1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

The in progress, Brig seat 1.3....

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by PaulB, Jul 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    This started about a year ago.
    My goal was to make a seat with movement more closely resembling forces in a car, so far it's going well.
    You can judge for your self from these videos.
    Being my first sim I thought I'd need 24 volts for the movement I needed. Not the case so far. Started at 24v, Smoked 1 of the 12v power supplies and never replaced it!
    Using a pair of Wheelchair motors, 2x32, Kangaroo2, Encoders, (1)HP DPS-600PB, Thrustmaster 300, LG pf1000

    At this point I'm going to upgrade the drive to timing belts, so I can get another 10 to 20 degrees of travel.
    Adding another Sabertooth and Kangaroo, so I can put in Heave and Traction loss.
    I'm limited to about 2 ft of heave because of low ceiling. Might need to find a place with higher ceilings. : )
    Aslo working on a loadcell brake pedel.
    Thinking about putting in 3 monitors if I can find a pair of ROG bezel strips.

    Brig 1.2

    Brig 1.3

    Brig 1.4
    Coming in next few months
    • Like Like x 6
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No comments! Thought someone would at least say something about my F1 wheel! : )
  4. frankrizzo2

    frankrizzo2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    Balance:
    613Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looks really great!! I've been without my motion sim for 3 years because of other projects. Yours looks like a lot of fun!! Keep up the good work! They only get better!
  5. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,252Coins
    Ratings:
    +390 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Sorry, looks like to be an interesting rig, but I can't see it at all! :p
    Any pics or video with lights on?

    Regards
  6. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    1.3 is under way ! Hope to have it running by the holidays. Takes weight well. Nice and stable. Now just to get the motors connected! Let the cable revolution continue. : )
    PB200126.JPG
    • Like Like x 3
  7. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    More progress on the 4 dof Cable car! : )
    This is about the range of the chair (3 dof). Hope to add about 2 ft of heave in the next week!

    • Like Like x 2
  8. cazsan

    cazsan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    What a great idea! Forces should be less stressed and It would require less force to get the seat to move.
    Simply brilliant!

    How did you plug your motors in the ring ?
  9. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The motors are driving timing belts 5m x 22mm belts. nearly silent. The noise you hear is the wheelchair gears not fully disengaging. Adding Heave next. First videos are half the movement.
    I might need to take a gravol. : )
  10. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just an update on the Rig. I now have it moving under it's own steam. P3170014.JPG
    Can't get DEScribe to homing at 50% in live test
    Any ideas where I went wrong?
  11. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Balance:
    4,690Coins
    Ratings:
    +177 / 2 / -0
    no idea, but, still your sim is one of the ones i like the best :D:D:D
  12. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Another update. Half way through tuning, but at least I can do some laps. A little bit off road F1 but laps.
    • Like Like x 2
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +875 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Don't Cha just love this forum :) talk about many ways to skin the proverbial cat , Well done , Nice setup and different in a Great way .. this is definitely outside the box thinking this is on the watch list for sure :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Balance:
    4,690Coins
    Ratings:
    +177 / 2 / -0
    maybe i miss it but i have not seen pictures of your motors, show us some of your sim mechanisms it is remarcable.

    i wonder your sim would feel incredible on a flight sim game

    best regards

    fer
  15. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks. It was a lot of work trying to upgrade from 2 axis to 4. It's only 3 axis in the last video. This is a block of wheelchair motors that controls all 6 DOF. Heave isn't connected yet. The block will act as a partial counterweight if I get heave running, but I think I might go to a 6 Axis to simplify things. I'm surprised how much better the 2 axis chair worked from the first videos. I did all this work for TL and it wasn't worth it. You can see at the end of the video, as the car stops. It goes into a tank slapper that I can feel when driving that I can't tune out. I think it's because the one axis is so equally balanced. One more thing, this is running on two 12v transformers. The two axis on 1 12v! Nothing even gets warm.
    Front.jpg Back.jpg Working setup.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  16. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Balance:
    4,690Coins
    Ratings:
    +177 / 2 / -0
    woow i see you put grate and expensive encoders on your motors. thanks for sharing it looks grate :D

    i was living in alberta for 6 months (long ago) where in canada are you in?
  17. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    We I'm getting time to work on this again! Never got the 1.4 (4 motors) going. 1.2 (2 motors) and 1.3 (3 motors) worked so well I'm going to Version 1.6 (6dof)! 3rd Sabertooth and Kangaroo being shipped. Motors being mounted this week. Should have the chair hanging in a week or so.

    HEXPOD software looks interesting, is it the way to go?
    I'll add some pictures when I get a little farther.
  18. Menix

    Menix Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    can you post pictures of the ceiling were the ropes are mounted . Are the Motor always on the ceiling? A small drwaing how the ropes are arranged would be good too. And were is your beamer mounted?
    many Questions but your sim looks good and its worth to build it.
  19. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry I don't have photos I can find, just rough models
    these are 2 and 6 motor setups
    2 motor had a frame around the driver attached to the wall to stabilize the rig!
    The "cable car sim" and "F1 Sim" videos (3 motors) is kind of a hybrid. I liked it because it didn't use the motors to lift any weight same with the 2 motor.
    Sorry no models

    Attached Files:

  20. Menix

    Menix Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    99Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    i have 4 Motors to use. How would you arrange this?
    And tell me please how is your Beamer mounted on the rig? Or on Wall/Ceiling
  21. PaulB

    PaulB Titanium2dof

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Never the 4 motor rig working. The 3 motors rig "F1 simulator" movie has been dismantled to go to the cable Stewart Platform.
    This is how the motors are mounted.

    Attached Files: