems to have a second or 2 delay. Any idea why this would happen? Left motor reacts right away
  17. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I grounded pin 8 on the arduino and changed the baud rate from 500000 to 115200. That seems to have fixed it
  18. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I got my 150lbs cockpit mounted to the motion platform

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  19. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Doing some testing with live for speed. Not too much movement here. Maybe I need to crank things up a bit

    • Like Like x 1
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,366
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,967Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,089 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  21. Keith

    Keith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks Noorbeast. Here is another video with more testing. I changed the CTC lever to 70cm

    • Like Like x 1