1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial MotoMonster Dual Half Bridge - 60A Continuous and 120A Peak (12V)

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Pit, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The Moto Monster is well known as a Dual Motor Driver (called as a h-bridge, too). This cheap motor driver ($ 13 at Aliexpress) works as a half bridge as well. More information how to connect two Monster Moto output drivers together to drive a single motor using SMC3 you will find here:
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...cts-as-a-single-motor-driver-more-power.5482/
    Now the time is ready to go ahead, the next step on the to-do-list is the MM Dual Half Bridge Motor Driver(s).
    If one MM works as a "Single Driver", two of them should do in the same way:
    MotoMegatronMonster.jpg
    For that purpose I ordered two MMs (each ~13$) and one Arduino Beginner Set (only ~8$ including wire, breadboard and USB connector!).

    Breadboards are very helpful to avoid any spaghetti syndrome. You can be sure if we will use four MMs at least to power up two big motors there are many jumper wires...too many if you will not keep order.

    The experiment starts this week and will end on the weekend. If this experiment will success, we will get for less than [EDIT] 26 bucks (including delivery!) a super strong and super fast motor driver. If not, I lost some MM samples :rolleyes:

    Stay tuned :)

    20150302_152034.jpg

    IT WORKS - MORE INFO HERE
    VIDEO HERE

    CONCLUSION 03/22/2015

    These combo has been tested now for a while under very hard conditions and I can confirm it is running without any issues. Every MM will be less hot and this saves any lifetime. Finally between all the mixed outputs there a car fuses build in and not even one fuse has been blown yet. If you need powerful but cheep h-bridges, here you go.

    EDIT 05/17/2015 I have slung the fuses away, no issues since weeks.

    EDIT 10/20/2018 Still working without any issues.
    • Like Like x 9
    • Winner Winner x 6
    • Informative Informative x 3
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2018
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Pit!

    You're still devoted to your moto "I like excessive destructions of h-bridges" :)

    Thanks for sharing this experiment!

    pit hamburger motomonster.png

    I received my second Motomonster saturday, i'll do the double cheese motomonster trick soon!

    The arduino you ordered need a special driver CH340, no ? :D
    Mat
    • Funny Funny x 5
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    oops, driver has been installed automatically (win8). Do not know if it works under win7...

    Some post I found at aliexpress: "...no extra drivers required (tested on Windows 8.1) - just plug-in & driver will be installed automatically. In Device Manager it's named as "CH340G". Full pack as described, quality for it's money. Usb-B cable included. All works fine, good way to try micro controllers programming."

    This: http://www.wch.cn/downloads.php?name=pro&proid=65

    USB转串口CH341/CH340的WINDOWS驱动程序安装包, 支持WINDOWS 98/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/VISTA/Server 2008/Win7/Win8 32位/64位,通过微软数字签名认证,在计算机端将USB设备仿真为标准Serial串口设备COM?,包含识别CH34X串口号及监视CH34X设备插拔的库,用于随产品发行到最终用户

    I think, I did understand all :D

    PS: I attached the driver if someone is looking for it...

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2015
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    exactly! but on Win7 it's not an automatic install ;)
    Good for you!
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ready to go...
    20150302_210906.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    OMG! it's a godzilla motomonster!!

    My picture was really representative in fact!
    • Funny Funny x 2
  8. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,136
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    7,323Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,105 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. Bobsyouruncle187

    Bobsyouruncle187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN6
    Let me know when Megatron awakes!
    • Funny Funny x 3
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    First I was so stupid, I build in an already damaged MM and was wondering why the hell there was no power (multimeter testing)...now all is correctly installed and the test has been ready to be started.
    As a pioneer which I am - which I believe so ;p (not seriously) - I could not wait until the next week end and was hardly working today - and
    I got it working - really

    IT WORKS!!

    I uploaded a video for better viewing, but please ignore my comments and excuse my English :)
    • Winner Winner x 11
    • Like Like x 8
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2015
  11. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,136
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    7,323Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,105 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Well done, @Pit! Exploring new worlds! 60A * 12V = 720 W ≈ 1 PS
    With this kind of power it will be possible to build a proper 3DOF with DC and arduino :thumbs

    Edit: If we can trust the datasheet of your winches, you actually *can* load them with 120 A!
    So your sim will really become a beast!
    And I have to consider replacing my winches and the JRK's :p
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
  13. kopper

    kopper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas
    Balance:
    3,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    Wow! So @Pit would it theoretically be possible to just keep "stacking" MM's for almost no limit in amperage, sorta?
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    lol, beware, as long the jerks are working no upgrade is really needed, anyway thank you very much :)
    The wiring is the same, olnly "doubled". Use breadboards, they make wiring easy. The winch is not the same which I am using for the seat mover, this is a bad Chinese sample using the worst planetary gear IMO. Got it for a few bucks at ebay.
    Stacking could be an option, but how to cool the chips? BTW if you are using 4 MMs, the chips wont be really hot...anyway very interesting idea!
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Wiring please see the first posting!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. kopper

    kopper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas
    Balance:
    3,343Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    Sorry @Pit - I did not mean actually physically "stacking" them but just adding more in parallel like you have done. Only thing I wonder is about the outputs from Arduino. Any idea how many MM's one Arduino could drive? Just a curiosity question.
  17. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ha, ha! sorry, I didn't see it on my phone:grin
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    has not been posted yesterday :)
    BTW I would use fuses between all outputs to avoid any faults.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  19. kanuk

    kanuk If it ain't moving, it ain't simulating... Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Eng
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Balance:
    2,269Coins
    Ratings:
    +202 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    the days of sabertooths are slowly coming to an end..... :)
  20. Overclockersmania.it

    Overclockersmania.it Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Cagliari, Sardinia
    Balance:
    - 39Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Pit this is really a great idea!
    I can't see any drawback if you use fuses..
    • Agree Agree x 1
  21. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    it "should" work.................not already tested.
    20150304_204753.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
    • Funny Funny x 1