1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 2Dof Sim Rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Cartman_SP69, May 21, 2019.

  1. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Good day Everyone.

    I'm currently looking at building a 2DOF motion rig for car sims.

    I need assistance with Motors and Motor Drivers. I can get 2x 24v truck wiper motors for free, but i do not know what motor drivers I need to run them.

    I can also get 2x 12v wiper motors from cars but i do not know if they will be strong enough.

    Your recommendations and suggestions will be appreciated.

    Also when it comes to software I'm looking at sim tools Would I require the DIY licence or the Professional licence as i also want use small rumble motors on my pedals and would prefer to use one piece of software for everything.

    Thanks in advance for the assistance.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What motor specs are required depends a lot on the intended design, so have a play with SimCalc to get your head around the trade offs between design and physics: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/

    When it comes to 24V the Sabertooth is hard to beat: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/sabertooth-motor-driver-max-36v.271/

    And SMC3 code modified by @BlazinH is easy to configure for the Arduino and Sabertooth combo: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-for-arduino.9277/

    A SimTools Pro license would be needed to drive rumble motors, using Game Dash, but there other possible options: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/transducers-rumble-motors.25/category
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Please see the attachment this is the type of design i'll be using.

    I had a look at the Sabertooth Drivers unfortunately i cannot find them locally and it is way too expensive to import.

    I was thinking of using the Monster Moto Shield with the 24v Motors.

    Attached Files:

  4. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  5. ghidossi

    ghidossi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  8. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    One more Question What Size power supply would you recommend 24v i'm sure but amperage, also single supply for both wiper motors and boards or a supply per motor and board. Using the IBT2 BTS7960 43A bridge H, I want to order the drivers and the PSU's together.

    I also what to take the time to say thanks in advance for everyone's input, it is so nice to find a place with people willing to help.
  9. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    You can use a 24 V power supply or you can also use two 12 V sources and connect them in series to get 24 v output
    • Like Like x 1
  10. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    The power of the power supply for two windshield wiper motors with 350 w should be sufficient
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks a mil for the assistance busy ordering all the required parts, then the fun part starts. I might have another question or 2 down the road.
  12. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hey Guys

    I have one more question on the IBT2 BTS7960 driver boards do i connect the ground pin pin 8 to the Arduino's ground? I have read somewhere that if you work with 24v it is better not to connect it as it could blow the Arduino is that true?
  13. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks I did follow those instructions I was just wondering as I do not what to blow the Arduinos and possibly blow my USB ports, I'm nearly done with the build I will post pictures on my other thread. things left to do build motor mounts find a way to connect the pots spray the rig and test the electronics.
  15. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Guys I'm having some issues with noise on my potentimeters, will it help if i put a 0.1uf ceramic capacitor between ground and +5v.

    I also used shielded UTP cable to try and reduce the noise and helped a lot.
  16. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    You must put a 100 nf capacitor and the connection must be made between gnd and the potentiometer signal
    • Useful Useful x 1
  17. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks a Mil will do it tonight. I'm currently in the testing phase I will post Pictures soon just what to sort out some design Flaws. :)
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
  18. Cartman_SP69

    Cartman_SP69 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    202Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi titomaky I just wanted to take the time to say thanks for all the assistance, My rig is now complete and all electronics working busy with some stress testing. :)