1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom FlyPT - 6DOF Brushless DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pmvcda, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Balance:
    804Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    YOU WILL SHARE YOUR SETTINGS, PROCEDURES AND 3D PRINT PARTS? IF THIS WILL WORK WITH SIM TOOLS ....I WILL FOLLOW YOU .
  2. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    As I wrote above it is still in the testing phase, when I assemble the second I will try to make a guide, I will also include the printed parts
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello FlyPT;
    What rpms are you seeing with your actuators? Do you feel that actual power output vs. top end rpm is more important for your actuators response?

    Erik
  4. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    should I connect only 2 actuators on this scheme I can do it?
    can someone help me?

    Attached Files:

  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, you can.
    Just ignore the wiring for the third one, or don't connect the actuator.
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have to look back...
    Somewhere in the posts there's some calculations.

    But, my motors can go up to 3500 rpm rated speed (4500 without load)
    I'm using an sfu 1605, that's 5 mm on each turn so:

    3500 rpm * 5mm = 17500 mm/min = 291 mm/s

    Torque vs Speed? There's a good topic from @Dirty with an Excel table to calculate those things. Take a look here with that and some more info for linear actuators: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/diy-linear-actuators.248/
  7. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I guess I phrased that question poorly.
    What I should have asked:
    Do you feel that the overall actuator speed using the BLDC 8015A + 57BLF03 motor/controller combo you suggested would be sufficient for F1/GT type simulations?
    Will be using the same SFU 1605 leadscrews.
  8. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    In my opinion, it's enough.
    Most of the movement is short travels. That's a good speed already, unless you put to much weight on the platform.
  9. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That is what I was trying to determine: is power for acceleration in short bursts more important than top end speed? Makes sense to me that that would be the case.

    Erik
  10. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I couldn't load the sketch into the ESP32 board then seeing other videos I saw that while I was loading the sketch I had to hold the boot key right?
  11. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Never uploaded a sketch pressing the boot key.
    Maybe it's a good idea to boot before uploading. But don't keep it pressed.
    ...Unless they made some changes to the software...
    That's a strange one. Are you sure you are using the correct port?
    Drivers installed?
    Do you have the last version?
    Try changing USB port on the PC.
    Be sure there's no other program running and connected to that port (FlyPT Interface)

    Look at the video here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...hless-diy-actuators.10799/page-10#post-171762

    Any error message?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi guys, my engine has wires with different colors do you help me?
    for the signal it has:
    black will be connected to black
    green will be connected to green
    blue will be connected to blue
    yellow to which thread of the scheme I connect it?
    red to which thread of the scheme I connect it?
    for the power I have
    blue, green, yellow how do I connect them?
    the problem with the ESP32 seems to be solved thanks
  13. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    What motor are you using? Reference?
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sorry, it's a 57blf03 (looked back on the topic). Give me a minute
  15. luky_90

    luky_90 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    [Quote = "pmvcda post: 177.986, membro: 4322"] Cosa motore stai usando? Riferimento? [/ QUOTE]
    57BLF03
  16. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    BLF motor. Hall sensor: red=supply power black=ground, sensor s1,s2,s3=yellow, green, blue. Power phases UVW=yellow, green, blue.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +548 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Your motor:

    HTB1Ux1YRpXXXXbLaXXXq6xXFXXXs.jpg

    My motor in the schematics:
    Sem nome.jpg


    So I think it's:
    my Hall red = your Hall red
    my Hall blue = your Hall yellow
    my Hall green = your Hall green
    my Hall white = your Hall blue
    my Hall black= your Hall black

    my Current yellow = your Current yellow (phase U)
    my Current red= your Current green (phase V)
    my Current black = your Current blue (phase W)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Comparing the Nanotec to the Long 57BLF03. the BLF has 8 poles per phase so slower overall speed but the torque constant is 6.6N/cm vs. 4.4 for the Nanotec so technically should have better acceleration?
  19. Erik Green

    Erik Green New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    121Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  20. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    703Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda, I decided to rebuild my 6dof rig, ;) I want to change rotating actuators to linear (as always happens with motion rig makers :cool:), but as I watch your (and others) videos they are extremely noisy. Have you been thinking about reduce noise? Do you have an idea what can we do maybe?
    What if I cover open sides of them to close ballscrew?
    Last edited: May 11, 2019