1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Kangaroo X2 vs. Arduino

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by My.stAr, May 10, 2019.

  1. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Can someone help me with the question:
    What is "better", Arduino with e.g. SMC3 or a kangaroo board?

    What are the advantages and disadvantages of the boards?


    I build my simulator with Arduino and smc3-sps. It was fine for me. But since I'm rebuilding my rig and have some kangaroo boards I'm asking myself if it would be better to use them?!?

    I would be happy to get some answershug:

    Thanks
    My.stAr
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,786
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,829Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,926 / 10 / -0
    Are they the X2's buddy?
    I think the originals had a few bugs and were only around for a short time.
  4. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Yes, I have the X2.
  5. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,786
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,829Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,926 / 10 / -0
    From the limited feedback i have received on them, they are pretty cool man!
    Lots of auto setup stuff.
    would be cool so them compared for sure!
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  6. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    @BlazinH, since you wrote the smc3-sps and also lots of stuff about the kangaroos, I think you could answer this question?
    What are the main (dis)advatages of the kangaroo x2 and the Arduino with your Code?
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,160
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,974Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 32 / -1
    Kangaroo:
    Pros - Works with encoders, self tuning
    Cons - Doesn't work good with pots, self tuning, unfamiliar tuning perimeters if manual adjustment necessary

    Arduino SMC3:
    Pros - Works with pots and hall sensors, familiar tuning perimeters (PID) to manually adjust
    Cons - Doesn't work with encoders on its own, 10 bit max analog sensor resolution

    There is only one Kangaroo version; the x2 stands for two motor control. Some report having issues with its self tuning feature though and manual adjustment is difficult so it can be either a pro or con depending on your own experience.
    • Informative Informative x 3
  8. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Thanks @BlazinH :thumbs
    Since I'd like to use encoders I'll give the kangaroos a try.

    Where could manual adjustments be neccesary?
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,160
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,974Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 32 / -1
    Here's one.

    "The second problem was with control tuning. I was using Kangaroo x2's as PID controllers and for some reason they just refused to properly auto-tune. The tuning process completed without issues, but then bad ocscilations occured at some parts of the lever travel. I tried setting the coefficients manually, which helped a little, but could not fully solve the problem. I spent couple of weeks trying to fix that -- without success. Probably, I would have eventually found the cause of the problem or maybe I could have switched to SMC3."
    Grigory's 6DOF #2 -- compact and no linear actuators, 220V servos
  10. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    626Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My 2 cents. I went with encoders, Kangaroos and 2x32 Sabertooth right from the beginning. Just wired up my last 2 encoders tonight for my 6 dof rig.
    Pros for Kangaroo- they can be driven off the motors.(less congested)
    doesn't seem like much, but when I need to make changes on all 6 motor. I don't need to disturb all my control wiring. even then it's mostly plugin!

    Had jittery control when I started out. Thought it was a bad Sabertooth. Just needed to plug the sabertooth into the computer on it's own and reprogram it with DEScribe software. Thanks Carol!

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/the-in-progress-brig-seat-1-3.12189/
    • Like Like x 1
  11. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    370Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm switching to contactless potentiometers on my linear actuators ...

    I was considering going for a kangaroo, why is it not good with pot ?
  12. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    626Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'm not sure about you actuator, but Page 5 of the Kangaroo manual explains the differences.