1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6 DOF software

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by alexdraco, Apr 9, 2021.

  1. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao,
    my sim works with SMC3. I would like to increase it to 6 axes, I searched for the Arduino software in the forum but without finding it.
    Which one of you realizes a 6 DOF if he writes it himself?
    It can be purchased directly from the forum users?
    Thanks and ciao.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 2
  4. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao noorbeast,
    interesting, thanks for the info. I'm going to deepen the subject.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao noorbeast,
    I found these tips and instructions of yours

    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...where-and-what-to-plug-in-and-plug-out.14947/

    To make it simple, just double arduino + SMC3 + three motors.
    Configure Simtools considering:
    INTERFACE SETTINGS=>
    INTERFACE 1 = 3 axes on 1st arduino pich-roll-Yaw) [connetted ex. com 4]
    INTERFACE 2 = 3 axes on 2nd arduino sway-heave-surge [connetted ex. com 5]
    It will then be a 6 DOF simulator consisting of two separate 3 DOFs working together.

    Is the motion data coming from the game processed by simtool so that the 6 axes move consistently?

    What I am writing to you is what I understand. It's correct?

    Grazie
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao,
    ok. I read the whole discussion.
    Excuse the ignorance, what does it mean it's an option? The RIG also works without simtools?

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2021
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    FlyPT is pose based motion control software, which can give fine control over the likes of a 6DOF rig, see the FAQs here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/flypt-mover.29/category
  9. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Balance:
    226Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao,
    Great tip!
    I started studying the first post you reported to me.
    Thank you

    In the FlyPT site there is a link that refers to this site about the SMC3 tutorial with arduino (the one I studied to make my rig).
    Here is a description that says 2 motors one arduino:
    https://www.flyptmover.com/outputs/smc3-and-sps

    In reality you see a screen of the software that shows three controlled axes on the serial output, so I deduce that it can be realized with 2 arduinos ...
    - 1 Arduino + SMC3 + 3 IBT-2
    - 1 Arduino + SMC3 + 3 IBT-2

    Anyway i will go to deepen because I find it interesting, maybe first making a "scale model" (in the current rig, 2DOF, i use 1:63 gearmotors with electric motor 12V. 230W.)

    Thank you
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2021