1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6 DOF compact Sim with rotary actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Motion4Sim, Jun 14, 2020.

  1. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello everyone. I would finally like to introduce myself here today with my project. This is long overdue but unfortunately I haven't had enough time.

    I started designing a year ago using fusion360. Over the course of time, I constantly improved the design and am now satisfied. It is an amazing feeling to have built such a machine.

    The goal was to build a simulator for flying in xplane. But car racing also runs like hell.


    Features:
    - 6 dof hexapod with rotating actuators
    - 750 watt ac servos from china
    - 1:50 gearboxes 8 arcmin backlash
    - CNC milled receptacles and ball joint rods
    - Frame made of welded steel profiles
    - Self-marriage does not have to be anchored to the floor
    - 180 mm lever arm length
    - Base diagonal 800mm
    - Surge, Sway, heave + - 175 mm
    - Yaw + - 40 °
    - Roll pitch + -27 °
    - Base weight 130 kg
    - No external control cabinet, servo amplifiers are installed in the base
    - Controller thanos amc usb aasd15a for the beginning
    - Cockpit is the 3rd variant

    Later I developed my own servo controller based on the experience I have gained so far. The aim was to improve the resolution for flying and to refine the motion cues to make the experience as real as possible.

    Due to its actuator length, a simulator like this does not need a washout for roll and pitch angles and can therefore simulate sloping positions much better. One disadvantage is the non-linear movement due to the rotating actuators, but this is compensated for by the fast servos.

    I will add more photos and links to the post soon. There will be a separate contribution for my new servo controller.

    I am happy to answer questions. Many thanks to the motion sim community.
    Montage v27.png IMG_20200613_190127.jpg IMG_20200215_171927.jpg Neue Bitmap (2).jpg Neue Bitmap.jpg

    Montage v27.png IMG_20200613_190127.jpg IMG_20200215_171927.jpg Neue Bitmap (2).jpg Neue Bitmap.jpg











    • Winner Winner x 6
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Now we have motion for, msfs2020

    Thank you @flypt for mover Source





    I think motion data output in xplane is still better.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  5. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi
    I have designed new rods with bigger joint eyes, there is no need for it but with the cnc milled adapters i get more moving space. 10° more angel .

    There is a video with mover running and the phyphox Source. Aasd15a servos running at pn 98 with 02 so there is a Resolution of smaler than 0.01 mm at the end of the crank.

    Have fun

    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  6. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here is a picture with all parts i used to build this sim

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. sallerding

    sallerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Thx for contributing your project. As a fellow flight simmer, I’m always interested to hear views from people as to how authentic a feeling it is between rotary and linear actuators in flight simulation. So any feedback you can provide on that would be great , including the things that didn’t meet your expectations.
    At some point if you are willing to share your Details and design of the sim, it helps people like me see what’s possible and achievable . Thx again for a very good looking rotary sim.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    greetings, it's a shame that I can only answer now. at the beginning i asked myself what kind of actuator i should build for my simulator. The idea was decided by my bach who said rotating actuators would be easier to build. i can't make a comparison because i haven't had the opportunity to test a simulator with linear actuators. i think linear actuators would be better for short actuators. I hope I could help. i don't think that it would feel better to have linear actuators in my sim. my sim definitely feels insanely real. i had some fligths as learning pilot in the meantime.
  9. sallerding

    sallerding New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Thx. The videos look awesome. Especially the landing effects. I would definitely like to explore more detail of your build and code when you have time. I think I have come to the conclusion that a rotary platform is best for my needs. I was sold when I saw how you could house the amplifiers and motors within the size base that you did. The platform also offers a sim that appears more realistic for flight than a seat, but I’m not sure. You also seem to have good resolution on your movements. So thx again for sharing
  10. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,021Coins
    Ratings:
    +285 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    Hello Turbominer ! I have been steadily working on my 6dof project here in the states. I have replaced the motor cable (now 300mm) and redid the encoder cable to make it about 300mm long also. I bent my rods and I am making good progress.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
  11. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Regards that looks very good you are on the home straight. Because of the code ask in us you can take the thanos controller which is very good for racing motion. i have developed my own which i would like to present in a new post here. I started development in January 2020 and can now present the 1st stable firmware and the associated pcb.

    watch this

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/new-6dof-aasd15-servo-motion-controller.15356/
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2020
  12. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,021Coins
    Ratings:
    +285 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    @Motion4Sim Hi Turbo.....
    Yes I am definitely in the home stretch of the project.
    I have been highly motivated by Flight Sim 2020 .
    I had to disassemble my 3dof rig to reuse the motors and stuff.
    I am watching your commercial controller thread here also..
    Thank you for your help:):):)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2020
  13. coyote

    coyote New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    France - Yonne
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello,
    I am following your project with attention, because I am also thinking about making myself a 6DOF like you. Could you tell me where you found the motors and especially the gearboces.
    What do you think of the controller supplied with it?

    thanks
  14. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,021Coins
    Ratings:
    +285 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    @coyote
    The motors should come with the AASD15 driver.
    There are a series of servo drivers with different power ratings.
    example: AASD15 is a 15amp controller AASD30 is 30amp.
    A motor rated for 1KW and under would use the AASD15.
    This is the motor / drive I am using.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/1000W-AC-S...CNC-Milling-/392911210990?hash=item5b7b5549ee

    I am using a 20:1 speed reducer although the 50:1 seems to be more popular.
    The specification you might look for is the backlash tolerance.
    The ones I use are rated at under 10 ARCMIN.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Nema32-Ser...t-19mm-/254686349503?var=&hash=item3b4c7d48bf

    You should expect to pay about $300 USD for the motor/controller each.
    And about $250 for a good planetary gearbox.

    Good Luck ! :):):)
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020 at 19:47
  15. coyote

    coyote New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    France - Yonne
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply
    Can you explain me why did you choose the 1kW motor ? isn't it too much power ?
    2500 rpm with torque 4Nm and 20:1 reducer give 125 rpm with 400 Nm
    Thanks, because i'm looking to chose my motors ;-)
  16. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,021Coins
    Ratings:
    +285 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    I chose that model because of a thread on this forum from 2018. Grigory is the poster and he was one of the first people to use this type of motor. He also published the software that did work.. Not knowing anything about the AASD / 90st motorsystem I just copied his project.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ct-and-no-linear-actuators-220v-servos.11839/

    I believe 4 Nm through a 20:1 planetary gives 80Nm.
    I think that 6 motors will lift 354Kg with a 125mm lever.
    If I remember correctly Grigory calculated the speed at 1500mm/second
    I am not sure how meaningful the 1Kw rating is.
    I don't think it actually draws anywhere near a Kw in practical use.
    The Thanos controller does moderate the "speed" of the movements other wise these motors could cause some serious injuries.
    Hope this helps..
  17. coyote

    coyote New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    France - Yonne
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sure you're right :thumbs4 Nm through a 20:1 planetary gives 80Nm , it's because i was looking at 100:1 planetary :grin .
    The hardest part now is finding the right supplier....

    thanks for your help.
  18. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,021Coins
    Ratings:
    +285 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    @coyote
    These are the people I bought all my motors/driver/ and gearboxes from.
    They were honest and I was able to get free shipping on stuff.
    You can negotiate the price somewhat if you desire.
    Sylvia seems to be a real person.. lol
    Latest E-mail I got from them...
    Dear friend,
    If you need this servo kit, or other servo kits, please get back to me, I will offer you good price :)
    My Email: service@fasttobuy.com
    Mobile &WhatsApp: +86 157-682-52057
    Thank you!


    Sylvia
    Fast To Buy Limited
    Tel:
    +86-755-82546545
    Mobile & WhatsApp: +86-15817450438
    Email: service@fasttobuy.com
    Skype: Ebayfasttobuy
    Main Service: CNC Industry Solution; CNC Parts: HMI, PLC, Servo system, Stepper system, Spindle&VFD, Ball Screw&Guideway and so on
    Check more on www.fasttobuy.com
  19. coyote

    coyote New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    France - Yonne
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    thank you, i just wrote to him.
  20. Motion4Sim

    Motion4Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    123Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey yeah these motors are very powerfull.
    i got them from alie express.

    https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4000793515498.html?spm=a2g0o.cart.0.0.4a613c00nQ0bpQ&mp=1

    please remember the specified torque is the nominal power 750w 2.37 nm and 1000w 4nm. the peak power at 750w is around 6nm - 7nm !!! my platform with 750 watt motors and 1:50 is 600mm / s fast and lifts 1200kg believe me that's enough for everything. but faster is always better. lol

    edit :
    but please note that the gears do not keep the power in continuous operation. only approx. 60-80 kg per axle