1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2dof motion seat smc 3 issue

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by JOEL KIMANI, Apr 21, 2021.

Tags:
  1. JOEL KIMANI

    JOEL KIMANI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino
    So im building my 2dof i wired everything to spec and got software installed smc3 cant move my motors for some reason the pots work fine, smc3 recognises the pot input but when i increase the pwm nothing happens please help here are the components im using and a short vid on the issue with smc3
    thanks in advance

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2021
  4. Ian Pace

    Ian Pace Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Gharghur - Malta
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    Make sure the POT is centered as from what i can see, it is below the cut off limits and to prevent any damage SMC will disable the motor.
    Power off the arduino, re center the pots and make sure the green line is in the middle. Always make sure you reset the arduino if the motor cuts off.

    upload_2021-4-22_13-24-14.png
    • Like Like x 1
  5. early_m

    early_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Balance:
    482Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    As above, green pot line is outside your limits so your driver is being shut down.
  6. JOEL KIMANI

    JOEL KIMANI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino
    Hello again i connected the pots i found the ground on the motor its attached to a bolt that was on the chasis of the car where should i connect the ground to thanks in advance also how do i know my ibt2 s are burnt they got really hot but no sign of life but still look like new no signs of burning also is 12 v 40 a too much

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2021