1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Bastiuscha's 2DOF project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Bastiuscha, Apr 15, 2017.

  1. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,369Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    great! neat and clean :thumbs
    did you center the center of gravity (plateform+ driver) above the Ujoint?
  2. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looks great, @Bastiuscha!

    You were concerned about using the smaller extrusion on the upper frame. How do you like it now that you have it all assembled? I'm curious because my setup will be pretty similar.

    But congrats! Looks really good!
  3. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @RacingMat
    thank you. If it's complete final, i will show photos again. And yes the pivot fits perfect for my body. But i can tell, my wife is much lighter than me, and the pivot is near the same. That is really cool.

    @Zed
    The upper frame was planed smaller, but "plans..." hehe. On this picture it's difficult to see, but here you can see, that only the lengh is shorter.

    [​IMG]

    But maybe i will strech the lower frame length. And your second question...can't tell exactly at the moment. Better i tell you, if i have some hours ride after me. At the moment, in my opinion, the upper frame could be a little bit lower. To high, brings the balance point senseless to high and simply make it difficulter, to getting into the rig. "boarding" ;D
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Those rods look quite slim so there is a possibility you might have a problem with them bending at some point ,,,,, adding stainless bolts is a nice cheap way to strengthen them,,

    [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  5. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Not sure what you mean. I can't see your picture. The bolts himself in my calulation are strong enough. But please explane me better, what you mean. A saver contsruction is always welcome. :)

    Edit: ahh maybe you mean the horizontal bolts...yes, here a good material could usefull. This is a part, i would make better, in my planings. I would use a two sided mount.
  6. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ahhh now i can see. Hm ok, my calculation of this material say's, thats strong enougth. But why not... :D thank you!
  7. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Btw... my rods are only a half length, like this picture. :)


    Hey some cool news!! I had my first ride. Today i finally get me a license of sim tools and do my first assetto corsa test. WWWWOOOOOHOOOOO! The most stunning thing is, the breaking feeling. That is amazing! Now you have one active sim tools driver more in your community. :D

    Now only i have to bring motion cancellation to work (one times i had a running cancelling)...that is really important for me. Because this virtual shaking drives me crazy and i become skiness.

    And the second thing....ohhh yes @noorbeast now i refining a motion profile. hug:


    Thanks to all helpers! You are amazing!
    • Winner Winner x 2
  8. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey mates,, i have a question!

    My Motors are not ideal for 2 directions, so i expect a gear problem in the future.
    Can someone tell me, is this motor enough for my seat?
    http://www.ebay.de/itm/WG65BD62-2-G...n-22Nm-Torantrieb-Fenster-Grill-/322482594020

    Or better this one:
    http://www.ebay.de/itm/WG88BD82-3-G...55-35U-min-Kran-Seilwinde-Grill-/322453837534

    Watch my motors on my pictures. i don't know how many power my motors have, but i'm happy with them.


    Edit: oh i see, that the last one can use up to 40A. I use 2x 15A monstermotoshield only. What happens, if i use this motor? I become only the 15A power, or the motorshield goes broken?
    Last edited: May 23, 2017
  9. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    It won't go boom but it will go pop, and there will probably be some smoke :D

    You would need a bigger driver and may need a larger power supply (I've not checked to see what PSU you currently have).
  10. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  11. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @RandomCoder
    Yes thank you, actual i know the answer. Sometimes i'm to dumb, to find the answer, that i allready should know. :rolleyes:


    @stevemontuno
    Thank you, that was not my plan, but why not...maybe i will go this STRONG way. :)



    And then, i have a next question. I think about hall sensors instead of pots. What do you think? Then i don't need Gears? And, can i use the smc code, without changings?
  12. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Today i decided for the bigger motors (max 40A) and ordered them, plus 3 more motorshields, for a megatron configuration! :) :) In the last day's, i had a lot of driving fun. I'm excited, how the new motors will work. Now i plan my new controlbox (arduino + 4 moto shields). I have an old PC case...maybe that will the new house.....

    Here a current picture of my rig. Say good bye to this motors. :D
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yehaaaw!!! My own Megatron is awake! :)
    [​IMG]

    For first... only on a wooden board. :) My motormount is near ready too. I have to fix some small things...and then i give you a photo of that too. Later if i get satisfaction, i will show you a video, of my racing skills. HAHA
    There are so many wires.... difficult, to get this neat and clean. I think i shoud take a bigger plate, with bigger spaces, between all compontens. But for the moment.... it's not important. I wanna ride. :D
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Huuuuhuuu! News from me. :)
    Now i have a pic of my new motors and my brand new Hall sensors, from mexico. :D (UPS sent it in 3 days to germany!!! woohoo)
    With that sensors, my motors are much smoother now. I'm happy with that. Sadly, my motorgears have a little "play" 2-3mm. Hope that don't will be bigger. I will see. But for now, i'm happy. Soon, i show you my promissed video.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey mates... sadly a long time, i had a mandatory break. But now i'm back! I still LOVE my rig, but i'm unhappy with my motors. Or better: with my gears and arms. The back lash of the gears, is not really good. The motors are strong and fast...and without difficulty, adjustable with SMC3, but the gears destroy that, sadly. And the next problem... i had no other choice, as welding the control arms, to the gear shaft. But for 3 times, it broke after several hours. My mechanical possibilitys are not really good, this is why i think, i will order new motors. And it's not a problem, to order in other country, as my homeland (germany). The main think is: it have to work! In ebay germany, i can't find good gear motors.

    So my question is: can somebody recommend me a good motor for my solution? I mean, a motor, that you really used...not good, because on paper, he sounds good. I need 12V and don't wanna really change, my electrical setup. I search for a motor without big back lash in the gears. And without (i don't know the english description of this) electrical ground on the motor case. And because my servoarm loose problem...a good possibility to assembly a steering arm.

    Much thanks mates...
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,507 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    All worm gearboxes are going to have some backlash, for lubrication purposes, and the longer the lever CTC the more noticeable the free play is.

    A slight positive weight pre-load on the levers, rather than a perfectly balanced rig, will help make the backlash a little less noticeable.

    Linear actuators are an alternate and are more efficient and you can build your own: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/diy-linear-actuators.248/

    This is about average wormdrive backlash and the greater the lever CTC the more noticeable it will be:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for your eye opening answer! ;D That sounds logical and i have near the same backlash, like your video. But the reason for my wondering was, as they was new, there was'nt any backlash. My rig is good balanced...but you can see on my last picture, my levers could be shorter. And this is the next thing, i will change. I not really want to build linear actuators. Thats to much for me, at the moment. I will reduce the lever length. That reduce hopefully the backlash feeling during driving and recude the force on the center shaft too.

    But anyway...if someone here can recommend me a motor like my ones.... feel free to tell me. :) I need a save possibility to mount mey lever arms. My welding method is not really good.
  18. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Zed, thanks a lot, for your information! The pgsaw motor looks really interesting! I found this sweetie on ebay:

    Link:
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/GEAR-MOTOR-1...992384?hash=item51bd392f00:g:nOwAAOSwPhdVCxQg

    Is that a good price? Additionaly i have to pay 48$ shipping cost to germany. ;D Hopefully, for two motors and not for every one. hehe

    But i have still questions. Can you make a good picture of your motormount? Or maybe you have a blueprint? And then your amazing leverarms.... could you build two of them for me and send me to germany? What is your price? :) :)
  20. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +770 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don’t have motor mounts per se. My rig is built from aluminum strut so two attachments are just 1/4-20 threaded rods that use the standard strut t-nuts in the strut for one end of the mounting, and washers and nylon lock nuts at the other end to hold onto the motor mount bosses. That was almost enough but I decided for strength to turn the mounting into a box by adding that outer plate and using some more 1/4-20 rod and a 1" spacer with nylon lock nuts and washers at either end to tie the top mount.
    3D4BC506-497F-4D34-8360-ADCADE4CCD46.jpeg E3ACD943-B1C5-4546-A205-8574D4C0C511.jpeg 52F9E797-C2F4-4EE9-AD41-0615D1EF377E.jpeg

    Those look like the same motors as what I got except mine are 50:1 for more torque since my sim is a full frame and needs it. The price is the same as I paid and probably most others that have bought recently from him. Not sure if they aren’t available for less somewhere else though.

    On the arms, a machinist I know did those for me as a favor so I can’t just order up more for shipping out. I found an online machine shop that even has their own CAD drawing program that will do quotes in real time on whatever you draw up. It was https://www.emachineshop.com/. As long as you stay in one axis, things are extremely cheap. The basic arms were something like $36 each. It’s adding another axis that gets you. In my arm design, the holes for the roll pin and the clamp bolt are the second axis and are why I put the flats on either side of the motor shaft hole -so it would be easy to drill that hole square through the motor shaft hole. I was going to just drill those myself. To have those done by the machining company put the price up to around $100 per arm.
    • Like Like x 1