1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Another rookie learning

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by totostao, Aug 1, 2020 at 19:01.

  1. totostao

    totostao New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    curioso
    Location:
    Madrid SAPAIN
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    My name is Carlos and I am from Madrid, Spain.
    Some time ago I started my own motion simulator (a couple of years actually) and finally finished it. I put some photos so you can see it, and it was all thanks to this page.

    taller 01.jpeg taller 02.jpeg taller 03.jpeg

    terminado 01.jpeg terminado 03.jpeg terminado 04.jpeg terminado 05.jpeg
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2020 at 02:12
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. totostao

    totostao New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    curioso
    Location:
    Madrid SAPAIN
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Now that I'm done with the mechanics, I want to work with the electronics, and in order to work calmly, we also built a small model to test and continue to test and learn as much as possible before putting everything in its place.
    The idea is to use the SMC3 Arduino program, so I will count the progress that I receive within my limitations, a greeting
    saludo maqueta 01.jpeg maqueta 02.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2020 at 02:12
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What motors do you plan on using for the rig?
  5. totostao

    totostao New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    curioso
    Location:
    Madrid SAPAIN
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Well, you're right, I did explain.
    the idea is to use two 12V wiper motors.
    And the question is, what power supply would I need to keep up with, how many watts?
    Thank you.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,085
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,992 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. totostao

    totostao New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    curioso
    Location:
    Madrid SAPAIN
    Balance:
    87Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I've already taken care of isolating the engines to ground, thank you very much for reminding me.

    And I don't know if I can put ebay links to advise me about a source I have found, but basically it is a DC12V LED source Driver switching transformer power supply for 600w LED/CCTV/MR16 strips. I guess this will have enough, right?

    Thank you very much.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Balance:
    4,745Coins
    Ratings:
    +178 / 2 / -0
    about your psu, just never ever ever use a regular pc psu (you can use a server psu) but the regular pc psu aparently gives you the power you need, but just with no warning turn of and you get mad searching on your cables, arduino, computer etc the reason... and at the end. is the !"#$!"$# psu... if you use a server one, you are just fine (and they are super cheap)

    fer