1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom FlyPT - 6DOF Brushless DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pmvcda, Aug 29, 2017.

  1. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Well, now it's done and working...
    But I might use the STM32 for my future semi DD wheel and pedals. Have some ideas... some different than the usual ones.

    I'm using my own program to control the hexapod.
    I calculate the extension of the actuators to get the pretended pose. So it's a mix of settings between simtools and my program.
    I use my program to handle limits, ranges and filters(I can make it real time with my program).
    And simtools to mix values and washout.
    But I have not finished the rig, I need to mount the wheel and pedals to make the tests and create profiles.
    Hope it's soon.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    New video, with some updates on the interface.
    Now with serial output (without feedback) incorporated.
    I need to make some more tests to release it. There's an error somewhere...

    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    New update to the interface, now with custom serial output.
    Download bellow.

    I will create a thread just for this interface with a guide on it's use in the future.
    Just need some tests to be sure it's working. So if anyone wants to try...

    Happy new year 2019! ;)

    Edit: This is made for linear actuators. Might add more options in the future for rig definition.

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,450
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,700Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,131 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Is this good to try for Ards and Sabertooths ? Thanks for sharing either way :)
  5. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,056Coins
    Ratings:
    +91 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi ,
    I’m in Colombia for the moment for vacancy with my wife and make some paragliding fly !
    When i will return at home , i must try this interface to finish this simulator !
    Thanks a lot for this pain !!!
    No pain, no gain !!!
    Happpy New year and lot fun for 2019 with your rig !!
    • Like Like x 1
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sorry for late reply.

    Yes,

    Just select one of the custom serial output and put the values you usually use in simtools to connect to your hardware.
    Now the actuator positions sent to the hardware, will be calculated on the interface to replicate the pretended pose.
    You can try without connecting to simtools, just using the sliders.
    Actuator 1 is the first one in your front right and they increase rotating to the right, so the last one Actuator 6 is the first one in your front, but at the left.
    In FlyPT output mode, we have position feedback and we calculate speed to reach the target.
    In Serial modes, we have no feedback. They are made as a generic output. So speed calculations are not sent to the board. They are handled by the board or controller.
    The same with the resolution (steps and travel per revolution). Since there's no feedback, those values are only used for showing results in the interface.
    So we should put something logical in them.
    Usually mm per revolution is 5 for SFU1605 ball screws. Just put the value for your ball screw.
    Steps per revolution is the resolution you have. For example if your actuator travels 500mm in total (range=250) and you use an Arduino and pot (1024 possible values), your approximate resolution would be 5*1024/500=10,24 (approximate because you might not be able to use all the 1024 values in your travel).
    Although those values are not used to be sent to the boards in the serial options, insert something, so you can see the speed effects on graphics and some more logical data on the interface.

    I need to make a guide...
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    • Like Like x 3
  8. cazsan

    cazsan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Wao! I'm really impressed by the amount of work being done on your rig, and also on the software!
    I wish I'd create a setup based on your's hence it's really well designed.
    Probably I should try a simpler one before
  9. sulfail

    sulfail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    AISLAMIENTOS Y PLADUR.
    Location:
    vigo(pontevedra) SPAIN
    Balance:
    287Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ou are very advanced in knowledge, you are a great teacher.
    How is it possible not to use brushes? Are there 12v dc brushless motors?
    The actuators are fast enough, because in the video they seem very slow and frandes, really you are very ingenious and have created your own code, really impressive.
    ask for my English use the translator.:nerd
  10. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    They are fast, I'm using a low pass filter in most videos, because even sitting on the rig, she jumps everywhere. I have to put some bolts to the floor, but have to be sure where I'm putting the rig or I will drill all the garage...
    • Funny Funny x 1
  11. sulfail

    sulfail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    AISLAMIENTOS Y PLADUR.
    Location:
    vigo(pontevedra) SPAIN
    Balance:
    287Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ah I had not seen the videos of your channel, it is really a great job you are very intelligent, what if I like more compact, but for a garage is ideal.:cheers

    Use translator excuse me
  12. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,505Coins
    Ratings:
    +692 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hiya @pmvcda back again, this time with some good news ( on my part at least :) ) New Actuator assembled and Happy to report the I have manual control of the actuator via the FlyPt interface and via simtools So for me this is a big step forward .. This actuator is a Wheelchair Gearbox assembly I had kept from my 1st attempts at 6DOF so as luck would have it I can use this one to test the Future FlyPt Releases that cater for For Rotary Actuators as well. My 6DOF sim uses Linear Actuators so I now can test Both setups on this Interface ....BRAVO SIR .. :cheers

    Early days yet but Promising start will post my progress On My DIYLINEAR actuator Post But if some sceen shots will assist others then I feel free to add them here as NOOB learning aids ( if it helps Others)

    Going to bed Happy Chappy .... Now if Only I Can Get The AMC working then i'll consider these My Belated Xmas Presents ROFL short video will be posted once I add another Monitor to my Laptop 9 Screen gets a bit crowded with all the apps Running :)
    • Like Like x 3
  13. JAD

    JAD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    734Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 2 / -0
    Hi @pmvcda
    Thanks for making this interface free to us.
    Love your work.

    Ive just completed my build and have achieved basic motions with Simtools.
    Im running sabertooth 2x60 and the kangaroo controller's.

    Now Im ready to be a tester for the serial output with your interface.

    Hope Im not been too forward straight of the bat like this, but I have a feature request.
    I think I need the startup and shutdown lines just like Simtools.
    For now, I can get by using a separate terminal program to manually go though those steps.

    Could you look at the below and check what I have done. I can't get the serial output to command the controllers at the moment.
    I can get Simtools to connect to your interface, so this side is no problem. Its just the output to serial that seems to be not working for me.

    Below is the startup and shutdown serial commands when outputting direct from Simtools as an example.
    This has proven to work for me so so I have used this exact string in the serial output field in your interface.
    2019-01-28_00h07_34.png
    In the below screenshot, I have displayed on the right side the terminal windows to manually type in commands to the controllers. These show that each has been started, homed and centred
    And then I have disconnected each com port in the terminal window before clicking start in the output section of the hexapod interface.

    2019-01-27_23h24_06.png
    So at this moment, I dont get any movement.

    I reckon the controllers are OK to receive commands, because I can turn off the hexapod interface, re-connect each terminal again (without re-start or re-home) and type position commands successfully.
    So I think I have something wrong in the output parameters of the interface.

    Would you pls look over and see if you spot the error?
    Thanks.
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    Posted on your thread...
    There's a problem with <#> values. It's corrected in version 1.6.3
    Give me 5 minutes to post the new version.
    Download will be at the interface thread. Here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...face-for-linear-and-rotating-actuators.12859/
  15. JAD

    JAD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    734Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 2 / -0
    Im floored! Fast reply. Thanks
    But dont rush, Its nearly 3am for me right now and I need to go to bed. Lucky for me its a public holiday today.
    I try out 1.6.3 later today.
    Thanks again!
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's afternoon here and still recovering from flu, so time for making some updates. ;)
  17. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It was brought to my attention that the code I'm sharing is not compiling on the latest ESP toll from GITHUB.
    So, please use ESP tool 2.3.1 to compile the code:

    Sem nome.jpg

    I also updated the ESP32 code on the first page of this topic.
  18. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Updated the ESP32 code. (In the first page of this thread)

    After searching for the reason why the ESP32 keeps rebooting with the latest ESP tool for Arduino, it seems the problem is with the loop in the second core.
    I don't give it a chance to run the interrupts, so it crashed and restarted.
    Well, something like that, because I didn't look deep enough to understand the problem.
    Solution was to add a delay in the loop :confused:

    I'm now able to run the code with the latest version of the ESP tool.
    Installing the ESP tool is now easier, just follow this video:
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  19. minsu

    minsu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Are parts made with 3D printing robust enough?
  20. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    424
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    2,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +376 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF