1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Review Dofreality P3 - ordered 5th April 2019

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by born2bslow, Apr 5, 2019.

  1. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Hello there fellow motion rig enthusiasts,

    I've just placed an order for the Dofreality P3. I play in VR, mostly racing sims, with a little Elite Dangerous or ETS2 to chill out.
    After much research, I had shortlisted the Dofreality P3 and the Prosimu T1000 3dof. The noise of the actuators was the deciding factor for me. I did look at the H6 but decided 6dof would be extra money spent for very little gain in the racing games that I prefer.

    I will keep this thread updated on the overall experience from the perspective of someone who chose to buy simply because I don't have the skills, tools, or time to build myself. I have a lot of respect for those who can, but it's just not for me.

    Anyway, as a long time lurker and occasional poster, I felt obliged to share to help others to make their decisions the way I have by reading and absorbing information here. Thanks to all who have posted useful information and helped me get to this point.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. rsbell

    rsbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I ordered the P6 last week and it’s been shipped. I’d be curious to know your thoughts as well.
  3. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Update 1: Order shipped and delivery scheduled for 18th April 2019
  4. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Update 2 delivered 15th April 2019 - luckily I'd checked the tracker and also had nowhere else to be :)

    Too late in the day to start building it, I'll be all over it tomorrow :)
  5. rsbell

    rsbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I box of mine delivered today. The shipping company isn’t sure where the other box is...
  6. rsbell

    rsbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Got the P6 assembled and plugged in. Can't get any movement in iRacing, but the Output Test works fine. I'm sure I haven't installed the plugin correctly. The instructions are not clear at all.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,611
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,465Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please explain what you did do.

    Plugins are installed with the SimTools Plugin Update app.

    The game then needs to be patched for motion using Game Manager.

    And a motion profile has to be created and refined.
  8. rsbell

    rsbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks for the quick reply!
    Turns out I was getting some movement, just janky movement. Specifically, no pitch, and almost all movement is some form of sway. Interestingly, the default profile worked very well for output testing, but I seemed to have overwritten the default. Sorry for the terrible noob questions you've seen a hundred times before, but i can't seem to find anything about re-downloading the default by searching.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,611
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,465Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    DOFreality has a thread with profiles for various games: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dof-reality-platforms-preset

    Though be aware many have axis assignments of many 100s of % which may induce clipping: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    This is how a motion profile is refined: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  10. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    I’ve been outmanoeuvred by my wife, with the classic....”while you’re moving your rig anyway we should decorate in there...!
    I did manage to get the base and frame of the P3 put together last night. Pretty straightforward but I think the written instructions could be a bit more informative, they do however provide links to YouTube videos of the build process.
    So far so good notwithstanding the inevitable trip to Ikea....
    • Like Like x 1
  11. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    OK, got the upper frame built tonight, just need to attach shifter and other mounts.
    First real criticism is that although the nuts and bolts come in labelled bags for each stage, the instructions (written or video) do not refer to which bag contains the ones you should be using at each stage. While it is obvious to begin with, at some stages it's a bit of a faff to figure out which bolts you should be using, and which bag they're in. Minor gripe, but worth noting.
    Hoping to get it up and running on Friday, I have a league race tomorrow night.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. rsbell

    rsbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    DOFReality Teamviewered in to my computer and correctly set everything in about 3 minutes. Everything works spectacularly.

    Only issue I've run into is motion compensation for my Pimax 5K+. That's to say there isn't any, and driving without it can be disorienting. I was able to get my lap times in iRacing to within a second of my non-motion rig, but it took quite a bit more concentration. I think I'll have to go back to my Vive Pro for now until there is motion compensation for the Pimax or another HMD comes out (like the Valve Index).